We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed with a group on friends on a saturday night and this hotel was the best price. It was a great location and just far enough away from any loud clubs/bars so its a little quieter than some of the hotels nearer the town.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and nicely decorated. We didnt have breakfast as it was a bit expensive and there are plenty of local cafes and a wetherspoons near that offer breakfast for around £4!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nap1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Thank god we only paid £50 for two people sharing per night. Was supposed to stay 3 nights but checked out after 2 nights. We were on the third floor, bed was only accessed from one side and the noise level from upstairs was un bearable. In my opinion this hotel needs to re thinks it's ratings to a two star only.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitbread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We came down this past Friday during England's heatwave and we were lucky to get a room. We walked all along the seafront looking for a place to stay and towards the end of the beach we came across The Kings Hotel. The room was a bit expensive but what can you expect when it's last minute? The room we were allocated was 218 which was a bit small but it was nicely decorated, clean, and pleasant. The staff in the Reception were lovely. We had to wait a little bit to get a table for breakfast but we were greeted with a smile and we were told we only had to wait about 10 minutes. We really enjoyed our stay here and we would love to return again. I know the room was a bit expensive for a three star hotel but it's Brighton......and you will always pay to be near the sun and sea. Well worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for a Friday night. £107 inc breakfast. Bottom floor room - not much natural light, but plenty of light coming under the door which needed a towel to make the room dark. Room, bed, bathroom (shower only) OK (especially if you like white.) Breakfast quite good except for a sausage so cheap and horrible that I didn't know you could even buy stuff like that anymore. This is what gave English cooking its bad name. But then you walk out into the sunshine and across the road onto the beach. Parking is in huge underground carpark in Regency Square, 300m east and almost impossible to miss.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New_Malden_flier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in a first floor front room. About £90 per night.
Room and bathroom fine, big enough and clean. Tea making facilities albeit with only 2 biscuits.
We had expected traffic noise as there is a road (as in most seaside towns) between the hotel and the sea.
We had not expected a thumpy noise still audible at midnight. I went to reception and asked what it was and was told that it was a nightclub nearby. I then went out looking for this nightclub which did not exist. It turned out that the noise was the background music to the dining room (long since empty) which was barely audible at ground floor level but could be heared in the front first floor rooms above. Once this was turned off things were fine, albeit ear plugs needed as the windows were not up to much noise reduction with approx 1 car per minute at 1am and fairly continuous from 6.30am.
Helpful staff would have turned off the music when the dining room closed and would have known its source.
Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tranmere10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

parking is terrible can't even drive in while you book in.We drove around for ages trying to find a park to go back and register.Then told we were to early to book in ;but we did get 1 of their few car parks so we took one for I think about 15 pound, And left the car there and went around on bus.coming back when we could book in.
Some- one had reported that there was mould on ceiling in bathroom which there was
Very expencive for what you got























































































Room was very basic. Someone reported mold on ceiling in bathroom

Room Tip: our room didnt have a veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My wife and I spent a night at The Kings Hotel on 15th September 2011. We had booked a superior double room. Our room was on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel and as such had a fantastic sea view. The room was spacious and very clean. Clearly the hotel is old so do not expect perfectly aligned walls etc but surely this adds to the character of such a place. The staff were helpful and our stay, albeit only one night, was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 301 was our room - clean comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £48 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing