We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas for 3 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Good location and friendly helpful staff but hotel struggling to cope! Sea view room very good, large and comfortable bed. Not informed when booking of car parking charge of £18 a night.Christmas Day breakfast was a disaster no food on cold or hot buffet, staff struggling to refill as understaffed and explanation of a temporary chef 'caught on back foot'. Full range of food as advertised on menu not available .In the end gave up and walked out. Manager gave us free parking to compensate and assured us it was a one off! But exactly the same happened on our final morning .Hotel bar ran out of most popular white wines, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc during our stay. On Christmas Day we were meant to have light meal in the evening but never informed of when this was available so missed it!. Christmas Day meal was surprisingly good but restaurant below par for a 4 star hotel, except if had sea view table. In the end stay was spoilt by these easily rectifiable things and we were given compensation off bar bill, but our Christmas Holiday stay with family was ruined. Would never recommend it. Hotel said they would contact us after our stay but never did, hence this report.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good others are still needing to be updated
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,813)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,815 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Tony and I booked two nights just before Christmas at this hotel. Despite the stormy weather, our break was a total joy. We were just around the corner from our favourite Brighton pub, the Bedford Tavern, and the hotel was brilliant. The staff were beyond helpful, the room was both quirky (the building is old) and very comfortable, breakfast choice was extensive, and the bar was taken care of by a bouffant-haired bloke with a great sense of humour. Would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Denis M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about a guests stay.

I was glad that you found all off the staff helpful and proffessional.I was glad that you had a great stay and your comments will help encourage the staff to continue to provide great service.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a great hotel on the seafront. There is a private carpark too, which although you have to pay for it, is convenient and avoids the issue of finding on street parking nearby. The staff were all very friendly and most helpful. The bedrooms were good, perhaps a tad quirky in layout but clean and spacious. The restaurant served a very good meal too. The town centre, pavillion and attractions were all in walking distance and the deal we got for B&B with dinner on the first night was excellent value. All in all and ideal hotel for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colourqueen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Colourueen99,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about a guests stay.

I was glad that you had a great stay and your comments will help encourage the staff to continue to provide great service.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank OF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel location was on the seafront - a little displaced from the main centre but within easy walking distance. It was clearly an old hotel and there were definite problems with the heating. The windows were old and draughty. Our bedroom curtains billowed in the wind even with the windows shut! The TV was difficult to operate but came on in the middle of the night unprompted!
The rooms had been cleaned to a high standard but the decor was faded and the hotel generally looked in need of refurbishment.
However, these problems were forgiven because all the staff we encountered- were so helpful, friendly and efficient. Urte (on the front desk) and Gabby (our waiter) especially were a credit to the hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebigfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear thebig fox,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I was delighted to hear that you found the staff to be extremely helpful, effiecient and professional. I am sure your comment will help encourage them to keep up their hard work and great levels of service. I am aslo certain Gabby and Urte would be delighted when i share your comments with them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here on an Amazon deal and it was exceptionally good value for bed and breakfast. The hotel is in a great location - right on the seafront and easy walking distance into town for the shops, bars, restaurants etc. The room we had was quite spacious and seemed newly refurbished. It had everything we needed although no view, but for the price I didn't expect a sea view. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. I'd recommend this hotel if you can get a deal, but probably not worth the rack rate. But better than a lot of other more expensive places we've stayed in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Choira,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback about a guests stay.

I was glad that you had a great stay and your comments will help encourage the staff to continue to provide great service.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

From the moment we booked - and all thanks to the super efficient and kind Urte who handled this to the minute we left it was an excellent experience. We stayed two nights. All the staff are extremely kind and helpful.

We had a warm, comfortable and spacious room - which was well priced. This is not a luxury hotel and this is reflected in the price. It is an extremely comfortable place where the staff are great and this is what counts. However, if you want it, there is room service, bar etc.

The breakfast was good and there are the daily papers and the local paper too waiting for you in the breakfast room.

My only criticism was: the coffee was dreadful - and I reported this to the duty manager. The tea, however, was good.

I've stayed in a few hotels in Brighton and this was way better than the others (which ranged from budget to five star).

The whole experience was excellent.

Room Tip: Sea facing - of course - but then everybody wants this! I didn't see the other rooms so I can...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-in-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Mike-In-London,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such encouraging feedback.

I am sure Urte will be delighted when she finds out she has been mentioned for her hard work and service. I will be discussing your feedback with the rest of the team, to whom I know will be equally delighted with your feedback, and will serve as a motivator for them.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £54 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing