We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Courtlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I enjoyed very much as the location spot on, very clean everywhere, reception staff was very helpful to direct me to the handy car park which is a bonus to find parking in the area, nice cosmopolitan bars and buildings, Breakfast was good selection, we will recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I visit the North East regularly to see my godchildren so great to see some guests from that part of the country. It was a delight hosting you and many thanks for such positive feedback. Our reception staff, especially, are tickled pink. We really appreciate your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    135
    114
    75
    79
See reviews for
75
187
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, Thursday till Sunday 25th to 28th July. The staff were vary helpful but the building is very tired which is a shame because its in an excellent position. We had breakfast on the first morning but it was chaotic. We got there at approx 8.45 having been told it ended at 9.30. There was very little left.The lady in charge ran around finding us eggs and bacon and for some reason underdone toast. Other guests were having similar problems. We ate elsewhere after this. The hotel needs to sort out its rutted carpets. Someone will get hurt.No air-con so we had to open windows and slept little because of noisy gulls. The staff could not be faulted, attending to every need no matter how trivial. If you ever get round to finishing the revamp we will stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for a such a candid review - the hot weather is great but it has made the gulls especially vocal. Our staff are so pleased by your comments, in fact they are tickled pink

Sorry we let you down over breakfast which was very much a one off. Our focus remains on completing the extension while maintaining the rest of the property in good order

Renewed thanks for your custom and comments. Hopefully a visit from Bath will beckon again before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed for one night, I found the staff polite, friendly and helpful, breakfast good. Room clean but dated. No air conditioning so slept with the room window open which made the room cooler but you notice the noise of sea gulls. There is a car park. I will go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for such a succinct but powerful review. We greatly appreciate your custom and kind words and will look forward to your visiting again from Oxford before too long

Hopefully you will notice further improvements by that time though there is less that we can do about our vocal local seagulls!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

On arrival found the young lady receptionist very helpful and willing and in general the staff were very pleasant. On checking out however the lady behind the desk was unfriendly, indifferent and it would have been nice to have had a smile and a comment about our stay or even a "good bye" would have gone down quite well ! Our room which we chose because of a recommendation on Trip Advisor was a good choice as it was large, easily accessible and clean. It could have been improved with more furniture ,in particular a table for the kettle as the lead was too short to reach the point and we had to boil the kettle on the floor. There were lots of drawer and cupboard space which was nice. Parts of the hotel need renovating. For what we paid was poor value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esmeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We are delighted by the positive aspects of this review and appreciate the feedback left by this guest - overall the scores give us encouragement and as we have said before we liken the Courtlands to a grand Victorian lady. She has given so much to her guests over the years but wants to keep giving which is why we are so excited with the extension and our overall plans for the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Two of my sons and I stayed here on a short break to Brighton last Monday and Tuesday night. It looks nice from outside. On arrival there were flies in reception that did kind of make me wonder if we had done the right thing staying there. I questioned again my choice when the receptionist, who was on the phone totally ignored us. Now, I appreciate she was on the phone but a little smile would have gone down well.

We did eventually find our way to the room, it was tired looking but a good size room none the less. Warm however, and as it was on the ground floor overlooking the car park and didn't fancy leaving the windows open.

It was not too far from Brighton and the free car park facility was a good saving. I would go back, nice area.

Room Tip: There were three of us and we stayed in the family room which consisted of four single beds and a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FruityTutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We appreciate this review, thank you and glad that you enjoyed your visit from Lancashire. The superb weather is great but the heat does have a few draw backs

There is some good feedback here and we very much look forward to you and your family visiting again when, hopefully, you will notice some further improvements

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel recently and thought it to be a very tired, shabby seaside hotel which needed much money spent on it to bring it to an acceptable standard. The room was old and had a damp patch stain above the bed and certainly needed redecoration desperately.

The male staff were very polite and helpful, where as the breakfast duty female member was both obnoxious and rude.

I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly not stay here again if it was the last hotel in Brighton

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
On balance, an unhelpful review for all our stakeholders more so given the good value for money the Courtlands offers and its peerless location in Hove. There is not a week which goes by where beds, rooms and the common parts receive our care and attention which our many regular customers appreciate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff here are excellent, the public areas pretty good and the breakfast acceptable but the hotel is let down by poor standards of upkeep and maintenance. Carpets in corridors are badly rucked and could cause a trip - they should have been re-stretched years ago. Window frames are rotting and windows loose and rattling. Our bathroom had poor plumbing, loose and broken fittings, mould, dust, cracked tiles - the list goes on. Bed comfortable but the bedroom generally had seen better days with dust on lamps and doorframe, light bulb out, loose window, stained wall, etc. This could be a nice hotel but certainly not good value for money in its present condition. Badly in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnfieldPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
We appreciate the candour of this review and are pleased that your enjoyed many aspects of your stay

As you may have seen, a large extension is in course of being built and once this is complete we will be able to undertake a more comprehensive refurbishment of the older parts of the hotel. As a Victorian building ongoing maintenance is a labour of love and we have a clear program in place. Our housekeeping staff are committed to presenting the rooms to their very best and we are delighted you found the bed comfy

Hopefully you will see further improvements when you next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#25 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing