We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a little tired and could do with a refresh but not so much as to impact on my stay

The reception staff were efficient but not particularly friendly.

My room was compact, dated but functional with a view of half completed building work

Breakfast was ok but the chef was unable to cook eggs (fried or poached) and my colleagues vegetarian breakfast was abysmal but service staff were very good.

Overall ok but would look to stop somewhere else next time

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Mbusiness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for this review and please contact our manager Nik when you are next visiting the City as we would like to try and restore your faith in the Hotel. Clearly you encountered some challenges for which we are sorry

Courtlands has a great deal to offer in terms of free parking and a great guest WIFI experience. We have a program in place to make further improvements and consider this to be a labour of love

Please accept our best wishes for the Easter break

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We (a family of four) stayed here for four nights in April. Having been a little concerned by some of the previous reviews we need not have worried and had a very agreeable stay. The hotel is situated in a quiet, leafy area of Hove and within a five minute walk of the beach. We walked several times into the centre of Brighton and it took no longer than half-an-hour each time - the weather was superb which certainly helped. Walikng via the beach front takes a little longer. Our room (a quadruple suite) was spacious with a decent sized wardrobe and bathroom. There was also plenty of storage space provided in terms of cupboards and drawers. Free car parking was a definite bonus and there always seemed to be plenty of space. Can't comment on the breakfast since we didnt have it but did notice that the restaurant appeared to be closed at least throughout the whole of our stay. Nights were quiet, beds comfortable. An indifferent bar service was about the only negative part of the whole experience, though as with the restaurant there really is no need to wine and dine on the premises with so much choice nearby. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Worth the three stars in my view and good value all round.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank happy_london_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We really appreciate this considered review. Hopefully your plans will allow you to visit again from London before too long

As you say, the Courtlands strives to provide value for money and is very well located. We offer a full restaurant service and dependent upon the number of guests in the hotel, use either the Richmond Suite or our ground floor facilities. Please accept my apologies if you found the bar service a little off-key. Our longstanding barman left recently so we are in training mode with his replacement

Renewed thanks for your custom and kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We turned up at the Hotel and all looked well , we were given a room towards the back of the Hotel . The room was very clean but the decor of the room was very dated and lacked any kind of wow factor at all and was nothing like the pictures on their web site. At a £135 a night i was looking for that little bit more then we got.
I did bring this up with the guy on the desk and was allowed to keep the room till Three instead of Mid day. I would like to spend more time in Brighton but would try another Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daw816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We appreciate your visiting us and are delighted that you would like to spend more time in our lovely City - Brighton & Hove has so much to offer and of course has the English Channel and South Downs on its doorstep

Clearly you felt there were some challenges with your stay but I am glad we were able to extend the check out time. Perhaps you will give us a further opportunity of looking after you when you next visit and please telephone the hotel direct and ask for Nik who will do his best to find you a lovely room over-looking The Drive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

£125 for the room (without breakfast) daylight robbery. I stayed for one night in this hotel, following a stag day in Brighton. I was appalled at the condition of the room on arrival. Cobwebs in the corners, paint peeling off the windowsills, windows would not close properly & stained toilet. The room was in need of a complete refurb. I did not bother complaining as it was only somewhere to lay my head for the night....:at least the bed appeared clean.
I overhead a couple in reception demanding a refund after being shown to their room! I don;t blame them my wife would have done the same!!
If you are going to run a shabby, dated establishment then I suggest it is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ange2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

This review is, I'm afraid, nonsense and the 'title' trite. The guest was under no obligation to stay and by his own admission did not raise his concerns so we were not given an opportunity of putting things right. Indeed had this gentleman been as unhappy as he is now suggesting, we would happily have recommended alternative accommodation. Furthermore we have no idea what he is talking about by saying he "overhead" a conversation

Our staff are rightly saddened by such a poor review when they work so hard. The Courtlands provides value for money by offering complimentary guest parking and a super-fast WIFI with its rates market driven

We take constructive guest reviews seriously which is why we endeavour to respond to each one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After reading negative reviews before we stayed , I was quite apprehensive about what we would expect but we were all pleasantly surprised! yes the decor was outdated but the rooms were very clean. clean linen and towels daily. rooms cleaned even though we only stayed 2 nights. Only a 5 min taxi ride to main shopping areas and bars and clubs. Good breakfast range in morning. It was perfect for my hen weekend !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank stampyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We are so pleased we were able to contribute to what sounded like a smashing hen weekend and thank you for choosing the Courtlands

Work is ongoing to improve further our room stock which will complement the free super-fast guest WIFI and parking

Hopefully you will be able to visit us again before too long and meanwhile, all the very best for the BIG DAY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel hiked up its prices because of the marathon but nothing matched it. The staff were nice enough but that did not compensate for the room. The bath room was dirty and there wasn't even a proper shower. I thought gone were the day of holding the shower head with one hand and washing with the other. The room was a twin bed but the bathroom door was wafer thin and left nothing to the imagination. Very very poor

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We are sorry you found aspects of your stay challenging but please rest assured there was no "hike up" in our tariff. We set our rates in line with the local market which remains highly competitive and of course, weekends in the City are always popular and for good reason. The Courtlands enjoys a great location, super-fast complimentary guest WIFI and free parking

The Marathon is one of the highlights of the year and we are delighted to play a part in supporting such a worthwhile event

Part and parcel of our ongoing refurbishments program is to enhance further the rooms and, where necessary, the en suite facilities

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Hotel really needs a refurb, it is very shabby for the price. The lady on reception in the afternoon was kind enough to change my room when I explained the one I was in was extremely noisy, I couldn't even read a book there was so much banging around outside. The second room was much quieter but then at one o clock in the morning the plumbing started making a horrific noise which went on until five o clock and just after that the pidgeons started running around above my head in the roof space.
The breakfast was not even average. And the tea was stewed, the waitress kindly got me some hot water in a tea pot and some tea bags but I'm not sure where the water came from as it was undrinkable.
I left this Hotel a day early as I couldn't bear another night or breakfast there, sorry but it really isn't very good. I couldn't afford to go to a new hotel, as I am not very rich so I had to cut my holiday short by one day. I did wonder why I was paying in advance, I certainly would not have paid for a second night or breakfast if I had been allowed to pay on checkout.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tricky524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

This review doesn't make any sense nor can we identify with the patron concerned. We would have made every effort to find another room had these further concerns been raised and absolutely there were no issues reported with the breakfast by other guests. Nor is there an issue in paying in advance - most hotels operate advanced purchase schemes, which guarantee the accommodation and secure the finest rates

We have never made any bones about the ongoing refurbishment and improvements to the Courtlands and with the heating and water powered down overnight [for very obvious reasons], the narrative here is puzzling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#15 of 43 in Brighton
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#37 of 43 in Brighton
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,637 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £54 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing