We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I'm writing this from our room on our final night at The Brighton Mercure. She's a grand old lady with oodles of character and charming oddities.
Very straightforward and efficient check in with smiling and attentive staff. Stayed in Rm 110 on the first floor overlooking the seafront. Pay the extra for a privilege room. It's well worth it. Hotel had noted that we were having a mini break to celebrate an anniversary. A bowl of fresh fruit and a welcome note were placed in our room prior to arrival. Very nice personal touch and much appreciated. Impressive large modern room with super-king bed and huge balcony overlooking the seafront. Two French doors open onto to the balcony with a large table and 2 comfortable seats. Very well maintained room and exceptionally comfortable. Quality bathroom too with good quality accessories. However, no fridge or safe in the room. A floor standing fan is provided to compensate for the absence of air conditioning. This was not a problem for our 4 day stay. Reception offered to secure valuables and the room temperature was very comfortable. Interesting bar and dining room. Not pretentious at all. In fact, very welcoming and very good value by Brighton standards. I'm sure this Old Dame will get a well deserved total makeover in time. For now, she performs well. Not "The Grand" but she doesn't pretend to be. Not a "lookie likey" chain either, nor does she doesn't pretend to be either. She's a safe comfortable hotel with smiling and efficient staff who make you feel welcome all the time...We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few quid for a sea facing privilege room... It is well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
PJHogan,

Myself and the team would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

The team and I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the service that you experienced and the sea views from your room. The sea view rooms are well worth booking for the small additional supplement that they require.

The hotel is a Grade Two Listed building with plenty of charm and myself and the team try to ensure that with every improvement that is made that we do not detract from her charm and beauty.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    480
    529
    267
    191
See reviews for
244
857
65
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Mercure Brighton requires a facelift its not in a bad location although a 15 to 20 min walk to the Lanes. The front of house is reasonably smart but once you get into the hotel apart from the Bathrooms which were up to standard the Bedrooms do need some work with some areas looking tired also ours was very small.
Staff were excellent and clearly well trained and our stay was overall fine I have downgraded to 3 as I do think the fabric needs attention.

Room Tip: some rooms are very small so check
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Martin B,

We thank you for your recent feedback.

The team and I were delighted to read that you provided you with our usual first class service during your stay with us.

I have noted your comments about the hotel decor and will act accordingly with the team.

I thank you for your feedback.

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The location of the hotel is great, right on the seafront and near to the attractions. The room we had was clean with a comfy bed but it is small. The decor is very dated and could do with a revamp as some of the walls and curtains are a little tired and dare i say dirty. The bathroom again small but fine for us. It did take about 10 minutes to actually get any hot water. The t.v is a little small as well for a 4 star. The one biggest negative is the staffing at reception, for a busy hotel having one person behind the next is really not a good sign. We were waiting in a very large queue at the end of our stay which made us late even though we had left plenty of time. The breakfast although we didn't have it seems very overpriced so my advice go elsewhere there are much cheaper options available. We did feel that maybe we were put in the less nice part of the hotel due to the fact we got a discounted price. The other part of the hotel seems a lot brighter and more nicely decorated and much cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
anonymous 1601,

The team and I thank you for your feedback.

The hotel is indeed in an ideal location within Brighton and only a short walk from all the major attractions.

I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you may have faced due to the television and shower; I will have my Maintenance Team investigate and act accordingly.

I thank you for your feedback.

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Nice Hotel at the coastline in hove, within walking distance of Brighton. Rooms had no air conditioning and parking fees were pretty high for only a few parking spots. Apart from that, enjoyed my stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hendriks S,

Many thanks for your recent review.

The hotel is indeed the ideal location for all the local attractions and borders onto the Hove area of the city.

The hotel does charge for car parking at £18.00 per car overnight and this is the cheapest parking within the Brighton and Hove area. The hotel does not reserve spaces and therefore all are based on first come, first served. If full, myself and the team can advise on alternative parking in and around the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We booked a two night stay through last minute. Com which was a good price for a cheap easy getaway. On arrival at 11.30 our room was ready to check in (great we thought) only to b greeted by a small hot room with a dirty stained duvet. This was reported and we left the hotel for 3 hours or more got back and the duvet hadnt been changed we then had to report it again and it shortly got changed! Hotel breakfast was nice although lots of weatherspoons in the area so go there instead!! Nice hotel for a quick nd easy stay

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Sarah C,

Many thanks for your recent online review.

The team and I were delighted that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location we booked a classic double which was nicely decorated and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We will be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Toni B,

The team and I would like to thank you for your recent online review following your recent stay here at the hotel.

The hotel is ideally located and only a short walk from all the must see attractions in Brighton.

We were delighted to read that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay and that the team assisted with any requirements that you has during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in December!

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Have stayed here before and really enjoyed it ,but this time wasn't so great.The room we had this time was quite small with an awful view of the side wall of the next hotel ,I know this isn't the hotels fault but wasn't the best.Plus side the room was very clean and there was a fan which we did use.Wanted to upgrade but at a cost of £120 for the two nights thought it was a it pricey .did offer to pay £60 as we didn't want the wine slippers etc but was told couldn't do.shame really as the room was there and available?
Parking is pricey at £18 a night but not the hotels fault limited spaces it's all about the location.Breakfast was nice but cold and slow to refill empty dishes also evening meal wasn't very hot .Shame as location is good and staff helpful in restaurant and reception.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jazzie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBrighton, Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Jazzie44,

The team and I thank you for your feedback.

As a returning guest you will know that the hotel has various room types available and something to suit everybody. Upon making your next booking with the hotel, please do get in touch with myself or one of the team and we will be more than happy to discuss these with you and allocate a room best suited to your requirements.

The Sea View Rooms are very popular here at the hotel and to guarantee can be arranged prior to arrival at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Ms Kuldeep Badesha
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing