We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and shoddy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced and shoddy!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel hiked up its prices because of the marathon but nothing matched it. The staff were nice enough but that did not compensate for the room. The bath room was dirty and there wasn't even a proper shower. I thought gone were the day of holding the shower head with one hand and washing with the other. The room was a twin bed but the bathroom door was wafer thin and left nothing to the imagination. Very very poor

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are sorry you found aspects of your stay challenging but please rest assured there was no "hike up" in our tariff. We set our rates in line with the local market which remains highly competitive and of course, weekends in the City are always popular and for good reason. The Courtlands enjoys a great location, super-fast complimentary guest WIFI and free parking

The Marathon is one of the highlights of the year and we are delighted to play a part in supporting such a worthwhile event

Part and parcel of our ongoing refurbishments program is to enhance further the rooms and, where necessary, the en suite facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    136
    115
    75
    80
See reviews for
76
190
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Hotel really needs a refurb, it is very shabby for the price. The lady on reception in the afternoon was kind enough to change my room when I explained the one I was in was extremely noisy, I couldn't even read a book there was so much banging around outside. The second room was much quieter but then at one o clock in the morning the plumbing started making a horrific noise which went on until five o clock and just after that the pidgeons started running around above my head in the roof space.
The breakfast was not even average. And the tea was stewed, the waitress kindly got me some hot water in a tea pot and some tea bags but I'm not sure where the water came from as it was undrinkable.
I left this Hotel a day early as I couldn't bear another night or breakfast there, sorry but it really isn't very good. I couldn't afford to go to a new hotel, as I am not very rich so I had to cut my holiday short by one day. I did wonder why I was paying in advance, I certainly would not have paid for a second night or breakfast if I had been allowed to pay on checkout.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricky524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
This review doesn't make any sense nor can we identify with the patron concerned. We would have made every effort to find another room had these further concerns been raised and absolutely there were no issues reported with the breakfast by other guests. Nor is there an issue in paying in advance - most hotels operate advanced purchase schemes, which guarantee the accommodation and secure the finest rates

We have never made any bones about the ongoing refurbishment and improvements to the Courtlands and with the heating and water powered down overnight [for very obvious reasons], the narrative here is puzzling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and got a really good deal. The first room we were given was fine but we discovered a problem with the shower and reported it on our way out next morning. When we returned we were told that the problem had not been solved so we were moved to another room. This room was fantastic. It was a family room and had a huge chandelier and a lovely sofa as well as a double bed and two singles in a side room. We were very pleased indeed. I think it is the mark of good management when a problem is dealt with so well. We were also very satisfied with the car park. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M0n0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
What a super review to start the week with and thank you so much for visiting from Manchester

It was kind of you to acknowledge the efforts made to relocate you once we realised the shower needed a little more work than originally thought

Hopefully your travels will bring you back to the City before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The staff were lovely, very friendly and obliging. Unfortunately the hotel and our room was a bit grotty and run-down. Very old furniture, chipped radiators, taps, sinks, ripped material on the lampshades, curtains etc. Walls were paper thin and we were woken up at 7.30 by the people in the room next to us who were (very noisly) checking out for what took over an hour for some inexplicable reason. Bathroom smelt like mildew. As I say, great staff but the whole hotel needs some serious money spending on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for visiting from Scotland and for your feedback which is appreciated

The staff are of course delighted by your comments and we are working hard to further upgrade the hotel. Meanwhile, we strive to provide value for money with free parking and a complimentary and excellent guest WIFI

Hopefully we can see you again, when next you visit from "north of the border"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had an invitation to a wedding held at Sussex Cricket Ground. The Courtlands was the nearest and most reasonably priced hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was free parking behind the hotel which was a big bonus. The hotel is rather old fashioned but our room was spacious and well decorated. Rather a long and complicated walk through the corridors, up in a lift and down some stairs to get there though. Worth it in the end!
Would recommend if you need somewhere for Hove but a bit far from Brighton.

Room Tip: May need to get there early to ensure parking. Hotel were helpful with early check in - just had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
A great review, thank you and so pleased we could help add to the enjoyment of the wedding weekend. As you rightly say, Courtlands is well located and very near to the famous County Cricket Ground and the many amenities of Hove

With free parking and a super-fast complimentary WIFI Courtlands has plenty to offer and with our ongoing refurbishment program, we are keen to provide our patrons with even more

Hopefully you can visit again soon and meanwhile, renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

There were many issues with this overnight stay.
1. The room (117) was obviously one awaiting refurbishment. Decor was drab with awful curtains in bedroom. The nets in the bathroom were bloodstained and the shower head had to be partly unscrewed to fit in the holder and then leaked everywhere. Towels were clean but past their best and on the rough side. However room was warm, bed clean and comfortable.

2. Car park was free but not tarmacced...a little bit muddy in places.

3. Staff were reasonable if you spoke to them first. One was abrupt to the point of rudeness.

4. Dining room was dull,drab and boring. A little bit of quiet background music would have cheered the room up.

5. Breckie of smoked haddock and poached egg was well-cooked but a tad on the miniscule side.

6. Terms and conditions of booking were payment on departure but they took the full amount on booking. Fortunately it was only one night and not a week. Complaints were not addressed at the hotel reception although one receptionist offered a weak "sorry about that".

7. Overall it was fairly cheap but not very cheerful. A bit Fawlty Towers without the charisma of Basil !

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
This is the second attempt for this guest having had the first review removed, occasioned by its content. We have no idea why such a partisan stance has been adopted as this patron has acknowledged the hotel provided value for money. At no point was an alternative room requested and if some of the issues raised here had been highlighted at the time then direct action would have been taken. The "Fawlty Towers" reference to is both trite and meaningless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

loverly hotel friendly staff verery large rooms homely feeling close to all amunities and sea !!
easy to find hotel price is not to bad fore the area verey oldy worldy hotel !!
i will return again in the summer with my girl friend overall good hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 149shopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Super review and thank you so much for visiting from "Delia Smith country"! Really looking forward to seeing you back in the summer with your partner

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
1,282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,586 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing