We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diane Lawson” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Diane Lawson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a twin room lovely crisp clean beds, ample fluffy towels. Staff very helpful and polite, I was quite worried after reading some reviews which I don't think reflect the kings, will definitely come back again god prime position and easy walking distance to the Brighton Centre.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawsondiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
It was great to read your review and I was please that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the prime location. Reviews are a personal thing and we do try to read constructively and take action where possible.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    503
    365
    199
    178
See reviews for
204
666
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The staff were lovely, very helpful and welcoming, breakfast was nice but basic (which I was very happy with) although I did have to wait a while to order but I didnt mind as the restaurant was quite busy at the time, i was slightly disappointed with my room, definitely not like the pictures, saying that I did book a single room and was only staying one night so didnt expect a 4 poster bed and bath. The room was very basic and on first view didnt look like there was a window (room 315) window was behind a wall, the room was far too hot (even for December) I wasnt able to open the window due to furniture in the way, maybe this is something that should be looked at as nearly every review I read said the same, I also heard people in the hotel saying their rooms were too hot. The parking was a bit of a pain but not the hotels fault although good luck to anyone trying to park in space number 6! I would probably stay here again (bringing my own fan for the room) and asking for a bigger room with window lol overall good value for money for what I wanted at the time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
I was pleased to read your review and note you found the staff lovely and welcoming. I will review the room layout of 315 taking into consideration your comments. Double rooms for single occupancy are available at a slightly higher price. Fans are available if you request via reception. It was great that you found it value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is in a good place if you want to be away from the night life and noise that goes with it, though it is close enough for a short walk on a sunny day to the madness that is Brighton.
The rooms are a bit tired looking BUT are very functional and for the price, good value. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is fair for the price.
The only issue here is PARKING. If you arrive at 8pm then you may be lucky enough to park outside the hotel for free, but this changes at 9am and I have no doubt some over zealous traffic parasite will be waiting for you. You can use the local car parks but they charge about £15 per day so take this into account.
My overall experience and rating of this hotel would be Fairly Good and I wouldn't have any problems returning here for a long or short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quin2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks for giving us your review after your recent stay. I was pleased you felt you had value for money and I can assure you we continue to refurbish the hotel throughout the year. Parking is an issue in Brighton and one of those costs which can not be avoided. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the great location we have to offer close to all amenities but just outside the hustle and bustle of the centre.
I look forward to you returning in the future should you require accommodation in Brighton.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Not the best hotel we have stayed in at Brighton, don't know if we would stay there again, parking is not good and breakfast there is not much selection, room was to hot and even though we asked for a sea view there was not much of a view

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesrl1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review and I apologise we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. All hotels on the seafront have limited parking which is chargeable. Unfortunately our breakfast offering at £5 book in advance at the time of booking did not meet your expectation, however I do feel in offers value for money.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Good hotel, staff efficient and friendly. WATCH OUT FOR PARKING CHARGES. Not the hotel's fault but Brighton Council charge on street parking from 9am to 8pm and is £10 for three hours £1 for one. You can reduce by a small percentage if you are prepared to walk a distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanst2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Brighton is expensive for parking and unfortunately being located on the sea front in a residential area we cannot provide parking for all guests.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Since my last visit the hotel has had a refurb - very nice. Hotel is clean, lovely fluffy towels and most of the service is of a high standard.

I did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food.

Only 2 negatives:
1- the hotel is really really hot - all radiators are on high. Don't get me wrong it's lovely to walk into on a chilly day but once in your room it becomes very stuffy.

2: I do not like to make a negative personal comment about staff but I have to highlight the manner of one of the receptionists ( Johanna - Team leader). On all my encounters with her she has been rude, abrupt and patronising. She does not listen clearly to what is being said to her and then appears curt when repeating herself - for someone in a customer facing role she clearly needs to address her people skills and treat paying guests with respect.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tilly_1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We continue to develop the standard of the hotel refurbishing areas when we can. You should have been able to regulate your radiator in your bedroom. It is unusual to get negative comments regarding the teams hospitality and your comments have been taken on board.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is not as advertised. First of all, the pictures do not reflect the rooms in this hotel; my single room was very, very small, and it had me wondering whether I was in the right hotel or not. The lift wasn't working properly (you have to press repeatedly for the lift to come), the floor was squeaky, the check out time is NOT 12 but actually 11, the bathroom is quite tiny and the shower head was broken (it fell flat on my face while showering, feeling cramped as if I was showering in a box!). I didn't sleep much, because of the noise from the housekeeping cleaning (they're not very quiet early in the morning). Staff was kind, but that's the only positive thing I have to say about my experience. That, and the perfect location of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben_D_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
I was disappointed to read your review and apologize we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is converted from a series of town houses and the size of rooms and bathroom vary due to the original conversion. The hotel is also listed so we cannot change many aspects without changing the character. I was pleased to read you found the staff pleasant.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager

Always book direct with the hotel on 01273 820854 - we guarantee that you will not find the same room type at a lower price anywhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing