We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel in an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good hotel in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014


An imposing looking building with a grand entrance and small patio area out the front which caught the sun.
Our room was generously proportioned, much larger that seemed on website. Beautiful high ceilings and large bay windows. Decor generally good if a little bit tired. But importantly beds comfortable, bed linen clean and bathroom spotless.

We arrived 2 hours before check in time and having made our
selves known at reception were
allowed to leave the car in the private car park behind the hotel. The staff were equally obliging when it came to leaving the car there for several hours after we checked out. With no free parking within about a mile of the hotel inland of the sea front and expensive paid parking, the hotel's car park was a fantastic facility.

Excellent location-100m walk from Western Avenue Hove, the road one back from the sea front, which takes you straight into Brighton's
Churchill Square shopping centre. A lovely 15 minute walk past multitudes of cafes, pubs and interesting shops. Only 5 minutes to the sea front pm you can choose to walk into Brighton either route.
Plenty of buses on Western
Avenue which also take you into Brighton town centre in a matter of minutes.
And a lift, a bonus at the end of a day of walking!

Would recommend and will definitely return.

Clear directions on website. Found hotel with no problems.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roisin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
What a super review and just what the doctor ordered after a hectic but enjoyable Easter holiday for the hotel

Courtlands is very much the Grande Dame of The Drive and we were delighted you found so many positive aspects of your stay. Our staff are really pleased too so many thanks and for favouring us with your custom

Hopefully we can see you back from London in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    135
    115
    75
    80
See reviews for
76
190
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Firstly service was great, Peter is an absolute top guy as is the manager, not so much the owner who sat in the corner of the bar surrounded by paperwork treating the TV like his own so if you didn't like Bloomberg or the news while you were relaxing you were doomed, he needs an office not the bar! Food was good choice between bar food and a la carte, the rooms, single room was like a prison cell with a brick wall for a view and cracked paint in the bath! Very grubby, double rooms not bad quite comfortable shabby chic but not intentional! Damp on ceilings, rotten window frames! Think the owner should sell his Bentley and invest on a facelift...and redecorate the rooms! Overall ok stay staff excellent rooms average owner miserable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatboss73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We have requested removal or at least amendment of this review as we have no idea what this guest is talking about as there is no "owner" as described. The reference to a "Bentley" is also meaningless as it has nothing to do with us

While the comments regarding the staff and food are of course heartening, clearly this guest found aspects of their stay challenging. While moving towards completion of the hotel extension, we have an ongoing program in place to upgrade other aspects of the property and also strive to provide value for money with free guest parking and a fast guest WIFI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a little tired and could do with a refresh but not so much as to impact on my stay

The reception staff were efficient but not particularly friendly.

My room was compact, dated but functional with a view of half completed building work

Breakfast was ok but the chef was unable to cook eggs (fried or poached) and my colleagues vegetarian breakfast was abysmal but service staff were very good.

Overall ok but would look to stop somewhere else next time

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbusiness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for this review and please contact our manager Nik when you are next visiting the City as we would like to try and restore your faith in the Hotel. Clearly you encountered some challenges for which we are sorry

Courtlands has a great deal to offer in terms of free parking and a great guest WIFI experience. We have a program in place to make further improvements and consider this to be a labour of love

Please accept our best wishes for the Easter break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We (a family of four) stayed here for four nights in April. Having been a little concerned by some of the previous reviews we need not have worried and had a very agreeable stay. The hotel is situated in a quiet, leafy area of Hove and within a five minute walk of the beach. We walked several times into the centre of Brighton and it took no longer than half-an-hour each time - the weather was superb which certainly helped. Walikng via the beach front takes a little longer. Our room (a quadruple suite) was spacious with a decent sized wardrobe and bathroom. There was also plenty of storage space provided in terms of cupboards and drawers. Free car parking was a definite bonus and there always seemed to be plenty of space. Can't comment on the breakfast since we didnt have it but did notice that the restaurant appeared to be closed at least throughout the whole of our stay. Nights were quiet, beds comfortable. An indifferent bar service was about the only negative part of the whole experience, though as with the restaurant there really is no need to wine and dine on the premises with so much choice nearby. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Worth the three stars in my view and good value all round.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_london_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We really appreciate this considered review. Hopefully your plans will allow you to visit again from London before too long

As you say, the Courtlands strives to provide value for money and is very well located. We offer a full restaurant service and dependent upon the number of guests in the hotel, use either the Richmond Suite or our ground floor facilities. Please accept my apologies if you found the bar service a little off-key. Our longstanding barman left recently so we are in training mode with his replacement

Renewed thanks for your custom and kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We turned up at the Hotel and all looked well , we were given a room towards the back of the Hotel . The room was very clean but the decor of the room was very dated and lacked any kind of wow factor at all and was nothing like the pictures on their web site. At a £135 a night i was looking for that little bit more then we got.
I did bring this up with the guy on the desk and was allowed to keep the room till Three instead of Mid day. I would like to spend more time in Brighton but would try another Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daw816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We appreciate your visiting us and are delighted that you would like to spend more time in our lovely City - Brighton & Hove has so much to offer and of course has the English Channel and South Downs on its doorstep

Clearly you felt there were some challenges with your stay but I am glad we were able to extend the check out time. Perhaps you will give us a further opportunity of looking after you when you next visit and please telephone the hotel direct and ask for Nik who will do his best to find you a lovely room over-looking The Drive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

£125 for the room (without breakfast) daylight robbery. I stayed for one night in this hotel, following a stag day in Brighton. I was appalled at the condition of the room on arrival. Cobwebs in the corners, paint peeling off the windowsills, windows would not close properly & stained toilet. The room was in need of a complete refurb. I did not bother complaining as it was only somewhere to lay my head for the night....:at least the bed appeared clean.
I overhead a couple in reception demanding a refund after being shown to their room! I don;t blame them my wife would have done the same!!
If you are going to run a shabby, dated establishment then I suggest it is priced accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ange2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
This review is, I'm afraid, nonsense and the 'title' trite. The guest was under no obligation to stay and by his own admission did not raise his concerns so we were not given an opportunity of putting things right. Indeed had this gentleman been as unhappy as he is now suggesting, we would happily have recommended alternative accommodation. Furthermore we have no idea what he is talking about by saying he "overhead" a conversation

Our staff are rightly saddened by such a poor review when they work so hard. The Courtlands provides value for money by offering complimentary guest parking and a super-fast WIFI with its rates market driven

We take constructive guest reviews seriously which is why we endeavour to respond to each one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After reading negative reviews before we stayed , I was quite apprehensive about what we would expect but we were all pleasantly surprised! yes the decor was outdated but the rooms were very clean. clean linen and towels daily. rooms cleaned even though we only stayed 2 nights. Only a 5 min taxi ride to main shopping areas and bars and clubs. Good breakfast range in morning. It was perfect for my hen weekend !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stampyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We are so pleased we were able to contribute to what sounded like a smashing hen weekend and thank you for choosing the Courtlands

Work is ongoing to improve further our room stock which will complement the free super-fast guest WIFI and parking

Hopefully you will be able to visit us again before too long and meanwhile, all the very best for the BIG DAY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Princes Marine Hotel
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing