We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Patchy performance, but great seafront location”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Patchy performance, but great seafront location”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for a Friday night. £107 inc breakfast. Bottom floor room - not much natural light, but plenty of light coming under the door which needed a towel to make the room dark. Room, bed, bathroom (shower only) OK (especially if you like white.) Breakfast quite good except for a sausage so cheap and horrible that I didn't know you could even buy stuff like that anymore. This is what gave English cooking its bad name. But then you walk out into the sunshine and across the road onto the beach. Parking is in huge underground carpark in Regency Square, 300m east and almost impossible to miss.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank New_Malden_flier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    530
    389
    207
    184
See reviews for
229
701
100
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in a first floor front room. About £90 per night.
Room and bathroom fine, big enough and clean. Tea making facilities albeit with only 2 biscuits.
We had expected traffic noise as there is a road (as in most seaside towns) between the hotel and the sea.
We had not expected a thumpy noise still audible at midnight. I went to reception and asked what it was and was told that it was a nightclub nearby. I then went out looking for this nightclub which did not exist. It turned out that the noise was the background music to the dining room (long since empty) which was barely audible at ground floor level but could be heared in the front first floor rooms above. Once this was turned off things were fine, albeit ear plugs needed as the windows were not up to much noise reduction with approx 1 car per minute at 1am and fairly continuous from 6.30am.
Helpful staff would have turned off the music when the dining room closed and would have known its source.
Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranmere10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

parking is terrible can't even drive in while you book in.We drove around for ages trying to find a park to go back and register.Then told we were to early to book in ;but we did get 1 of their few car parks so we took one for I think about 15 pound, And left the car there and went around on bus.coming back when we could book in.
Some- one had reported that there was mould on ceiling in bathroom which there was
Very expencive for what you got























































































Room was very basic. Someone reported mold on ceiling in bathroom

Room Tip: our room didnt have a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My wife and I spent a night at The Kings Hotel on 15th September 2011. We had booked a superior double room. Our room was on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel and as such had a fantastic sea view. The room was spacious and very clean. Clearly the hotel is old so do not expect perfectly aligned walls etc but surely this adds to the character of such a place. The staff were helpful and our stay, albeit only one night, was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 301 was our room - clean comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed at the beginning of October, lobby and bar looked good, but it's just a facade. The rooms are tiny, and I do mean tiny, we could only exit the bed to one side, the carpets were stained and the lift only worked to halfway. If I had paid £50 a night for this room, I'd have shrugged my shoulders and said, pretty good value, but at £146 a night, you have to ask yourself, was it value for money? Answer, certainly not.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I recently spent one night in the Kings Hotel Brighton, and really don't know how they had the front to charge 2 people £85.00 each for a sub standard twin room. The carpet in the room was absolutely filthy, the beds were like pallets, and the curtains in the room must have been hanging since Queen Victoria last visited Brighton. Breakfast was supposed to be a full English, the chef had chosen the cheapest brands of produce, and the tea was like dishwater. I would suggest a deep clean of this hotel with special attention being made to the carpets. What anyone from abroad with think of these standards I can not begin to imagine.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

You will not find much better in terms of a 3 star hotel in brighton for the price we paid ... So giving the place an average score is based on that. I've stayed in 4 star hotels in Brighton and the rooms are no bigger and you don't always get a sea view either...saying that the bed was small ... The carpets were marked and the bathroom was very basic ...we were on the top floor and the lift didn't go to our floor it just had a button over the 5th saying (no push) and we had to take the stairs!! The reception staff had very basic skills and seemed to think all 4 of us standing in reception had just the one room for the night :/ ..we had to pay for the car park and that was on a first come first served basis ... But that's Brighton for you! The bar was nice and they were very quick to serve us a drink ... When we came down for breakfast at 8.45 we had to wait in the bar for a while to be seated which is new to me... But we didn't wait long and breakfast was of a 3 star standard. Location was a 10-15 min walk into town and on the sea front :) dont book this place for a special occasion ... It is what it is ...average at best :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkfaef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,563 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,327 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing