We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel for a weekend in Brighton!

Parked right at the front of the hotel when we arrived for £18 and were pleased to hear we could leave it there even after check out so we could go for lunch and shopping before heading home on our last day.

Arrived early but room ready to check in. Friendly reception staff. We got a family room in a deal so for two of us this was very large with two windows and a double and single bed. Hotel is a bit old and "rickety" but this is normal for the seafront hotels in Brighton. Bathroom large, shower a little bit tight getting in and out as door opened inwards though! TV a bit on the slow side when responding to remote control commands and not very large. Peaceful nights sleep though, would definitely stay here again although bit of a walk to the pier side of Brighton but perfect for Preston st bars and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaSwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for your recent review and I am delighted that you had a great weekend in Brighton. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sofiah123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the third year in a row for a function. The hotel is being refurbished and they're doing a great job. Our room was spacious and decor was modern and sophisticated. Service was good and food was nice. Can be a little pricey but all the hotels along the sea front are.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauriann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Many thanks for your the kind feedback following your recent visit and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Through our ongoing improvements we have now finished the soft refurbishment of our Privilege rooms and the Ballroom. More works are planned following the summer and I hope that we can welcome you back again next year.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were lucky to receive a free upgrade (teachers took the cheap seats I guess) and got a lovely large room. Sensitively decorated with some original features. Some amazing huge sash windows with views out across the beach / sea. I didn't struggle with traffic noise but my husband did. The room was spotlessly clean. It was a bit strange that there was no room safe or minibar / fridge we did have a Expresso machine though !

Even though it wasn't particulary warm outside the room was baking and with no aircon it might be challenging come the summer months. Hope the have some heavier drapes or reflective curtains for those lovely big windows.

We didn't eat in the hotel but what food we saw going past in the bar looked very good.

A lovely stay with an excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review following your recent stay, your comments will be shared with the team and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend away. Convenient location and average comfort - clean and tidy.

Old hotel - very creaky stairs and floors. Also thin walls - could hear cleaners at 7am / 8am and also hear noise late at night and early in the morning.

Shower - pressure was weak. Warm water. As per previous posts - toilets weak flushing

Very stuffy - would leave the room and come back after 4-5 hours. Room was hot and suffocating (the heater was not on).

I'm usually a big fan of the Accor hotels - but would not come back to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay. We appreciate all guest feedback and will take all of your comments on board when planning future improvements.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is comparably nice. However, there was no hot (even not warm) water in the shower. And toilet was not flashing. I mentioned this at reception. Maybe they informed housekeeping but nothing happened in my room...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddi-Quecksilber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay, my apologies that you experienced difficulties with the shower however I am glad to say the valve on the individual shower was repaired.

I hope we can welcome to back to Brighton again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Keenan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £53 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing