We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decidedly below average” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decidedly below average”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The husband and I nip off for a night or two in Brighton whenever we can and have stayed in seven or eight Brighton hotels over the past five years, ranging from the pricey to the budget: this was by far the worst.

We gathered from the empty glasses and dirty ashtrays littering the tables outside the front entrance that the standard of care wasn't going to be great ... and we weren't wrong! The reception staff we're perhaps a little confused but very polite and we checked in OK. We went to wait for the lift to take us and our heavy suitcase to our third floor room .... and we waited ... and waited ... and waited. After about 15 minutes (no joke) the lift arrived, full of a maid with her cleaning cart: she looked vaguely surprised and pressed a button, the doors closed and away went the lift. We waited a bit longer and then gave up and lugged the suitcase up the stairs between us.

In brief, the delux (hah!) seaview room was not particularly clean and, although the panoramic view was breathtaking, the windows were filthy so it was a little hard to see; the bathroom was utilitarian, cold and uncomfortable. We did a quick change and made our way back down to what had looked to be quite a nice bar area.

We were the only people at the bar and the bar tender kept us waiting ages while he ran around like a headless chicken with some boxes, and then started cleaning down behind the bar: husband politely asked if the bar was open, to which we got a distracted yes, and after a couple of minutes more asked if we could perhaps order a drink: the bar tender seemed quite taken aback and said he was straightening up, to which charming husband said yes, he could understand he had things to get on with, but perhaps we might just get a drink first. Drinks were duly provided with ill temper and I tried to sign them to the room; barman said we had to arrange this with the front desk and leave a credit card imprint if we wanted to sign things to the room; I said yes, I understood, and that we had done this already; barman said no we hadn't; I (who am less charming than my husband) said oh yes we had; barman said we hadn't; I invited barman to speak to reception staff (a whole 15 feet away) and confirm; barman huffed and stomped over to reception staff where he was told that I had indeed left an imprint and could sign for things; barman sulked back behind bar and produced slip for signing with bad grace and not the merest hint of an apology; husband and I said thanks, took our drinks out to a dirty table at the front of hotel and burst out laughing at the Faulty Towers-esque performance we had just been subjected to.

Sleep was hard to come by: they can't help the noise from the street and the hen and stag parties they had staying perhaps, but the incessant and unbelievably loud slapping, flapping and banging that went on all night long had us wondering .... we stumbled out of our room bleary eyed in the morning to see what on Earth had been causing the noise and stared up in disbelief at a plastic tarpaulin covering a large sky light at the top of the stairs just above our heads. The high winds - it is Brighton seafront afterall - had it booming and banging with gusto. All. Night. Long. We shrugged and, forgoing the utterly pointless lift, bumbled down to breakfast.

The breakfast staff were charming but it didn't make up for the breakfast. Value brown or white bread for toasting, vats of value corn and bran flakes, and everything else was off the menu. You were allowed one item from the choice - so no fruit unless you're willing to go without your cooked breakfast to get it. Surely a modest fruit bowl is standard fair in even the crummiest hotels? The husband ordered the full English and was presented with tinned mushrooms: who the heck serves tinned mushrooms anymore - they're disgusting! I ordered the pancakes and berries: the trade description act could not have been more closely followed - berries it was; two of them - one strawberry sliced into three stuck between two pancakes and one lone blueberry sitting forlornly on top of my pancakes. Sad.

Needless to say we ran back up the stairs, ducked under the flapping tarpaulin, threw everything in our suitcase which, with a quick glance back at the bleary view through the grubby windows, we lugged all the way back down the stairs between us, out the front doors and away as fast as our little legs would carry us.

And just in case it's not perfectly clear, no; we won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    503
    365
    199
    178
See reviews for
204
666
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Found the staff very helpful polite. Room was good size, clean, tidy, side view of promenade, could do with air conditioning. Breakfast was good.

Have marked as 3 stars, because there was no air conditioning, and it was a very warm 2 days.

We knew about the car parking, so went by train.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room, 3rd/4th floor, excellent view of the promenade and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patjeff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel should be closed down, having arrived with my girlfriend only to find the wanted £15 more to park my car..
Having paid £185 for a dirty room which had not been cleaned there was labels from the last person that had stayed, the windows would not close.
They then asked me did I want to pay a extra £20 for a sea view.
You should not stay there.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davetherave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Derby, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Good location, about 10 mins seafront walk from the centre of Brighton. It seems that car parking needs to be arranged in advance because we originally parked in the hotels car park but were asked to move by a member of hotel staff to a car park in Regency Square which cost £20 a day.
The room was of a good standard, breakfast was fine and staff were helpful and friendly when checking in and out.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maccaderby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Arrived to discover no parking facilty available, yet was told on the telephone there is .....was taken up 4 sets of stairs because the lift was not working, to a small dark dismal room with filthy carpet and chipped damaged furniture. I asked to change the room and said to the man that I had requested a sea view room and had been told by a lady receptionist that it would be okay. he replied that there are no ladies working at the Hotel, and took me to another room, even up higher on the top floor, this room although had a window, was still dirty and disgusting, with views of a side of a building!,,,i threw my bags on the bed and went out for a walk. Upon my return there were birds flying around the room and pooing all over the walls!,,,,,,I felt sick, got a refund and left,,,it was like the Hitchcock thriller "Birds"............................sorry guys you really must step up if you want to attract more visitors,,,even cleaning the carpets would be a start.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I was disappointed to read your review. The hotel has limited parking which is on a first come first served basis. This is highlighted on our website and all other third party websites. Having reviewed your booking there was no request for a sea view and in advance all sea view room carry a suppliment. Unfortunately the lift was out of order on the day you arrived and we were waiting for an the engineer to arrive to repair. A pigeon did get into your room when your window was opened which is the first time something like this has happened. The team would have cleaned the room for you or offered you an alternative similar room however you decided you wished to leave and called your husband to come and collect you. I apologise that the lift was out of order for your arrival although the team carrier everyone luggage until it was repaired and the pidgeon incident was unusual thing to happen.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Friendly Welcome and accommodating my requests with a smile. Well cooked breakfast. Don't skimp. This is a must at the price. Rooms beautifully clean and all the facilities worked. And the bonus of a good nights sleep. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for the great review and I look forward to you returning in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

we chanced upon this hotel by accident - we saw people enjoying the sunshine outside and thought 'lets try this one'. We are glad we did, the last hotel we stayed at in Brighton was shall we say 'basic' and yet this hotel was less per night and included breakfast!!! The staff are very friendly and helpful, yes the lift wasn't working but the exercise up the stairs was nothing, we were on the 2nd floor. The room was nice and clean and had everything we needed, the breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty, again served by very pleasant and attentive staff. Next time in Brighton we are staying here, thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: it may be a better view from the front rooms but i am guessing its quieter at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micgill566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain L, General Manager at Kings Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for your kind words about the team who do try to make every guests enjoy their stay. I apologise the lift was out of order but pleased to say all back working again. I look forward to you returning in the future.

Iain Lindsay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Property: Kings Hotel
Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Hotelopia so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing