We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    480
    529
    268
    191
See reviews for
244
857
65
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel and have to say that we were very pleased the location is amazing right on the beach front and a level walk (about 20 mins) to the main town and pier area, we paid extra to upgrade to a sea view room and would recommend doing this well worth it especially when the weather is nice! The bed was huge and so comfy and the complimentary toiletries good quality which in my experience is unusual in these chain hotels a very good nights stay and I think we would use the hotel again if we were to return! It was ideally located of us as it was near enough to be fairly central but far away enough to avoid the chaos and tackiness of the pier area there are two reasons why we can't give 5 and they really didn't detract from our stay however having paid £180 for a night we were surprised to find that we have to
pay £18 to use their car park overnight we didn't have a choice and I'm sure that it must have said somewhere on their website however it was a surprise also worth noting is that the car parks (front and rear) are very very very tight if you have a small car bring that! Secondly the breakfast was ok but we both felt that it wasn't worth £13 charged we were not offered coffee and the Buffett selection although ok and not cause for complaint didn't really justify the cost, we will likely use this hotel again however we will skip breakfast and get a much better offering in one of the towns many cafés or bars that serve a hearty fry up for half the price.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room worth the additional cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Many thanks for your recent review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for the feedback concerning parking, when future guests are researching us before their stay information like this is great especially as parking is a challenge here in Brighton.

We do have limited parking available on a first come first served basis and it is chargable, and mini's are definately going to be easier to park!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure Brighton Seafront.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Had 2 night stay. First the good points, friendly reception staff, good location, clean rooms, comfy bed. That's where it ends... Rooms in need of modernisation, especially bathrooms, old radiators and double glazing, dark small rooms. Tea and coffee facilities in rooms basic, no biscuits. Catering was very poor, ran out of food all the time at breakfast, poor choices on offer, not what you would expect from a 4+ seafront hotel. We had dinner on two nights and it was bland, small portions and don't get me started on the sliver of white baguette we got in place of a bread roll. It all felt like a budget meal. So very disappointing, come on mercury you really need to up your game! Charging £18 per night to use their car park even when your a guest, what's that all about? Go around the corner and pay £25 for the whole weekend.. If you want budget stay in Brighton then it's fine, if your looking for luxury, look elsewhere!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay, I appreciate your balanced review and positive comments concerning the friendly staff, cleanliness and comfort of the new beds.

We are always working to improve and breakfast is currently an area which we are focusing on in terms of both offering and service.

We have an ongoing maintenance and improvement plan in place which will over time modernise the hotel however in the meantime we will continue to offer clean rooms in a great location with a friendly welcome and hope that some of the more old fashioned aspects of the hotel are seen as part of the charm, character and personality of a building which has looked over the Channel since 1864.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I won't bore you with the details of rude staff, hidden costs, bad atmosphere and poorly maintained decor and just say this - this is not a 4* hotel. It's not even 3. I paid a big price for a Saturday night away with my partner, hoping to impress as you do. And was left feeling embarrassed as I led her down to a 3rd floor box room with a view that consists of a mouldy wall and vent. Staff not interested in any grievances. Seriously - stay somewhere else whatever you do.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay and my apologies that your visit did not live up to your expectations.

Of our 116 rooms we have 16 available at a supplement which are superior/seaview. As a city center hotel due to the layout and age of this listed building the size and outlook of the rooms does vary.

We are always updating our hotel information on third party websites to ensure that there is clarity concerning other charges such as parking and Trip Advisor is a great tool to use for this also. I can see from past reviews that this is an area of concern for some guests hence our efforts to constantly update.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Holy crap!!!! £18.00 to park in their car park just for one night, complete rip off!! Breakfast staff could learn how to smile, it only takes a few useless muscles. TV a bit of a nightmare to select channels, it kept switching off and changing channel all by itself. Otherwise a medioca Hotel. WILL NOT RETURN!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daved j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank-you for your recent review. With respect to car parking we try to make it as clear as possible that we have limited car parking available on a first come first served basis. There is a cost of £18 and this is very competitively priced when compared to other hotels and NCP car parks in the city.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing