We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Was good location and bed comfy staff friendly . Good value for what I paid for £43.00 double room . The bed took up the whole room and I could hear everything the neighbours were saying. Apart from the noise it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelacer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your comments and I was pleased to read that you found the bed comfy and the staff friendly. I apologize that you had noise from the room adjacent to yours.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    503
    365
    199
    178
See reviews for
204
666
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed here last night - I don't think I actually arrived until about 3am, but the receptionist was still really friendly and quickly got me checked in and into my room

The room, although basic, was clean and had everything I needed for such a short stay - the bathroom was a little strange, it was huge but had nothing in it other than a tiny sink, shower and toilet as you'd expect - it just seemed a little odd that the room itself was pretty tiny in comparison... not that I care that much

Although clearly loved and cared for by it's owners, It's a very creaky old building - every time I used the sink there would be a really loud noise coming from a shaky old pipe behind the wall for about five minutes, you can hear every footstep upstairs - which, being one of the cheaper hotels on the seafront, might be an issue on the weekend if you're looking to sleep undisturbed..

Despite this, I am looking forward to staying here again; it's in a fantastic location, has a really friendly atmosphere and is actually pretty affordable!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your comments and It great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean with friendly staff. The bathroom proportion is the way the hotel was converted sometime ago however we do try and keep the property up to date and continually listen to feedback and use this for future developments. I hope we will see you again soon.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I arrived early evening after booking through a Hotel booking company with a prepaid voucher for Bed and Breakfast. The receptionist was very pleasant but then asked for a credit card swipe for what I thought to be extras. As I had been travelling extensively I was unsure of the credit on my one card I had with me so advised reception as I was on a pre-paid Bed and Breakfast stay and not interested in using the limited extras, such as the bar, I would prefer not to pass over the card. She was then insistence that a swipe would be needed as this was not for extras but a security deposit (what damage I could do I don't know after seeing the room?). I explained why I preferred not to and she said I could leave a cash deposit. This I wasn't happy with as my only experience with this is often when there is no problem, one is found and sometimes can seriously delay a departure. However, without this, after bringing in the front of house manager in on the conversation and told without it I couldn't stay, I left the deposit. Well I booked a single room and got a single. The window, which you had to contort around several bits of furniture to see out of was not worth the effort as the view overlooked a decaying roof top. The shower unit was like going to one of the budget hotels, where to get to the shower, you had to swing the door shut against the adjacent WC just to access, although when used the water was hot. The noise from people banging doors and creaking floors early morning onwards was unbearable and no sleep was possible after 5am, when I assume the first guests were leaving. After this experience I didn't bother with breakfast. As expected on check out at 1100, I had to wait 15 minutes for the housekeeper to check I hadn't damaged the room (again how, the condition itself when entering wasn't great) before refunding my money (which I had to ask for as the receptionist had me checking out without acknowledging there was a deposit held), which resulted in me very close to missing my planned train. I visit Brighton often for business and visiting friends and unless there is a serious upgrade of this hotel I probably wouldn't stay again, although I must admit the price was good. Then again on a Sunday night in winter, out of conference season, I would expect it to be

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view as that way you may get a window, not an after thought
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, took the advice from a reviewer on here and enquired about the sea view room upgrade for an extra £10 and was well worth it. Also another tip, book direct through their website and get free access to the leisure facilities at their sister hotel queens hotel.

The room was exceptionally warm but with some quick adjustment, a cozy room. Creaky floor boards were a bit annoying for that subtle midnight toilet trip in the middle of the night but that comes with the age of the hotel.

The staff were very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Book basic room and enquire about the sea view room upgrade for an extra £10 and was well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for your recent review and the team appreciate your comments. I look forward to being able to welcome you back when you next require to stay in Brighton.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for one night only on a Sunday night, so it was pretty cheap: £49 for two including breakfast which is excellent value for money for a seafront hotel in Brighton. Our room was small, but comfortable and spotlessly clean, warm without being too hot, and very quiet. The car park costs extra, but is very close by. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueStocking62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Me and my partner came down on wed nite to see the script in concert. Wed 20th. Reception staff were excellant hotel was clean and inviting and lovely and warm. The room we stayed in was warm and very clean and the bed was very comfortable.the shower was great in the morning as was the breakfast.location was excellant and close to everything.would stay again for sure and recommend.only one niggly bit there was no welcome book in the room so did not know how to get through to reception and had to go down to book alarm call but apart from that everything great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quadromod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. I apologise there was no welcome directory of services in the bedroom and I will speak to the housekeeper regarding this issue. All room should have a directory of services.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed here only one night, a Sunday so it was very cheap, although as brighton prices go, for this location the normal rates are good too. If you're getting a bit too old for hostelling, and like the comfort of your own room with a modern clean ensuite then this is a good spot.
Sitting nicely on the sea front on the Hove side it pretty easy to walk either into Hove, or back into Brighton and on to Kemptown/the Marina. Also an easy walk from the train and bus stations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albYTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad you decided to treat yourself and stay with us instead of hostelling. You took advantage of one of our offers on a Sunday night and as you say for the location it was good value for money.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing