We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Farnham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great overnight”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We overnighted at this hotel before our son's graduation -so our needs were limited but we were delighted

The reception was friendly and welcoming
The room was a double fronted large room overlooking the seafront - not their fault that it was filthy boiling sea and the promenade was deserted!

The room was VERY comfortable with a small sofa, coffee table chair etc and very spacious.
Teamaking facilites, biscuits and lots of pampering botttles in the big en suite

A complete english breakfast in a pleasant room was a true pleasure -along with the small French boy who made himself completely at home! Rare to see French visitors in UK hotels -is it the strength of the Mercure brand that brought them?

I presume operational reasons meant that the hotel used a large dining room which did not have windows but had mirrored recesses which made it light and attractive. Perhaps at other times they use the other dining room which has sea views as well

We could not fault the staff at all -mainly very young but pleasant,efficient and friendly. I was easily able to leave a large bag behind for collection at the end of the day (no fee -I remember being charged for this at some so called leading hotels in Europe)

All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel

PS

Top tip for all Brighton hotels - please make your parking arrangments more clear -with the other parking constraints around the town this is a major consideration for visitors and should be a real selling point for those who have such facilities. It happened not to be an issue for us as we left our car at our son's flat, but in looking at options I felt this was overlooked by many hotels

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear John P
Thank you for your comprehensive and valued review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.
It was great to read that your stay for your son’s graduation was very comfortable from start to finish and that you appreciated your Executive Sea View bedroom.
I was also delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfast experience with the added European twist!
In particular thank you for your very kind feedback regarding the service received.
Finally, thank you for adding the parking advice for future guests. We do try to be as clear as possible, especially indicating that parking with us is a reasonable £15 per night!
Hopefully you will have proud memories of your son’s graduation and perhaps come back to Brighton again to relive the special moment.
Kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    476
    521
    260
    189
See reviews for
241
845
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

As part of a delayed honeymoon we booked a 3 night stay at this hotel. Great location - approx 10 min walk from station, on the seafront and very well presented hotel. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel with a balcony and was perfect, including the massive bed!

Problems with lack of hot food at our first breakfast could have marred our visit, but deputy manager S Boyd was wonderful and dealt with us in the most professional manner possible. If only all hotels provided this level of customer service life would be perfect (see my review for the Premier Inn Hurricane, Stafford)

All in all, fantastic place to stay and very reasonably priced - well done Mercure

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer part of the hotel appear to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tranmeregirlie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Tranmeregirlie1961
Thank you for your valued review of your Honeymoon stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. Belated congratulations on your marriage from all of us here!
I was pleased that you found the location to be perfect for your needs and your Executive Sea view room comfortable.
We are all human and sometimes things don’t go quite to plan but I was delighted that Stuart resolved the situation in our usual efficient and professional manner.
Thank you once again and we hope we might see you again sometime soon (first anniversary?!)
With kind regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here late July during the very hot weather and the room was unbearably hot. We couldnt open the door as it led out onto a fire escape and anyone could have got into our room. We were given a fan which made it slightly more bearable. Hotel should provide individual air conditioning units in each room. Parking situation was a nightmare, couldnt get into the hotel car park and ended up paying £20 per night in a car park around the corner. Twin room very small and very basic. No drawers to put our clothes and ony a few coathangers. On a positive side, the staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Right on the seafront too and the "nice" end of Brighton beach!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FantasticFourB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear FantasticFour B
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay with us.
It was unusually hot last week and whilst we don’t often get long bouts of heat waves in the UK we do appreciate that at times the temperatures can increase in the rooms and have placed fans in all our bedrooms to help with air circulation at these times.
I do note your comment regarding air conditioning units for the rooms and I’m currently looking into the practicality of portable units for exceptional occasions.
All of our bedrooms in the Mews part of the hotel have been refurbished in a modern open plan design and I’m sorry that we were not able to offer you once of our more traditional rooms with enclosed wardrobes that may have met your needs better.
Parking throughout the City is a ‘challenge’ and our car park is limited on a first come first serve basis and I’m also sorry that you were not able to get a space.
I was pleased to read that you found the service both friendly and helpful and enjoyed your breakfast.
Thank you once again and hopefully you will visit us at the “nice’ end of Brighton sometime soon!
Warm regards
Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in July, we didn't have any issue with the hotel but at the same time I wasn't particularly impressed for a 4* hotel.

The location is good - right on the sea front, the staff are friendly, we were given what we were told was one of their newly refurbished rooms. It was indeed refurbished but to quite a basic standard - that you might expect from a travel lodge or budget hotel. However the room was clean, a good size and had complimentary tea, coffee and water.

Breakfast is well organised and consistent but in my opinion not particularly impressive. It is mainly buffet style but certain aspects let it down such as having to toast your own bread compared to 4* I had just come from where as soon as you are seated they ask what toast you would like and bring it to you. Little things like this make a difference and perhaps Mecure can look at this - how difficult can it be.

We used the parking and paid £15 per night, the parking is quite tight but covered, secure and easily accessible from the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Sam911

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased that you found the location good and service received from the team friendly and whilst I note that your room did not meet your expectations am glad we maintained our usual high levels of cleanliness.

Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast. Similar to many Hotels we do operate a buffet service for the majority of items with speciality dishes available to order directly from the Kitchen.

Based on feedback we changed our toast service to allow guests to choose when they want to take their toast as often this is delivered with tea and coffee. This said we are happy to offer full service at breakfast including toast if necessary and I’m sorry if this wasn’t clear to you when you stayed.

Thank you once again for a most constructive review and I do hope that we may see you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We came to Brighton as part of a hen weekend, and the staff were very accommodating for the 19 of us, offering to look after our luggage for the day after we checked out. The location was very good, about a 10-15 minute walk along the seafront from the main pier. The room itself was pretty standard, compact and clean. The only downside was lack of parking due to a wedding taking place in the hotel, and the noise from other drunken guests who were very loud at 3am.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieOutandAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear RosieOutandAbout

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following our recent stay with us at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel.

I was delighted that your celebration weekend was comfortable and you found the team accommodating for your entire group.

We agree that the Hotel has a great location just a short stroll from the Palace Pier and it was pleasing that you managed to extend your visit to the City by allowing us to look after your baggage at check-out.

Whilst we do have parking it is limited and spaces to get full quickly particularly at weekends and I’m sorry that you were not lucky enough to get a spot when you arrived.

We do have weddings on most weekends and we work hard to make sure that all guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay all time. I am therefore sorry if you were disturbed as a result of this.

Thank you once again and we do hope we may welcome you back to Mercure Brighton Seafront soon.

Kindest regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

stayed at this hotel 14th -17th july room 310
my husband and i took a little mini break prior to our 25th wedding anniversary . was lucky enough to be upgraded to a seaview room. hotel and room were absolutely spotless and were well serviced through out our stay ie tea biscuits bottled water toiletries were topped up every day and room serviced to an excellent standard. we had a very quick efficient check in with a friendly young lady called grace and every member of staff we had the pleasure to talk to were really friendly. we did not eat in the restaurant but the full english breakfasts had plenty of choice and served well by all staff encountered on our stay
the hotel is well placed for all the sites of brighton and we would not hesitate in staying again (only next time - no rain please ) well done mecure brighton

Room Tip: upgrade to seaview if you can its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew-Huddart, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear andreaLeeds

Thank you for taking the time to post a most valued review following your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel it is most appreciated.

Firstly, many belated congratulations on your Silver wedding anniversary and I was delighted to read you had a great stay.

Whilst we only have 16 Executive Sea View bedrooms these do offer more space and great views and I was pleased that we were able to offer you one of these rooms for your celebration.

Thank you for your specific comments relating to the friendly interactions you had with the team and I know Grace will be pleased with her special mention!

We do try our utmost to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable time whatever the reason for visiting although sorry the weather is a bit out of our hands!

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing