We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,870 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel has a beautiful stair case and makes you feel you are staying somewhere very grand. However the rooms are in need of some redecoration and many parts of the hotel looked like they could do with a lick of paint. The rooms were basic and comfortable. They were very kind and provided child friendly bedding for our little one, which made them very happy. I feel it is very expensive for what it is but the staff were very polite and keen to help with any queries we had, and for this reason I would stay here again. The location is also fantastic, right next to the beach and 10 mins walk from the Pier and centre of town. 15 mins from the station! Best to ask for a sea-view room, if possible!

Room Tip: Ask for/book a room with a sea view if you want to be certain of a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gailywaily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Gailywaily2014,

The team and I would like to thank you for your feedback; it is always such a pleasure to receive this from our guests.

We pride ourselves in delivering first class service to all our guests and it was delighted to see that we delivered this yet again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

In a great location along the Brighton esplanade, we managed to get some last minute rooms for our family of two young children, parents and grand-parent. In a wonderful old beach front building, it is a bit tired around the edges, but very clean and the staff are very accommodating. It is just right for the price although the breakfast buffet is nothing to write home about. At the end of our trip we left a much-loved children's toy behind. The staff went out of their way to find it and post it back without any hassle.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HotelReviewerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

HotelReviewerSydney,

Let us thank you for providing us with your feedback. We were delighted to read that you has a relaxing stay with us.

The team and I are currently reviewing the breakfast buffet and our offerings and I would like to thank you for your feedback relating to this.

We are also delighted to note that the toy made its way safely back to your - rest assured he was well looked after while he was here!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel i the near future.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Godwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is in a good location on the sea On arrival it was obvious that the car park is not adequate enough to cater for the number of cars based upon the number of room and potential guests. (116 Rooms). As it was a bank holiday weekend in the UK, as you would expect, the hotel appeared tone fully booked.
The breakfast room has seating for approximately 30 to 40 persons Once this room is full it is suggested that you take a seat in the bar area where ether service you tea or coffee and then walk back to the breakfast room for self service breakfast resulting in you having to walk through the reception area with your breakfast. The room was small but clean, however, there was quite large step into the bathroom area (very small), and not at all helpful for the elderly or disabled.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcio35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Marcio35,

The team and I would like to thank you for your review.

The hotel does have limited car parking spaces and therefore it is based on a first come first served basis. If the car park is full then the team are always at hand to provide our guests with alternative parking arrangements located in and around the local area.

We thank you for your feedback.

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We enjoyed 4 nights here this week having booked a great deal through last minute.com secret hotels. Having looked at the reviews on here we didn't have high expectations but were pleasantly surprised by most aspects of our stay. The negative reviews say the hotel doesn't have air conditioning, the rooms are tired and the location is poor. OK, There's no air con, but it's a Victorian seaside hotel (I don't think the nearby Grand does either) We found the rooms well furnished and not at all tired and although a 15 minute walk from the central pier it was near both the Hilton and Grand, so we found it well located. There were small things that let it down (our towels weren't changed, but bizarrely hung up again, after leaving them as advised on the bath) but, at a great price we enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank IanMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

IanMoore,

The team and I would like to thank you for your recent review.

The welcome all guest feedback and I will be sure to share yours with the team as I know this will act as encouragement to ensure that we keep delivering the high levels of service that we are well known for.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Here again 2nd time this year we definitely love staying here and then having a weekend break in Brighton. We stay here at least twice a year so we can do the usual chill out and unwind. This time we stayed on a special offer deal which included dinner 1st night and the 2 nights bed and breakfast. Meal last night was very tasty well cooked, egg linguine with spinach roasted squash and walnuts yum!!!
Lovely to sit in the bar and watch the world go by. Only disappointment this time was the room was quite small compared to the other ones we have stayed in, room 350 otherwise lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 350 snug
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angied24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

angied24,

The team and I would like to thank you for your recent review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and we were delighted that your stay was equally as relaxing and enjoyable as the last.

Our menu which was launched back in June 2014 has been a great success and the linguine is also one of my favourites!

With both the bar and restaurant having views onto the sea and beach it does make both the ideal spot to people watch and enjoy a glass of wine whilst watching the world pass you by.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £53 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing