We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Amazing Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Hove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Amazing Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I can not fault the amazing staff and the beautiful venue, yes a bit of updating and better showers needed but my god the most fabulous food!! Our reception room was decorated to an amazing beautiful level, Debbie the wedding co-ordinator is 5 star her attention to detail calm caring support both before and during our day guaranteed us a fabulous beautiful time and stay Thankyou

Room Tip: Ask nicely reception are very very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    135
    114
    75
    79
See reviews for
75
187
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We know Brighton well and have our favourite hotels so only stayed here as we were spending the weekend with two other couples who had already booked this hotel.
The place needs a major refurbishment. Our room, on the top floor, was small and the furniture was old, ugly and tatty. Most uninviting. The adjoining bathroom was spacious and clean but the fittings were old and the shower was an attachment hung on a hook over the bath. It was positioned in the wrong place and completely lacking in pressure so the water just trickled out.
In spite of turning it up, the radiator in the room didn't work - apart from the heated radiator in the bathroom there was no heating.so we woke in the night cold.
The bar was depressing, dark and dingy. What made it worse were the random dining tables set around the room that had not been set. We also thought that £7 for a sandwich (two slices of supermarket bread and ham) was a bit steep. We didn't bother with breakfast even with the discount offered when we checked in. (We went to Bill's!)
There was a breakdown in communication when the 'taxi for seven as soon as possible' we ordered turned out to be a minicab for four that arrived at 7pm.
None of these things were a huge problem, we were only there for one night, we received an apology for the taxi mix up and the cost of the sandwich was halved when we complained but it was so sad to see so little investment in the place. It could be amazing. I am not sure if it was anything to do with the owners but the Bentley sitting outside in the private drive seemed to indicate, rightly or wrongly, where the money is going.
Overall a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Nice hotel with free parking. Staff very pleasant. Room a bit dated but everything worked properly and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

i stayed at the hotel in a double room which was on the small side and dated furniture and fittings , had a noisy drunk guest above our bedroom and asking reception around 3 times over a hour the noise was discontinued this i would say did ruin our stay the flooring above was loose and made our light rattle although we enjoyed the spacious car park which is three would not return , the staff were friendly enough and in reception the day after i made my complaint were happy to either give us a room change if needed thankfully the guest above had booked out and no other guest were due so we stayed put the location is ideal for a nice walk into the city and there are great cafes restaurants all near so did not use the hotel , i would not return but would say its a cheap ok place to stay

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxcals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Courtlands has improved over the past years. Some of the rooms leave much to be desired, and many it seems are subject to creakly overhead floorboards, banging doors and revellers. Plumbing is a little erratic. The staff are courteaous and try their best.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I think the room I stayed in needs I some attention, the furniture is ugly and none of it matches.
The shower is ridiculous, a shower head that sits on top of the taps so I don't know how you're supposed to be able to wash yourself and hold the shower head at the same time? But also the water just dribbled out, not enough pressure to shower but took so long to fill a bath that the water was cold.
Two tiny UHT milks so I assume they only want you to have one drink!
Easily found a parking space and receptionist was friendly.
Would rather be given one password to put in for the wifi which your device can store rather than it keep logging out and having to keep putting a 8 digit username and 6 digit password each time I pick the laptop back up.
Finally, the breakfast price is too steep, use the cafe around the corner or Wetherspoons up the road.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottsjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

On th eplus side: Clean and tidy room, cheap, close to the venue I needed to go to and has its own parking

On the minus side: Poor tv reception (digital break up), tired room (brown stain below the water level of the toilet, overpainted glosswork, window frame on last legs, needs refurbishment not just redecorating). Insufficient uht milk tubs (4) with kettle (when will hotels learn? You need at least 2 and up to 4 of these piddly milk tubs for each cuppa). Cheap tasteless tea. Wardrobe too narrow for my coat hangers and clothes to fit in it. Towels too small.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weisenwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#25 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing