We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothings changed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“nothings changed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The last time we stayed here we had to move rooms because the shower head was facing the wall tiles and the only way you could get wet was to hold it, we had the same issues again ,i asked reception if we could move rooms and they said there were no other rooms available with a double beds so I asked for our money back as we were not happy, that seemed to work because they offered us a double room with a double bed in it!!!!!! This is a really tired hotel in need of improvements and we won't be going back. we normally stay at "The sea spray" in kemp town but they were fully booked, so overall for us the courtlands is coming off our list.

Room Tip: don't go there, try the "sea spray" in kemp town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
There is little we can say about this review and do not really understand the references to what we understand is a "boutique" property in Kemp Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    135
    115
    75
    80
See reviews for
76
190
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 days, not normally the type to review but in this occasion feel it'd be rude not to! So... The towels smelt of wet dog, so I had to dry myself with toilet paper. Two members of staff tried to enter my room at 11 in the evening saying "we can't go in, there's someone in here". The breakfast was terrible, my waitress was wearing pyjama bottoms and a blouse, half asleep and 10 minutes late. I don't think she had been to bed! Even the towels would have tasted good at this point. So disappointing :(

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jadolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We cannot identify with this review whatsoever and view it as apocryphal

Our laundry company are rightly up in arms given the diligence they show in serving the hotel and any guest not happy with the linen for whatever reason merely has to ask for replacements

There is no question of anyone trying to enter this patron's room and on occasion our chef will make their presence felt in the dining room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Room was warm, bathroom was clean and tidy. Our room had 4 single beds in, which all had mattress protectors on. Bedding clean and white. Fresh towels every day, can't comment on food as we never ate there. They had parking area around the back which worked out well, as there was 10 of us staying there. TV in room, and we were able to make tea, coffee in our room. We were not happy with one of our walls there, very mouldy, looked bad, we complained, and they gave us a few options, so it was sorted for us. There lift kept going wrong though, and I'm not able to do stairs well . But they did get it going every time for me

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tereena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positive review - it sounded as if you had a great weekend and please accept our apologies for the lift. They can be tricky things on occasion and while we have a great support company every once in a blue moon, like cars, the lift can misbehave

Courtlands has a great deal to offer as you kindly highlight and hopefully we can see you again before too long

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great location, just five minutes walk from Hove seafront. The onsite car park was an added bonus.
The twin room we stayed in had been recently refurbished and had comfortable beds with a nice bathroom. There were no noise issues from other adjacent rooms or the road outside.

The staff were polite and were trying hard, but levels of service were inconsistent and somewhat haphazard, particularly at breakfast, where the dining room was understaffed and we were left waiting for a considerable amount of time.

The bar and other communal areas of the hotel are very dated and could do with a refresh. We ate in the bar one evening and the bar menu was decent value and the food was tasty. One of the hotel managers seemed to be working through a stack of paperwork at one of the bar tables with the tv blaring (no office?) which was a bit off putting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ODGU9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and hopefully you can visit again before too long

The Courtlands has a great deal to offer and thank you for taking the time to write
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014


An imposing looking building with a grand entrance and small patio area out the front which caught the sun.
Our room was generously proportioned, much larger that seemed on website. Beautiful high ceilings and large bay windows. Decor generally good if a little bit tired. But importantly beds comfortable, bed linen clean and bathroom spotless.

We arrived 2 hours before check in time and having made our
selves known at reception were
allowed to leave the car in the private car park behind the hotel. The staff were equally obliging when it came to leaving the car there for several hours after we checked out. With no free parking within about a mile of the hotel inland of the sea front and expensive paid parking, the hotel's car park was a fantastic facility.

Excellent location-100m walk from Western Avenue Hove, the road one back from the sea front, which takes you straight into Brighton's
Churchill Square shopping centre. A lovely 15 minute walk past multitudes of cafes, pubs and interesting shops. Only 5 minutes to the sea front pm you can choose to walk into Brighton either route.
Plenty of buses on Western
Avenue which also take you into Brighton town centre in a matter of minutes.
And a lift, a bonus at the end of a day of walking!

Would recommend and will definitely return.

Clear directions on website. Found hotel with no problems.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roisin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
What a super review and just what the doctor ordered after a hectic but enjoyable Easter holiday for the hotel

Courtlands is very much the Grande Dame of The Drive and we were delighted you found so many positive aspects of your stay. Our staff are really pleased too so many thanks and for favouring us with your custom

Hopefully we can see you back from London in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Firstly service was great, Peter is an absolute top guy as is the manager, not so much the owner who sat in the corner of the bar surrounded by paperwork treating the TV like his own so if you didn't like Bloomberg or the news while you were relaxing you were doomed, he needs an office not the bar! Food was good choice between bar food and a la carte, the rooms, single room was like a prison cell with a brick wall for a view and cracked paint in the bath! Very grubby, double rooms not bad quite comfortable shabby chic but not intentional! Damp on ceilings, rotten window frames! Think the owner should sell his Bentley and invest on a facelift...and redecorate the rooms! Overall ok stay staff excellent rooms average owner miserable.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatboss73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
We have requested removal or at least amendment of this review as we have no idea what this guest is talking about as there is no "owner" as described. The reference to a "Bentley" is also meaningless as it has nothing to do with us

While the comments regarding the staff and food are of course heartening, clearly this guest found aspects of their stay challenging. While moving towards completion of the hotel extension, we have an ongoing program in place to upgrade other aspects of the property and also strive to provide value for money with free guest parking and a fast guest WIFI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is a little tired and could do with a refresh but not so much as to impact on my stay

The reception staff were efficient but not particularly friendly.

My room was compact, dated but functional with a view of half completed building work

Breakfast was ok but the chef was unable to cook eggs (fried or poached) and my colleagues vegetarian breakfast was abysmal but service staff were very good.

Overall ok but would look to stop somewhere else next time

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbusiness2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for this review and please contact our manager Nik when you are next visiting the City as we would like to try and restore your faith in the Hotel. Clearly you encountered some challenges for which we are sorry

Courtlands has a great deal to offer in terms of free parking and a great guest WIFI experience. We have a program in place to make further improvements and consider this to be a labour of love

Please accept our best wishes for the Easter break
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing