We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically comfortable Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Sevenoaks District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Typically comfortable Mercure”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Like all Mercure's I have ever stayed in this is a grand old Victorian building, but as ever they make the best of it. The staff are friendly, helpful and engaging. The hotel is clean throughout, the rooms are large and comfortable with nice touches such as a Nespresso machine and the bathroom was spacious and well appointed. Being an old building the walls are thick, so the sound proofing is excellent ( we heard nothing when inside our room). We didn't eat in the restaurant on this occasion, but the menu looked enticing and the breakfast ( typical to Mercures) was excellent with a nice range of hot and cold items, good juices and quality hot drinks. One thing to note, whilst the hotel has a car park, spaces are limited so be prepared that you may have to park nearby. I notice one reviewer complained about the 18 charge - this is typical in Brighton and it costs a lot more in the pay and display car parks.

The hotel is located right on the sea front with great views, and is a 5-10 minute walk to the main shopping area and 15 minute walk on the flat to the lanes. Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel, especially for a short or weekend break. Excellent value for money when booked in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Many thanks for your balanced review which I hope will help anyone considering staying here in the future. We have a very good Head Housekeeper who has been here for a number of years and whilst the hotel is old fashioned in areas she does a fantastic job maintaining high cleanliness standards.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    490
    545
    286
    212
See reviews for
257
891
65
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I booked the Mercure for a nice weekend treat. We were nicely welcomed by the staff and although we couldn't have an upgrade, we were pleased with our room - very spacious, clean and noise free. However both the diner at the restaurant and breakfast were disastrous. burger meal served during the diner was burnt and baguette in the morning was gard as a rock. Luckily, one of the waiter made up for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecretMoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review us following your stay. I am pleased that you found the room to be clean and that the waiter resolved the problem with the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to in the future

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a weekend deal. This is an old hotel on the sea front. Not the best access for those with mobility issues. Staff friendly and welcoming. Dinner in restaurant was excellent. Room comfortable but no safe. Noise from road an issue but as the hotel is probably a listed building re glazing probably not an option. Parking expensive at the hotel, but same everywhere in Brighton. Breakfast buffet not that exiting and choice quite limited.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Disco106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us following your recent stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here in Brighton and I look forward to welcoming you back in hte future.

Kind regards
Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at the Mercure last night (24th Feb '14) and the previous night I stayed at a 'supposedly' 5* hotel in London and the Mercure beat the London hotel hands down!

The London stay was awful but the Mercure was fabulous!

Beautiful old Brighton seafront building, amazing views, lovely interior decor, amazing room for the money as well! We had a 'loft-style' room and it was just lovely.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all friendly, happy and welcoming.

Food in the bar was great too as was breakfast this morning, looking out over the crashing waves!

Absolutely loved the hotel, and I will definitely be returning! Thank you :)

Lorri Delahunty
Fleet, Hampshire, UK

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and will pass on your kind comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed two nights 20/2 and 21/2. Staff were professional and friendly. Room 408 has a very comfortable bed but pillows to big and hard. Decoration is very tired, window was very noisy and draughty so made a wedge to keep it from rattling, carpet is threadbare. Side view of the sea was nice. Bathroom is ok. Pre paid for dinner but menu was on a scrap of paper, made us feel inferior. Pate was huge but got two tiny pieces of very dry, very hard bread, asked for some softer bread but got three more pieces of the same. Watched as other couples had the same problem, this starter should be served with two pieces of warm toast. There are too many nice restaurants nearby to bother with the dinner here. We had the buffet breakfast both mornings and have no complaints about it but were entertained by others complaining about drinks not arriving and things running out like fruit, cereal, ketchup, brown sauce etc.,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandgary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for the recent review and I appreciate all of the positive feedback.

With respect to the pillows we recently replaced all of these along with the beds and duvets. Personally I find them a little on the large side also and only need one when sleeping, it is nice however if reading to have plump cushions to lean against. We do have feather pillows available on request however.

The pate which we serve does deserve more bread as has been mentioned by a couple of guests recently therefore we have changed this.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just on the seaside, good spacious room, friendly staff. Check-in was swift and efficient, bed comfy, breakfast very tasty... The only issue was the accuracy of the bill. On checkout staff tried to charge me for the service I didn't use... Not great experience.
After all very nice place to stay when visiting Brighton.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank West90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for the recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our new beds to be comfortable.

My apologies for the mix up with your bill on check-out, feedback is important to us in order that we can continue to train and develop the team and minimise such occurances in the future.

I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Ultimately you stay at a hotel like this because you want a nice location and a bit more comfort than say a Jurys Inn. Personally I think you would have been better at the Jurys Inn.

The room was quite large which was to be expected for the price but it was on a bad start that the car parking is woefully small and was full at 5pm on a Saturday in January! I did not eat in the hotel other than the breakfast on the Sunday.

We arrived at 9.30, waited 20 minutes to be sat down and then was extremely disappointed with the breakfast. At no point was there every item out because they could not cope with being busy. For example there was no eggs out and when the eggs came out, the sausages had all been taken. Add this to the fact that the fresh fruit also ran out and the tea & coffee that we were promised never arrived then we left feeling that it would have been better to save money and go to a local café. This was annoying as if they cannot with a Sunday in January then what chance would you have in August.

In summary if this was half the price then I would say that it would be worth staying

Room Tip: Go to Jurys Inn and pay half the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay.

My sincere apologies that breakfast was not fully satisfactory on the Sunday morning as we were almost full on the Saturday night it meant that we had a large number of guests having breakfast at the same time. We are working on improving our breakfast service by delivering more training to the team to ensure that we are more consistent and able to cope with the busy Sunday morning rush.

Similarly with respect to parking we have only 38 spaces which are allocated on a first come first served basis, having over 100 rooms occupied can be a challenge and whilst a large number of guests will arrive by train there are times when every space is taken.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing