We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off would never go again.”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip off would never go again.”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The outside of the hotel is lovely and the reception areas, but the staff on reception are not friendly at all, didn't make me feel comfortable although the staff on breakfast are so lovely and polite but the breakfast was very standard. When we first arrived we where given our room card and when we opened the door there was people in the room! So we had to go and get another card for another room so straight away I did not feel safe. We had a double standard room that was awful and very old fashioned and small so we went and asked for an upgrade which was an extra £10 a night which I thought was great but then the sea view room was lovely for the views but more or less the same as before just bigger and the flooring of the more modern bathroom was like a public toilets floor and the carpets where sticky and unclean. Me and my partner were very disappointed with how much we paid for two nights in a very poor standard hotel and very poor service from the receptionists. Perfect location so it was a big shame. I will never be staying again and having read a lot of the reviews it looks like the manager isn't bothered about changing anything. Everything just needs redecorating and a good clean as the building it's self is lovely!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyLouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
I was disappointed to read your review and that your felt the hotel was not value for money. We do keep our rates below our competitors and I will be discussing your comments with the staff. Unfortunately there has been no adverse comments on our logg on your departure so to undstand who was on reception and what room you were in is difficult. Investment is made in the property each year and we have now almost completed the bedroom and bathroom refurbishment. Changes are made when funds are avaiable to upgrade areas of the hotel.
Once again I aplogise we did not meet you expectations and I am disappointed you will not be returning to the hotel.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    523
    381
    206
    184
See reviews for
222
695
98
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Came to Brighton at the worst possible time (the major storm of 2013), and arrived past midnight. The journey from the station to Kings hotel would have been reasonable if it wasn't for the heavy winds and rain! However, we arrived in about 30 mins, very grateful that the reception is open 24/7 and we were checked in really quickly.

The design of the building makes it difficult if you have special needs - even though there is an elevator, there are split levels on each floor. We struggled a bit to get to the room with our luggage. The room was small, but comfortable, with TV, hair dryer, wifi, biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities available for free. The bathroom was my favourite part! Lovely white subway tiles, fluffy towels and nice toiletry.

Location near the west pier would have been really nice if there wasn't a storm in town.. Very close to some nice Asian restaurants and Sainsbury's/Waitrose and walking distance to the city center and Brighton Pier (10 - 15 mins). The downside was that no buses stop on the street along the hotel, so you have to walk up a hill to the bus stop in town (again, would have been much more manageable if it wasn't for the insane winds at the time).

We did not have breakfast there given that including breakfast added a fair bit to the room price, and there are nice breakfast spots in Brighton (eg, Bills, near the station).

One downside to the stay was that the fire alarm (falsely) rang at about 11.30pm one night, right as we were getting into bed. Good to know that the alarm works, but it was a pain going down all those stairs (we were on the third floor) in a hurry only to find out there was no fire!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliealmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your review. the hotel is converted from a series of town houses and this is the reason for the split floor etc. The weather has not been great and some of the storms have been very bad. It was great to hear that you had a great welcome and you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast is only £5.00 if booked in advance. Sorry the fire alarm went off laste evening however it is there for everyones safety.
I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Booked a family room (102) for three of us on a girly weekend away. Got an absolute bargain price, but would happily return and pay full price. The room was enormous, and so well laid out - one large day area with leather sofa and two armchairs, coffee table and large TV - double bed behind sofa area and then a separate area witht two single beds (ideal if you're a family with two children as almost like a seperate bedroom) and it's own TV - brilliant. The en suite was lovely too - nice toiletries provided. Good tea/coffee/biscuits too.
Bar area was nice, had drinks before heading into town. Didn't have breakfast but restaurant was busy in the morning and looked nice.
Hotel is slightly dated in the rooms but very clean with crisp white bed linen - fantastic position on the seafront - managed to get a parking space as well.
Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your review and it is great to read you enjoyed your girlie time away. I look forward to you returning to the hotel in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itanagar, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed for three nights at The Kings Hotel, Brighton. An absolutely wow impact of the hotel is its location -- bang on the sea front. The rooms, though slightly smaller, are spotlessly clean and the service is amazing. The breakfast served in the restaurant is filling enough. The staff is very helpful and courteous. During my period of stay, I never had a slightest issue to complain.

Will not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Opt for the sea view rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajubarthakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks for your review and it was great to read that you had no complains and enjoyed your stay. The location is great with fantastic views from the seaview rooms.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with partner, arrived at 1.30pm on a wet n windy day. Was allowed to check in early, thank god. Had upgrade to superior seaview for an extra tenner! Room really lovely, modernised since last visit, nice bright n airy. Couldn't fault staff, everyone helpful n pleasant. Must recommend the pancakes for breakfast!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank countrylovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks for your comments and I was pleased to read that you noticed the improvements that have been made since your last visit. great to read you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to you returning again soon.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent our Christmas here, 2 nights 24th and 25th. Overall thought it was a very good hotel.

We arrived quite late when it was wet and windy, but got checked in with good service by the friendly night porter guy. Enjoyed a few drinks in the bar during our stay, our seaview room was fine, bathroom was modern and clean with a good powerful, steaming hot shower :0)

Breakfast was OK, good selection, plenty of coffee refills which is what you need after a night out in Brighton!

Yes the parking is not great, but seafront is (as everywhere else) at a premium, and some of the public areas upstairs could do with a 'freshen up' but overall for the price it's not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hot1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks for your comments and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. The corridors are our next area for refurbishment. I do hope you will stay again in the near future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a twin room lovely crisp clean beds, ample fluffy towels. Staff very helpful and polite, I was quite worried after reading some reviews which I don't think reflect the kings, will definitely come back again god prime position and easy walking distance to the Brighton Centre.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawsondiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
It was great to read your review and I was please that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the prime location. Reviews are a personal thing and we do try to read constructively and take action where possible.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,524 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing