We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but tiny room and sweltering hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location but tiny room and sweltering hot”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First the good : Great location. Close enough to everything, but far enough away to minimize noise from clubs and drunks (a perennial issue in Brighton). Public areas smart enough. 24-hour bar for guests. Polite staff. Comfortable bed and quiet room (no noise from traffic, drunks or clubs.
Now the not so good : Tiny car-park both at the front and rear of hotel. Might as well admit to yourself you're going to have to park off-site. Our room was tiny. Just fitted a bed and wardrobe and not much else. View from window was directly onto fire escape (room 301). Window opened (but unlockable, so leave the crown jewels at home or wear them at all times) but had to be wedged up with a book to keep it open. Absolutely no air movement at all. Despite storms and freezing weather outside, the room remained at an unbearably warm temperature. Tea & coffee facilities, but bare minimum of supplies provided. Don't expect more than one cuppa each.
Have stayed in worse, but have stayed in better too. Brighton hotels are expensive so IMO should try harder to earn their rates.

Room Tip: Don't chose room 301. Pay the extra and have a sea-view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed and had a quiet stay.

I am sorry that you found it too warm if you had asked we would have done our best to find an alternative room if available and similarly if you required more tea and coffee in the room we would have brought this up to you. Apologies that the window lock was broken, I have asked our maintenace team to ensure it is replaced.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    476
    521
    261
    189
See reviews for
241
846
64
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A nice hotel right on the seafront. Breakfast was good, a nice choice of hot and cold foods. The evening meal in the hotel was lovely. It was an extremely windy weekend and the draught coming in round the dining room windows was rather chilly. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The only thing that would put us off of staying here again was the cost of the hotel car park, at £18 per night, it was rather steep. The guy on reception informed us that this is because it's a town centre hotel. It's a 15 minute walk into town from the hotel I would not class that as a town centre location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbbaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing us following your recent stay and I am pleased that you enjoyed it.

Being in such a historic old city parking is indeed a challenge here in Brighton, in line with all of the other hotels that have parking space we do charge a competitive rate for this facility.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel previously with work and was looking forward to staying there again, but Im afraid this time round I left feeling a little dissapointed.

The room I was allocated was overlooking a courtyard and had nothing above me, making it feel a little like a caravan. It was very cold and I think this is down to the fact that those rooms are so exposed. There was one, very small, radiator in there which was barely warm, meaning that on my second night reception had to supply me with extra blankets and a heater.

The layout of the rooms was a little mixed up. Steps leading to the room, and steps to and from the bathroom could be a problem for anyone with mobility issues. I was not asked when I checked in if I had a mobility issue which I think should have been done due to the location of the room. The bathroom light was also a little odd. The switch was outside the room and to turn it on you had to lean over the bannister of the small stairs (not great in the dark).

Breakfast was also poor with very little selection and long waiting periods if you ordered alternative items.

However, on a positive, the staff were very friendly and acted very quickly to try and warm my room up. Also, we held a day meeting at the hotel on one of the days we were there and the gentleman dealing with that was excellent.

It wasnt an awful stay, but Im afraid I wouldbt pick this hotel as my first choice again.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the winter ask NOT to be put in the rooms overlooking the courtyard. Also if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay.

Many of our guests like the Mews rooms here and request them on a regular basis however there is no doubt that there is a quirkiness to them in terms of the level changes which will be experienced throughout this old Grade two listed building.

We like to think it adds to the character of the hotel and is not something you would find in a more modern property.

I appreciate the feedback in terms of breakfast service and we are currently working to improve our consistency in this area.

It is a pleasure to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and fast acting with respect to your needs and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure Brighton Seafront again soon

Kind regards
Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booked this hotel for a 2 night break. Great deal withbed and breakfast with dinner on the first night. Room was nice if basic. We were a little disappointed with the size of the seating area in the bar particularly for a hotel of this size. Service was good and drinks reasonably priced. The dining room was again small and the dinner menu underwhelming. Food took ages to arrive and was not brilliant. Breakfast was better and again staff very attentive. We came back from a walk and as the weather had turned went for a drink in the bar but it was full of people waiting for a private meal in the restaurant and we had to sit in the lobby until they had cleared, then we were told because of this party, food may be delayed if we were ordering lunch. We got in quick but that is hardly the guests fault. Overall a comfortable stay although areas for guests to sit and chill is lacking and food not 100% appetising.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay. I am very pleased that you had a comfortable stay, the new beds, pillows and duvets which we replaced at the end of last year are proving a hit.

We are always looking at ways of where we can improve our business and your comments concerning the seating in the bar and lounge area will be taken on board.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Brighton again soon

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Room was luxurious and large. Had everything you needed including trouser press, hairdrier, lcd tv, free wifi, room service. Bar is open 24 hours. Lovely views overlooking the sea. Drinks bit dear but it is a four star hotel. Breakfast was lovely with ample choice. Staff friendly and pleasant. Close to all amenities. Only downside is lack of sufficient signage for directions to rooms and reception. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend it. Hope to return in summer months. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us following your recent stay.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the summer

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a hotel that is suitable for an overnight stay. Not luxurious but comfortable enough with enough facilities to get by. It is warm and clean and breakfast is sufficient. Being in a convenient location on the seafront the only problem is the parking. After driving around the area without finding a parking space we returned to the hotel to be lucky as someone was leaving and paid in reception to park for 24 hours.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Many thanks for the review following your recent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Brighton Seafront in the future.

Kind regards
Kevin

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed for a Friday and Saturday night in February. The premium room was clean. The single glazed sash windows were very draught. No real shower...just a shower head over the bath. No mini bar. No safe.
The hotel has a wonderful staircase....but you need to be able to see beyond the fire doors....clearly a fire requirement.
Staff great but overworked and service suffered. Slow service at dinner. Lack of food at breakfast...they could not keep up with demand. The staff were unbelievable given the circumstances...guests helped by getting up and getting their own ketchup or politely prompting that chips were needed.....all a bit of a farce.
We have stayed at more than 12 hotels in Brighton over the last 17 years and we have returned to 3 of them.....We will not be returning here......We loved their hotel in Kent and Nice but not this one

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali24west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. My apologies that the service was not up to standard on this occassion, it is apparent that this particular Breakfast service was short staffed and I will be working with the team to ensure we do not have a repeat of this.

Thank you for your kind comments concerning the room cleanliness this will be passed on to Carol the Head Housekeeper.

Kind regards
Kevin

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing