We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

stayed at this hotel 14th -17th july room 310
my husband and i took a little mini break prior to our 25th wedding anniversary . was lucky enough to be upgraded to a seaview room. hotel and room were absolutely spotless and were well serviced through out our stay ie tea biscuits bottled water toiletries were topped up every day and room serviced to an excellent standard. we had a very quick efficient check in with a friendly young lady called grace and every member of staff we had the pleasure to talk to were really friendly. we did not eat in the restaurant but the full english breakfasts had plenty of choice and served well by all staff encountered on our stay
the hotel is well placed for all the sites of brighton and we would not hesitate in staying again (only next time - no rain please ) well done mecure brighton

Room Tip: upgrade to seaview if you can its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear andreaLeeds

Thank you for taking the time to post a most valued review following your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel it is most appreciated.

Firstly, many belated congratulations on your Silver wedding anniversary and I was delighted to read you had a great stay.

Whilst we only have 16 Executive Sea View bedrooms these do offer more space and great views and I was pleased that we were able to offer you one of these rooms for your celebration.

Thank you for your specific comments relating to the friendly interactions you had with the team and I know Grace will be pleased with her special mention!

We do try our utmost to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable time whatever the reason for visiting although sorry the weather is a bit out of our hands!

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    480
    530
    269
    191
See reviews for
244
858
65
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed at the Mercure for 3 nights in July. This is a traditional well maintained sea front hotel. We have stayed in many hotels in Brighton and this is one of the better ones. Nice location, short walk to shops & centre of Brighton. We were in a bedroom at the rear of the hotel, in the newer part of the building, down a few corridors and the room was spacious, modern and exceptionally clean with modern good sized bathroom. Hot buffet breakfast was excellent with very efficient service from friendly staff. Nice bar area for late nights drinks. Free WiFi but in main reception and bar areas only. We booked early and got an advance offer rate, so was very good value to stay in Brighton central.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidays4us2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear HappyHolidays4us2

Thank you for your valued review of the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and the bedroom allocated in our Mews building both was ‘exceptionally clean’ as well as meeting your needs.

Thank you also for your feedback on the quality of breakfast received and the friendliness of the team in Food & Beverage.

I was also pleased that you were able to book early and take advantage of the early booking offers to make your stay in the City even better value!

Thank you once again and I do hope we may see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards


Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

OH dear ...I have been quite busy and have only now read the reviews. I have booked this hotel for this Friday 20th July for my friend, her daughter, me and my daughter, Not bothered about noise or pigeons just want parking, nice rooms & nice staff. let you know how we get..... on fingers crossed

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear CarolynS

I appreciate you chose to post a review before you had experienced the hotel and I am really keen to hear from you personally to discuss your experience.

Please feel free to call me or email me so we can have a chat about your stay.

Best regards

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

A room for 3, seems slightly strange configuration of 1 double and 1 single as I had assumed it would be 3 singles (a friend made the booking). However, there would not have been space for the 3 singles, the room is really only suitable for a double bed, the single was directly against the wall and there was very narrow space to walk around the beds to the bathroom.

A small desk, which doubled as the tea and coffee station. A wardrobe and space for suitcase in the hallway corridor. Bathroom was ok with quite a large shower (no bath), the door to the bathroom was very low so tall people would need to duck!

I did find the room very warm and no air con, the window only opened about 5 inches. The window overlooked a courtyard with a pile of something (rubbish?) covered by a blue tarpaulin.

The room rate we had was £189 which seems a lot when I compare to what you could get in London for that money.

n.b. I had friends in another room which was huge so be aware that rooms are very different.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonerOutAndAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear LondonerOutAndAbout
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay at the Hotel.
I was sorry that the configurations of our Triple rooms came as a surprise to you and I can confirm that all of these rooms feature a Double bed and Single bed.
As you point out our rooms do vary in terms of size with our Executive Sea view rooms generally much bigger compared to the Standard rooms.
The tarpaulin you refer to is covering a ‘Feature Dome’ which is one of the key Grade II listed elements of the hotel. We are pulling together plans with Heritage to agree refurbishment and/or replacement plans for this feature and to protect from further decline we have decided to cover this.
Demand for hotel accommodation in Brighton is very high at weekends and our rates are comparable with hotels throughout the City. We do however have some great early booking incentives when rooms are booked up in advance!
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope that we may see you again sometime soon.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were lucky enough to have an excellent seafront room with double windows. The sun even shone for a brief period so we were able to enjoy the view. No problem with noise, despite being beside an extraordinarily busy road complete with roadworks. Breakfast good; rest of food was decided by the conference committee I think. The vegetables for one evening meal were far too hard and the queue for the snack lunch (mostly rather unexciting sandwiches) was v long on the first day although this was remedied by the second day. This is a huge sprawling hotel and some of our conference group were what seemed miles away from the main part of the building. Odd that the rooms in the basement are called "summit" rooms, but accommodation and provision for our conference in the hotel was v good. Air conditioning in the ballroom was a bit overwhelming, though.

Room Tip: Try to get a seafront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpujarra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Alpujarra2
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post a review following your recent stay with us at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed a fantastic view from your Executive Sea view bedroom and that the sun made an appearance whilst you were here!
You are correct that the meal arrangements for the conference you attended where agreed in advance, however I have noted your feedback for future events. I was pleased that you did however feel that breakfast was good!
The Hotel is a bit of a ‘tardis’ with just under 120 bedroom spread over two buildings and a total of 6 floors. This said I was pleased that the facilities for you as a conference delegate were regarding as ‘good’ and hopefully the air conditioning in the ballroom didn’t detract too much from your involvement at the meetings.
Thank you once again and we do hope we might be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were going out with friends and it was our first night away since our little one was born. We were looking forward to a nice lay in. Oh dear. The room was pokey and the double bed was barely double. The worst thing though was how hot our room on the fourth floor was. The heating wasn't on and it was hardly hot outside but with no air con the room was stiffling even with the windows open. We struggled to sleep as it was unbearable. The only saving grace for this hotel was that the English Breakfast was nice. If we had a choice again, we wouldn't stay here.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 400.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear LeeC

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.
I was saddened to read that your break away from ‘your little one’ was not as enjoyable as you had intended it to be.
We do appreciate that at times the temperature in some of our rooms can increase and have provided fans to help with the circulation during these times. I am also sorry that we were not able to offer you an alternative room whilst you were staying with us and make you break away more special.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the quality of breakfast and I am pleased at least your last experience of the Hotel was memorable.
Finally, if you do need to come back to Brighton again please do get in touch with us so we can make arrangements to ensure we fully meet you expectations upon your return.
Best regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,521 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing