We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure Brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 24 December 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank OF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel location was on the seafront - a little displaced from the main centre but within easy walking distance. It was clearly an old hotel and there were definite problems with the heating. The windows were old and draughty. Our bedroom curtains billowed in the wind even with the windows shut! The TV was difficult to operate but came on in the middle of the night unprompted!
The rooms had been cleaned to a high standard but the decor was faded and the hotel generally looked in need of refurbishment.
However, these problems were forgiven because all the staff we encountered- were so helpful, friendly and efficient. Urte (on the front desk) and Gabby (our waiter) especially were a credit to the hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebigfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear thebig fox,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I was delighted to hear that you found the staff to be extremely helpful, effiecient and professional. I am sure your comment will help encourage them to keep up their hard work and great levels of service. I am aslo certain Gabby and Urte would be delighted when i share your comments with them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here on an Amazon deal and it was exceptionally good value for bed and breakfast. The hotel is in a great location - right on the seafront and easy walking distance into town for the shops, bars, restaurants etc. The room we had was quite spacious and seemed newly refurbished. It had everything we needed although no view, but for the price I didn't expect a sea view. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. I'd recommend this hotel if you can get a deal, but probably not worth the rack rate. But better than a lot of other more expensive places we've stayed in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Choira,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback about a guests stay.

I was glad that you had a great stay and your comments will help encourage the staff to continue to provide great service.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

From the moment we booked - and all thanks to the super efficient and kind Urte who handled this to the minute we left it was an excellent experience. We stayed two nights. All the staff are extremely kind and helpful.

We had a warm, comfortable and spacious room - which was well priced. This is not a luxury hotel and this is reflected in the price. It is an extremely comfortable place where the staff are great and this is what counts. However, if you want it, there is room service, bar etc.

The breakfast was good and there are the daily papers and the local paper too waiting for you in the breakfast room.

My only criticism was: the coffee was dreadful - and I reported this to the duty manager. The tea, however, was good.

I've stayed in a few hotels in Brighton and this was way better than the others (which ranged from budget to five star).

The whole experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Sea facing - of course - but then everybody wants this! I didn't see the other rooms so I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Mike-In-London,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

I am sure Urte will be delighted when she finds out she has been mentioned for her hard work and service. I will be discussing your feedback with the rest of the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had our work's Christmas Party here on Saturday and had a brilliant time! The staff were so courteous and helpful - we were really well looked after. The food was good and the atmosphere was amazing. The ballroom had just been redecorated and looked fresh, clean and white - perfect for an Ice White Party. A few of my friends stayed overnight and said the rooms were lovely and the breakfast very good too. Would definitely book a party here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Lindsey C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

Iwas delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time and enjoyed your works Christmas Party.I will be discussing your feedback with the rest of the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We went here September 2013 for a late anniversary weekend break. Location is ace! right on the beach and central for all aspects of Brighton, our favourite place.
Restaurant was tiny and very hot, although the food was good.
Our room was spacious and very clean (a little basic for what we paid I think!) We had let the team know it was our anniversary and they gave us a large balcony room at the front of the hotel which was lovely for people watching.
usually we stay at the Grabnd and sadly it eas booked up and this was the closest location wise to what we were looking for - we dont feel its up to its star rating in anyway shape or form, the bar is tiny, service is incredibly slow with limited drinks options

Room Tip: front room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Claire P,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback be it positive or negative.

I was glad that we were able to upgrade you complimentary on this occassion to make your stay extra special. I was also glad that you found the restaurant food served to be good despite thinking the restaurant was too small.

I will be discussing your feedback with the rest of the team and i am sure they will continue to strive to deliver great service.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Mercure appear to have recently taken over this hotel which is a typical seafront victorian type with a grand staircase and lots of small rooms off this.
They have clearly started on a renovation process - which as usual improves the public areas first at the expense of the bedrooms.
Our "Classic" room was tiny - really hard to even walk round the bed, an even smaller bathroom with a dated shower and associated grimy grouting etc.
Despite being in December the room was stupidly hot courtesy of a massive old radiator which refused to obey its theromstatic valve. God knows what its like in the summer (the fan in the wardrobe is a clue)
However, service was up to the usual high Accor standard and everyone was very welcoming.
Im sure Mercure have a refurbishment plan for this hotel - it is a decent location on the Front but to add £18 for the pleasure of parking in a dank carpark is just a ripoff and we shouldnt put up with this sort of thing. Overall, this is NOT yet a £150 a night hotel despite charging as such.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woosiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Woosiep,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback be it positive or negative.

Unfortunately car parking is somewhat of a premium in brighton and being a city centre hotel we do charge a very competitive price of £18 coming in cheaper than anywhere else in brighton. We do have hotels withtin the company that offer free car parking but these are not city centre locations and have ample car parking.

Since your comment we have checked the radiator in your room and relevant improvements are in progress.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £54 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing