We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brighton weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brighton weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, it was in a good location with in walking distance of all attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our Privilege Room was very good.The breakfast was very good with lots of choice but we found dinner to be a bit limited although well presented. The hotel as a whole could do with a bit of an update and i find it frustrating when there are little things that could be done like the coir mat replacing and the front doors having a rub down and coat of varnish. The hotel decor is very plain but I loved the amazing staircase, the room decor is very practical but very clean, All in all I would recommend this hotel for a short stay in Brighton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Many thanks for the kind feedback following your recent visit to Brighton. I received a quote today for new matting in the entrance and my maintainance team are going to be working on sprucing up the revolving door in the next two weeks.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    466
    492
    248
    182
See reviews for
228
813
61
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here for one night for a getaway to Brighton. Check-in was quick with a lovely woman who was very efficient and friendly. We parked on site and we were even allowed to leave it there so we could walk around for the rest of the day after we'd checked out. The room was clean with plenty of space. The bathroom was also very clean, clever lighting and use of mirror made it look larger and more airy. A couple of things I really appreciated were the excellent shower (I hate it when there's no pressure and when it doesn't get hot enough) and a good powerful hairdryer. One very minor point: I would have thought a Mercure hotel would have had something like Twinings tea on the tea tray in the room as opposed to Tetley.

The breakfast buffet provided a good range of hot and cold food, as well as tea, coffee and fruit juice. One thing I have to say is that the service we received was excellent. All the staff made a point of wishing us a good morning/evening, regardless of whether they were a chambermaid or the hotel manager. The staff at breakfast were all very attentive.

The location is fantastic, within walking distance to the centre of Brighton and right on the sea front.

We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneT145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind feedback which will be shared with the team. I hope we can welcome you back Brighton again very soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Once again we chose to stay at this ideal location of a hotel in Brighton, reasonable price, only down fall is limited car parking but if you get there early and don't plan to use the car again you can usually squeeze into a space. The staff are very friendly and appear to have good memories of faces as they remembered us staying a couple of months ago. We had a big family room so lots of space, warm quiet ideal. Breakfast has plenty of choice but can get a bit hectic as buffet style and people can be pushy,, overall enjoyed our break away.Restaurant manager very efficient and helpful. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angied24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your break away again and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Daughter's wedding and reception yesterday was done in great style - a wide range of examples where the staff maintained a very high level of attentiveness and care. The food was well cooked and served with speed and detail care without any felling of being rushed. The five-course lunch was enjoyable and of a high standard.
The teamwork of the staff was maintained through the evening reception and a buffet of tasty treats provided a range of temptations.
A good choice for a relaxed and enjoyable celebration. The combination of good food and good service is hard to beat!

Room Tip: Sea front location, so sea views an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexGreatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positive review following the wedding of your daughter and new son in law. I was delighted that the day went well and you enjoyed the food. Your comments will be shared with the team and in particular our Head Chef Anthony.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

After a very bad experience at the Mercure London Kensington (never stay there!) I expected something similar bad, but what a change! The staff was very nice and helpful, the room was large, clean. The next time I come to Brighton I will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, I am very pleased that you had such a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Brighton in the future.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was the first time I have ever stayed in a Mercure, having previously stayed in the Novotel at Hong Hong airport, which was truly great. Mercures are also in the Accor group and are supposed to be a step up from Novotels (a bit like a Holiday Inn to a Crowne Plaza). I have to say I wasn’t overly impressed with this at all; it was undoubtedly not anything like as good as aforementioned Novotel (or indeed a Crown Plaza)

The outside of the hotel really needs a makeover; paint peeling off, rusty drainpipes spoiled what otherwise should have been a truly beautiful looking building.

The inside was also somewhat tired looking. Our room was ‘OK’ - nothing at all special. It was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We had a room towards the back of the hotel, looking into a sort of courtyard - it was very quiet. I also appreciated being able to open the windows - not all hotels allow you to do this.

Notable by its absence was the lack of a room safe, a minibar/fridge and a rack for placing your suitcase on. This is a 4 star hotel after all. However, there was free wifi albeit limited both in time and strength.

Parking was expensive at £18 per night, but I did note that parking in Brighton does seem to be quite expensive.

We only had breakfast in the hotel, and again this was very mediocre. Breakfast management left a lot to be desired; not only on one morning did we have to wait over 10 minutes for a table, but they kept running out of things such as fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages; all a bit frustrating. All was self service, but you could order other items. My wife ordered boiled eggs, but unfortunately after taking 15 minutes to arrive, they were still watery - hadn’t turned white. They weren’t even served in egg cups - but in dip dish pots! I accept on this morning, they were busy, but they must know that in advance and should make provision accordingly.

Overall, I was not impressed, and would not stay here again, despite it's excellent location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that you found the room to be comfortable and clean. Your feedback is invaluable to us in order that we can continue to improve in those areas where we did not fully satisfy.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked and prepaid a break here (again!) through Amazon and Central booking. When we arrived after a long journey we were told that our booking had not been received (later we determined that we had been booked into Swansea Mercure???). However the duty manager found us a room - albeit pretty small but very modern and nicely finished, at the back of the hotel, and the following day we were moved to a larger room at the front. The hotel still has the ridiculous main stairway but otherwise, it seems to have had a bit of a refurbishment. Despite great staff in the dining room/restaurant, the food was disappointing, both at dinner and breakfast, and there was a poor and limited selection, not particularly well-cooked.
On the plus - side the location is excellent and we may stay there again - purely for the convenience.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the front - great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank-you for leaving a review following your recent stay and I am delighted that you found it to be an improvement on your last visit in 2013. I appreciate your comments which we will use to learn from and strive to improve the overall experience.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing