We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value and pretty front”
Review of Kings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Hotel
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Not sure why so many bad reviews. We stayed for 3 nights 26 to 29 august 2014.
Booked through booking.com so we got a good deal including breakfast. Out of all the hotels on the sea front this was the prettiest with lots of hanging baskets outside the hotel next door which will remain nameless was so ugly we counted ourselves lucky. The room 122 on ground floor was large no view as not prepared to pay £30 extra for sea view. Bed was very comfy. No view which did not bother us but the wall which we had could have benefitted with a coat of paint. Breakfast was good as much as you wanted. We did not need lift but noticed that it did not work i get the impression it needs to be replaced which takes a while and hotel would loose lot of business. Recommended if you dont want to go tacky cheap b & b or really expensive hilton. Staff were fine with us would go again. One point to be aware of if you dont like walking it is 25 min walk to pier. We did not mind as used it for keep fit

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DawnDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

We spent here out first trip together.The hotel is nice, well located , friendly stuff.
Our room was overlooking the sea and absolutely clean even if probably the hotel looks a bit old and need a refreshment .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A basic hotel right on Brighton's sea front by the old pier. The reception staff are very friendly and check in was a breeze - very efficient - unlike other hotels in Brighton of similar standing and above!
The lobby and dining area are reasonably well decorated, but as you head up into the heights of the hotel, you feel the fact you are in a much older building. The lift was out of order (no big surprise given other reviews on here) so it's stars and creaky corridors time.
I had a single room on the first floor, the room was odd shaped, but spacious enough, clean and with a window which overlooked the backs of other buildings. Not exactly inspiring, but tbh someone has to have that view, and if I was bothered about the view, I would expect to pay somewhat more - or better still, get off my backside and go for a walk! I was simply happy I wasn't above a disco or night club (which I have had in other hotels or this ilk!).

Ensuite bathroom was also roomy enough and clean, with a very good shower despite it being over the bath. Windows in either room were locked down to be able to only open a couple of inches - not really enough given the room was stifling despite heating being off. Other down sides were that the head of my bed was against the wall which backed into the corridor and happened to be right next to the corridor fire door , the walls are thin, so there was a fair bit of general corridor noise when trying to sleep. Also the bed itself was over soft and a bit lumpy - reasonable worn I guess, so I woke up with a very achey back in the morning. Not my best nights sleep.

Tea and coffee making facilities - all good and clean and perfectly adequate.
Morning's breakfast, again, greeted by very friendly and efficient staff. The cooked breakfast was seemingly cooked to order and of reasonable quality (NOT cheap nasty sausages for eg) and there was a reasonable array of cereals and lighter breakfast options.

For the price paid (which included breakfast) - This hotel is very acceptably priced. The only reason I am not giving it a 'good ' or above average rating is the beds. They really let it down - and for a relatively small amount of money outlaid, would make a real difference.

If you are looking for a basic hotel to stay the night for business for eg - I would recommend this hotel as a no fuss clean place to lay one's head, with excellent staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived to a clean and well presented reception area however the receptionist was rude and informed me there was only one room left (we booked in February) and if I had a problem with it there would be nothing they could do. Their car park was full (which they charge you an extra £15 to park in) so we parked in a car park further up the road. The lift was out of order and looking at other reviews this seems to be a continuous problem. Our room was very clean however it was also very tiny; there was just about enough room to walk around the bed.The carpet was stained and the floor squeaky. The bed was uncomfortable and creaked with every movement and the walls were so thin you could hear conversation in the next room. Breakfast was included in the price but after a bad nights sleep we couldn't wait to leave so didn't eat. We paid £125 for a small cramped space and definatley won't be returning again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

checked in which was ok but the lift was small & very slow, my room was small but adequate the plus was having a bath which i took advantage of , the location is great as it is right on the beachfront , the full English Breakfast was overcooked as the bacon was hard , beans dry . The plus was the excellant service by a waiter called John who could'nt do enough for us. i got a cheap offer to stay here but don't think i will return

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aussieagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Booked sea view room @ £105 per night. Arrived to check in at 2pm..sour faced receptionist told us to come back at 3pm.Returned as ordered to find a lift that never came so humped bags up steep stairs to discover our 1970s bedsit! Silver foil wallpaper falling off wall ..stained ancient carpet..non opening windows...etc. Bathroom ok but wash basin shelf placed to hit your head if you washed! Noise from road woke us at 4am and lorries delivering woke us at 6am. Full english breakfast inedible..luke warm and poor quality..only good thing was a charming waiter called John who gave me some good coffee! Glad to leave and get home...felt like I wasted my money...never again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank commane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly we arrived to the hotel and we were told our room was 504 which was the top floor and the lift was out of order. I had no problem with walking but when you walk to the top floor and your key card doesn't work, so you have to walk back down and get new key cards and then walk back up to your room, that's when it become a problem, also with no apology from staff members. Secondly when we got back that night we wanted a shower which we couldn't have due to the shower being freezing cold so we didn't bother and waited until the morning. In the morning we were woken up by a false fire alarm at 07:00 am. We walked to the reflection of the hotel for the alarm to stop when we got to the bottom so we had to walk all the way back up to our room and again, no apology. Next we were woken up again at 09:00 am by a staff member banging on our door shouting "house keeping" whilst we were trying to catch up on sleep we had lost from being woken up by the fire alarm. We then woke up so we had time to get ready before we had to check out and again the shower was cold. The hot tap of the sink turned on by itself and that made the shower water hot (which makes no sense). We had to have a cold shower which is the last thing you want to do after lack of sleep. When we checked out we received our first apology of the stay. I would advise you to book somewhere else to stay and the walk to the pier will probably be shorter somewhere else as well.

@SONNIEHARDING

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SonnieHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#23 of 43 in Brighton
1,303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#19 of 43 in Brighton
2,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hotel

Address: 139-141 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £55 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best of Brighton's rich heritage and it's vibrant seaside lifestyle of today when staying at the Kings Hotel Brighton on Brighton Seafront. Housed in 3 lovingly restored Regency mansions, The Kings Hotel Brighton enjoys a prime location on Brighton's famous seafront. The hotel is steps away from the beach, Brighton Conference Centre and the great shops and entertainment venues of the town centre. You can expect a warm welcome from the friendly team at The Kings Hotel Brighton. Reception is open 24 hours a day, so no matter what time you arrive, a member of staff will be on hand to greet you and offer local information. Each of the 96 bedrooms at this sea front hotel has been appointed with care and style. All rooms are en-suite and offer every comfort needed for a relaxing stay. Many of the rooms boast exceptional sea views. Each room type at The Kings Hotel Brighton is designed for complete comfort. Family rooms and bedrooms adapted for the complete accessibility of guests with mobility difficulties are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing