We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wasn't value for money”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at the Mercure in Brighton hotel over new year's eve as I was looking for somewhere close to the venue I was going to and wanted to stay somewhere a bit nicer than a BnB (being NYE and all…)

The room was much smaller than I was expecting for the money paid. It was also incredibly hot and the window banged all through the night in the wind which kept waking me up – I informed the reception staff that the pane was loose in the room we stayed in and they mentioned they would look to it.

The breakfast was really quite poor; a very small selection of hot breakfast and some rock hard fruit. Admittedly it was the morning of new year's day so perhaps the chef was hanging?!

The location was fairly good for us and the staff were generally nice. If you can't get parking in the hotel's own car park area, the pay as you go parking opposite the hotel is free between 8pm to 9am. We parked there and it cost us less than parking with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachieA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear RachieA88,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback about a guests stay be it negative or positive.

Please allow me to express my apologies for the windoe in the room. Our maintenance team have since been up there and have had it repaired.

I was glad that you found all off the staff helpful and proffessional.

I was disappointed to hear that the breakfast experience did not live up to your expectations. I will be sharing your comments with the relative Department Head.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    489
    545
    286
    212
See reviews for
257
890
65
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The room we had was a little basic but, the bath wouldn't drain and the sink would think about it. the tv system is a nightmare. I had to go through about eight options before I could get to BBC1. If you wanted to watch a film then it would cost you £6.00!!! Not even a mucky one! I would hate to think what one of those would have cost. Breakfast was a nightmare. We had to que. for about fifteen minutes for a table in a very outdated Victorian era what looked to be a small concert hall. The breakfast was reasonable with smiling staff. The sauce bottles were on the tables and it looked like a greasy spoon cafe The tops of the sauce bottles were quite frankly disgusting and not what you would expect. Parking was £18.00 a night!!!!! Come guys get real, don't be greedy. If you are going to charge these prices then at least get the place up to a standard. Personally? It's a no from me. It would also be nice if you could find just one person that was English in an english seaside resort, or is it me?

Room Tip: If you want to upgrade? It will cost you another £60.00 and for another £40.00, guess what you get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Pmstudios,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback about a guests stay be it positive or nagative.

Our Televisions are all loaded with up to date Movies and music along with 18 free digital channels provided by an indepentdant supplier. By choosing the normal television option via the television remote control a guest can Opt out of the Movie system and go straight onto TV Channels.

Unfortunately Car Parking is somewhat of a premium in brighton and being a city centre hotel with a limited car park, we charge a very competitive price of £18 a night coming in cheaper than anywhere else. We do have hotels within the company that offer free car parking but these are not city centre hotels.

Update and maintenance are an ongoing process here while we still try to maintain the original Character and Charm of the building.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Epsom, UK
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel on a deal which we thought was excellent value for Brighton. Room was slightly smallish but with a very comfortable bed. Shame there was only a shower and no bath, though. I had read reviews about noisy wedding parties and we were 'warned' by the reception that the Saturday night might be noisy until about midnight because there was a wedding party that evening. However, although our room was on 1st floor, we heard absolutely no noise whatsoever.
Breakfast was excellent quality: excellent coffee, baguette, croissants and plenty of fresh fruit; my husband very much liked his sausages too - I was slightly missing the veggie sausages which are these days available in many places.
We also got late check-out which was additional bonus - but even standard check-out is 12noon which isn't bad.
The only thing we were less keen on was the dinner but then, it was part of the deal so our expectations were not high to start with. Except for the pudding the food was so-so. The nice thing was though that if you didn't want the set menu, you could choose from a la carte and top up the payment if necessary. You don't often get given this possibility and it was very much appreaciated. Bottle of house Merlot in the deal was entirely decent.
Would without doubt come again - definitely on a deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear HanelleD,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback about a guests stay.

I was glad that you found all off the staff helpful and proffessional.I was glad that you had a great stay and your comments will help encourage the staff to continue to provide great service.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just back from 2 night stay.

The hotel is at least 15 mins walk from the city centre.

The restaurant is tiny, cold and not overly relaxing. Had it not been for a meal included in the price I wouldn't have gone anywhere near it. The food was nice nonetheless.

The building itself is attractive from the outside but tired and far too warm on the inside. Too warm to sleep almost.

Staff give the impression of struggling to cope; whilst the breakfast is satisfactory I would have expected more from a 4 star establishment. No cold meats or cheese. A poor buffet.

If you are paying a discount rate then fine; but don't be paying top price for this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear PJC1979

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive feedback about a guests stay be it positive or negative.

Updating and Upkeep is an ongoing process here while we still try to maintain the original Character and Charm of the building.

I have taken note of your comments and will be discussing it with the relevant department heads to ensure improvements.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Good location and friendly helpful staff but hotel struggling to cope! Sea view room very good, large and comfortable bed. Not informed when booking of car parking charge of £18 a night.Christmas Day breakfast was a disaster no food on cold or hot buffet, staff struggling to refill as understaffed and explanation of a temporary chef 'caught on back foot'. Full range of food as advertised on menu not available .In the end gave up and walked out. Manager gave us free parking to compensate and assured us it was a one off! But exactly the same happened on our final morning .Hotel bar ran out of most popular white wines, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc during our stay. On Christmas Day we were meant to have light meal in the evening but never informed of when this was available so missed it!. Christmas Day meal was surprisingly good but restaurant below par for a 4 star hotel, except if had sea view table. In the end stay was spoilt by these easily rectifiable things and we were given compensation off bar bill, but our Christmas Holiday stay with family was ruined. Would never recommend it. Hotel said they would contact us after our stay but never did, hence this report.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good others are still needing to be updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Tony and I booked two nights just before Christmas at this hotel. Despite the stormy weather, our break was a total joy. We were just around the corner from our favourite Brighton pub, the Bedford Tavern, and the hotel was brilliant. The staff were beyond helpful, the room was both quirky (the building is old) and very comfortable, breakfast choice was extensive, and the bar was taken care of by a bouffant-haired bloke with a great sense of humour. Would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Denis M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel on Trip Advisor. Its always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about a guests stay.

I was glad that you found all off the staff helpful and proffessional.I was glad that you had a great stay and your comments will help encourage the staff to continue to provide great service.

If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind Regards
Peter Nye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing