We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip excellent value,”
Review of Preston Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Preston Park Hotel
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Business trip excellent value,”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stopped in this hotel for one night, check in was adequate. Room was excellent with good shower, trouser press and the usual facilities you would expect. Very clean, let down by a missing door knob on wardrobe that would of cost very little to put right. Attention to detail!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewfos007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    33
    44
    53
    75
See reviews for
16
89
11
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thorney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for an overnight businesstrip andit was booked last minute and chosen for position and cost.
It has free parking which is notalways the case these days.
My room was large and had a large bathroom. It needs some refurbishment and a new bed since it was quite hard. The hotel itself has a strange layout in my opinion.
I was very pleased withbreakfast which was freshly cooked to order, which is a very rare thing these days

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The hotel was a late booking and we got it at a good rate. The window could not be opened and we found it a little stuffy. My overall impression of the hotel is that it is a little tired and requires some TLC. The room we had was clean and suited our needs. Unfortunately there were some loud mouthed and inconsiderate residents on the same floor, shouting and door slamming was a little annoying. The breakfast was excellent and very good value.The staff were polite efficient and very helpful I would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Lots of +ves . Out of town so free parking and you can jump a bus from right outside into the town within 10 mins. Room was clean, recently updated and good facilities . Full English breakfast was good quality to - cooked to order all for £34.
Only few -ves. Outside road is the main A23 London Rd to busy , noisy from early. I did ask in advance for a quie room but higher paying guests probably got those away from the front road. Also no temperature control for the bedroom heating, but the heating seemed to go off in the early hours so wasn't a big issue.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

The Preston park hotel in Brighton what can I say it has everything there you want, clean rooms, a restaurant and bar. I mean this place is ideal for me that's why it's my fourth time back here. I love it because its out of town so I don't here all the noise but yet it's still close enough to walk into town for a pint or I even go for a nice long run, there's. plenty of parking and the restaurant is open till half nine so I always try to stay here but lol but I would like to see the menu change even if it's just a little it is starting to get a bit boring.
I have only had one thing to moan about here and that was I asked for something for my breakfast and got something completely different but I don't sound myself in the morning lol so maybe that was it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth19780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

What this place has going for it is location. Parking in Brighton is appalling and this place is on the main london road into Brighton and it has free parking. This is a major plus. Bus travel into central brighton is easy and there is a cycle lane from here too. Its about a mile and a half walk. It is also only 5 minutes walk from Preston Park station which is two minutes from Brighton main station on the London to Brighton line. It is also fairly cheap. The rooms are ok and clean but we are still in blanket and sheet land here. The hotel was hot when I was there in January and you couldn't open the window ( painted shut). There were no extra blankets in the room if cold. I didn't eat in thye bar but they sold a small range of bar meals which were cheap. I had the continental breakfast which featured a choice of three cereals, two fruit juices and some limp croissants. No where to leave luggage if you want to check out Brighton before or after check in and reception staff were unwelcoming and unhelpful. It may be a reasonable base if you want to check out Brighton and the surrounding area and want to have a car. My recommendation is that you enter Brighton by the Ditchling Road and turn right at the five ways traffic lights and right again at the traffic lights at the bottom of the road. This avoids the traffic snarl ups which can occur on the main road in summer weekends. Eat out at Preston Park Tavern or the pub up Preston Drove. Don't pay extra for the breakfast in the hotel, get some along Ditchling Road or in Brighton. There is a local Sainsburys and pub just along the main road in Brighton - I guess these are better bets for food. They do demand payment staright away. Think of it more as a low key B&B.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Global
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I needed to stop and happened to be driving past this place which looks somewhere between a Victorian mansion and an old people's home. Although the sign said rooms from £39 per person (ie £78 double) they charged just £59 for two without my even asking for a discount. The rooms would not really be worth a penny more than that in terms of decor - big old rooms that have been subdivided but not really reworked completely, dated and with some signs of age. But given the price and the fact that we were just a few miles out of Brighton it seemed fair enough, there was easy free parking and although one would certainly not call the room lovely, there was at least a kettle and a decent shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzBelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
3.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#15 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
Hostelpoint-Brighton
#39 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preston Park Hotel

Property: Preston Park Hotel
Address: 216 Preston Road, Brighton BN1 6UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Preston Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Preston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jarvis Preston Park Brighton
Hotel Jarvis Preston Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing