We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful room with chandelier.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed for three nights and got a really good deal. The first room we were given was fine but we discovered a problem with the shower and reported it on our way out next morning. When we returned we were told that the problem had not been solved so we were moved to another room. This room was fantastic. It was a family room and had a huge chandelier and a lovely sofa as well as a double bed and two singles in a side room. We were very pleased indeed. I think it is the mark of good management when a problem is dealt with so well. We were also very satisfied with the car park. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

What a super review to start the week with and thank you so much for visiting from Manchester

It was kind of you to acknowledge the efforts made to relocate you once we realised the shower needed a little more work than originally thought

Hopefully your travels will bring you back to the City before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks for your custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff were lovely, very friendly and obliging. Unfortunately the hotel and our room was a bit grotty and run-down. Very old furniture, chipped radiators, taps, sinks, ripped material on the lampshades, curtains etc. Walls were paper thin and we were woken up at 7.30 by the people in the room next to us who were (very noisly) checking out for what took over an hour for some inexplicable reason. Bathroom smelt like mildew. As I say, great staff but the whole hotel needs some serious money spending on it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for visiting from Scotland and for your feedback which is appreciated

The staff are of course delighted by your comments and we are working hard to further upgrade the hotel. Meanwhile, we strive to provide value for money with free parking and a complimentary and excellent guest WIFI

Hopefully we can see you again, when next you visit from "north of the border"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had an invitation to a wedding held at Sussex Cricket Ground. The Courtlands was the nearest and most reasonably priced hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was free parking behind the hotel which was a big bonus. The hotel is rather old fashioned but our room was spacious and well decorated. Rather a long and complicated walk through the corridors, up in a lift and down some stairs to get there though. Worth it in the end!
Would recommend if you need somewhere for Hove but a bit far from Brighton.

Room Tip: May need to get there early to ensure parking. Hotel were helpful with early check in - just had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

A great review, thank you and so pleased we could help add to the enjoyment of the wedding weekend. As you rightly say, Courtlands is well located and very near to the famous County Cricket Ground and the many amenities of Hove

With free parking and a super-fast complimentary WIFI Courtlands has plenty to offer and with our ongoing refurbishment program, we are keen to provide our patrons with even more

Hopefully you can visit again soon and meanwhile, renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

There were many issues with this overnight stay.
1. The room (117) was obviously one awaiting refurbishment. Decor was drab with awful curtains in bedroom. The nets in the bathroom were bloodstained and the shower head had to be partly unscrewed to fit in the holder and then leaked everywhere. Towels were clean but past their best and on the rough side. However room was warm, bed clean and comfortable.

2. Car park was free but not tarmacced...a little bit muddy in places.

3. Staff were reasonable if you spoke to them first. One was abrupt to the point of rudeness.

4. Dining room was dull,drab and boring. A little bit of quiet background music would have cheered the room up.

5. Breckie of smoked haddock and poached egg was well-cooked but a tad on the miniscule side.

6. Terms and conditions of booking were payment on departure but they took the full amount on booking. Fortunately it was only one night and not a week. Complaints were not addressed at the hotel reception although one receptionist offered a weak "sorry about that".

7. Overall it was fairly cheap but not very cheerful. A bit Fawlty Towers without the charisma of Basil !

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

This is the second attempt for this guest having had the first review removed, occasioned by its content. We have no idea why such a partisan stance has been adopted as this patron has acknowledged the hotel provided value for money. At no point was an alternative room requested and if some of the issues raised here had been highlighted at the time then direct action would have been taken. The "Fawlty Towers" reference to is both trite and meaningless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

loverly hotel friendly staff verery large rooms homely feeling close to all amunities and sea !!
easy to find hotel price is not to bad fore the area verey oldy worldy hotel !!
i will return again in the summer with my girl friend overall good hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 149shopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Super review and thank you so much for visiting from "Delia Smith country"! Really looking forward to seeing you back in the summer with your partner

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in this very clean and well equipped hotel . Hove is a nightmare to park but the Courtlands provides free parking round the back which is ample !!! Very nice staff who are willing to help with anything would definitely stay there again :)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

What a smashing review and thank you so much. Really looking forward to your next visit

We greatly appreciate your custom and our staff are over the moon

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was just a crash pad for the evening sat8th March, however I do not think £75 is cheap!!! This did not include breakfast, the room was very tired and in need of some tlc and cobwebs everywhere, although bedding clean and bed n pillows comfy, also nice fluffy towels, it is however a real trek into the main stretch which was where we wanted to be for the Sat evening, it took about half hour to walk down, on the Sunday we checked out around 10am and asked if we could leave car for an hour or so, was told there would be a charge for this as can only leave it til 11am, not very helpful at all, saying this the weather was amazing and we did not bother walking the trek into main stretch, instead walked round the corner to The Green Mango, WOW what a find,the best Thai we have eaten, we would not stay at The Courtlands again!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

This review is like the Curate's Egg - good in part. Most hotels in Brighton will not allow Saturday night only bookings so in this sense we were delighted the Courtlands was able to support you on what sounded like a delightful, impromptu decision to stay overnight

Our check out time is 11am [many hotels work to 10am] and given the premium on parking in Hove we do have to make a small charge if a guest wants to use the car park after they have officially 'left' the hotel. That is only fair on our other guests and of course during your stay, you we able to park free and enjoy a super fast complimentary WIFI which many of our guests see as providing real value for money

As you say there are some great restaurants both in the vicinity of the hotel and further into the City with great transport links should guests decide not to use their own car

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
597 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Brighton
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,668 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.7 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#24 of 43 in Brighton
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £53 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing