We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tired and dissappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“tired and dissappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

having paid £260 for a Superior room with Sea View i found the room overpriced and sadly lacking .On a positive side it overlloked the sea and was clean.
BUT the windows are not double glazed and the noise outside (you are on the main road into Brighton along the sea front) will disturb you throughout the night.The shower didnt work,being stuck at scalding hot,the fan in the batroom was impossibly loud and the general facilities just about three star.In need of a refurbishment,the common parts are tired and threadbare in places.Outside the hotel needs a good clean and a repaint.Service at the bar was surly and i felt uncomfortable there.However service at breakfast was very good and excellent value.Approximately a 15 minute walk from the Lanes but close to the cinema and theatre.A short cab ride from the station.If staying here and you get a good price then probably ok for a night but wouldnt recommend a longer stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    510
    371
    200
    179
See reviews for
211
674
97
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed on Sat 6th April 2013 in room 509 . We where looking for a room for a night after the Katherine Jenkins concert and booked this hotel by mistake. That said for its location on kings road was great,the hotel is a little tired but so are most in Brighton. The room we had was a little small furniture was worn but practical,bathroom very nice size.but we had a sea view and it was sunny when we arrived.
We found the towels to be a bit of a issue not the amount but the fluff that came off them LOL
Issues :
Wife had a black cocktail dress on and the fluff from the towels stuck to it and I had navy blue blazer and grey trousers and again the fluff stuck to them the towels just seemed to deposit fluff everywhere.

Noise we where at the top of the hotel on the 5 th floor and must admit did not expect to hear much noise but unfortunately there was a lot thought the night and doors banging.

But that said for Brighton a fair price
We did not have breakfast as we had eaten late but believe breakfast was £5.00

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Finerthings4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased you found the location close the the Brighton Centre for your concert. Breakfast is £5.00 when booked at the time of making your reservation. I apologise for the fluff from the towels which is a mystery but I will take this up with the laundry. Our laundry is contacted out and it maybe they have introduced some new items but I will check to ensure that future guests do not have the same issue.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

A one night stay for a birthday weekend the hotel is perfectly situated on the beach front within close walking distance to the shops and lanes where we visited a lovely tapas resturant recommended by anouther guest . the rooms are small but clean and good ammenities and the breakfast was lovely self serve cereal and toast fair size breakfast recommend the pancakes will be back again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I was please to read you enjoyed our facilities and found the location good. Look forward to you returning for pancakes in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here whilst at a conference at nearby Holiday Inn. It was clean comfortable and affordable and just a few steps along the seafront. Great base for both conference and Brighton Festival events.

Room Tip: probably best to avoid front rooms if you want a peaceful night at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkuazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The location makes the hotel close to the sea and convenient for all amenities in the city.

Iain Lindsay
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I was looking for a decent priced hotel for one night in Brighton. I paid £56.70 for a twin room for one night, no breakfast. Breakfast was an extra £5 each but was only available until 9.30am - i opted for a lie in and got a really decent breakfast out with the hotel for the same price. The room was clean but very basic and quite poor in terms of decor - paper and paint peeling. The carpeting in stairs was worn and the general feel was of a hotel really quite run down. I had to allow my credit card to be swiped for security in case of damage to the room. On seeing the room I was a bit concerned about how they might measure damage! I wasn't happy with this arrangement but the alternative was to leave a £50 cash deposit. It felt a bit much given the general poor quality of the premises. The bathroom was a big room which was in decent condition. The shower temperature was too hot and couldn't be adjusted - so be careful. The fire alarm works as on night of stay it went off and we had to be evacuated - there was an arrangement to go to hotel next door, no problems in dealing with this, both night porters were calm and accommodating. Overall - have stayed in better for same amount of money. Location good, right on sea front.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldhoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your response and I apologies that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is a 3 star AA metro hotel which is a limited service property. Your feedback is important to us however this is the only feedback we have had from you and does not give any details of the room your stayed in. If you could forward more information I will be able to look at your comments more constructively.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Iain@lowygroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked direct through the Kings Hotel website to enable us to use the facilities at their sister hotel, Queens Hotel. Unfortunately when we got to the Queens Hotel we were told that the leisure facilities were not available and that they had sent an e-mail to the Kings Hotel to let them know this... Once back at the Kings Hotel, the man on reception did not know about the e-mail. That aside, the first room we stayed in was clean and comfortable if not a little small, but the next night we upgraded to a sea view room for £10, which was really fantastic. We had a great view of the sea and the West Pier. Breakfast was really nice with some great choices, although would have been even better if it was served until 10 on weekdays. Creaky floorboards gave the room character and were fine when we got used to them. All in all a good stay and I would go back. Parking was £15 per day, which thought was a little pricey as Regency Square is very close and only £12.50.

Room Tip: Book a standard room and ask about the £10 upgrade when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Button121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your review and I apologize the leisure facilities at our sister hotel were not available. The hotel has recently upgraded their equipment and it was the installation of the new equipment that cause the facilities not being available. I was please to read you enjoyed the rest of your stay at the hotel and found it clean. I agree the sea views are great.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Was good location and bed comfy staff friendly . Good value for what I paid for £43.00 double room . The bed took up the whole room and I could hear everything the neighbours were saying. Apart from the noise it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelacer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your comments and I was pleased to read that you found the bed comfy and the staff friendly. I apologize that you had noise from the room adjacent to yours.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing