We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible terrible terrible! Worst night sleep in a long time- AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible terrible terrible! Worst night sleep in a long time- AVOID”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very poor value for money. Location seemed ok at first but soon discovered it is a long walk away from all the Brighton attractions, bars and restaurants.

I still have a bad back (a couple of days later) from the extremely uncomfortable nights sleep....on a mattress I wouldn't expect in a cheap hostel, let alone a supposedly £100+ per night hotel. Even the curtains were so thin they couldn't keep any sunlight out and so was woken by 6am! Surely these are simple things that a professional establishment can sort out very quickly....though looking at these reviews it seems they aren't in a great hurry to resolve them.

Would of expected an apology or even some gesture of goodwill for the inconvenience when I complained in the morning, however I was just greeted by a rude and uninterested receptionist who palmed me off with a "we have a 24/7 service where all problems would have been resolved"......though looking at the prior reviews I seriously doubt it!!!

I strongly recommend any potential future visitors to AVOID this place if at all possible. Stay somewhere else because there's plenty of other nice hotels in Brighton from the looks of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
This is linked to the previous 'review'. Both are disingenuous and it is a great shame that in the absence of a refund [for which they were never entitled] these so called "guests" have sought to record such nonsense. They came in from 'off the street' and if they were as unhappy as they suggest they could and should have left immediately. We would have been entirely accepting of such an outcome

Happily the vast majority of our customers are loyal, delightful guests who make it all worthwhile

The Courtlands may not always get things right first time, but our staff are hardworking and committed as are our plans to further enhance the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    135
    115
    75
    80
See reviews for
76
190
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would actually say this is the worst place I've stayed in, especially considering the price.

Looked this hotel up before we went and seemed to be an average price (£95- think we got this price because we turned up on the day and they weren't full, and after staying there it's clear why they weren't!!!!) and we wanted off street parking. When we checked in the room was bland and dated with broken furniture but we thought it was ok. Have to say there is not much space for parking and we were lucky to get the last spot. Yes the hotel is fairly close to the seafront, but then at least 30 minutes to the centre which was a real nuisance. We got back late to the room and started to realise it was worse that just looking old. As another review stated (wish I'd read that one before we went!!) the bed was so old all the springs had gone and we actually resorted to sleeping on the floor. There was a constant droning of some sort of AC unit or something outside the window which was muted by shutting the window but then made the room unbearably hot so either way we couldn't win. Once on the floor we finally got a couple of hours of sleep, until 6 am when the thin and unlined curtains (what sort of hotel does not have thick/dark/lined curtains!?) let in all the light and the room was as bright with the curtains open as it was without! We were so exhausted and aware of our drive home later and so tried to get a bit more sleep on the floor with our hands over our eyes.

When I complained to reception it was simply shrugged off that if we'd said during the night we would have been moved. No apology or compensation was offered at all, and what's more shocking is after reading more reviews it does not seem that this is a one off complaint about the hotel, so they must be aware of the issue and just leaving it for the next unsuspecting customer rather than fixing the problem- a very poor way to approach business.

The comments that the management has left on other reviews are laughable, and they sound ridiculous! The negatives certainly out weight any positives..or rather positive, which is just the car park and nothing else. I would go as far as to describe this place as a scam as I paid a lot of money in return for the very basics a hotel should provide- a decent night sleep, and this was not delivered on. What's more is this is clearly happening time and time again, and they're just fobbing off current customers and waiting for the next customer to come and be taken in.

From their website "We offer comfortable accommodation with style (this is certainly a lie! It was neither comfortable nor stylish!! Even my gran would not decorate her house like the courtlands!); each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture,(and I suppose that explains away the broken beds and furniture hah!) some contemporary with chic and minimal style"

Another thing to say is there is parking for 24 hours for around £24, which is worth considering as you can get a cheaper hotel (the courtlands really isn't even £50 a night though they charge at least double) of the same standard (at least you would get what you'd paid for, probably better on how shocking the courtlands is) and just park in a carpark, or pay a bit more and get a decent hotel, closer to the centre with on site parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 139Bev99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
These so called 'guests' were under no obligation to stay and if they were as unhappy as they are now suggesting then all they needed to do was say so and we would have made alternative arrangements

It always saddens us when a genuine guest has challenges during their stay and we will do our best to help in those cases

Regrettably the review is likely to give rise to further action as our promotional material gives a balanced view of the hotel and we play an active part in our local tourist community. Indeed, the title of their review [in capital letters] says far more about the author and their own situation than the Courtlands. It does them great dis-service as a result
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A 1 night stay cost £180 in a room which was worse than many student accommodation left us very unhappy.

Room was basic and the furniture was poor.

The mattress on the bed was so bad when we moved in the night the springs pinged.

Both of us had to take pain killers in the morning as our backs were so painfull.

I do not usually do reviews but am so unhappy and don't want another customer to make the mistake of thinking paying £180 would secure a rather nice room.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before booking or checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We were sorry to learn your stay was not without some challenges. However, we were not aware of a request to change your room. Had this been made, we would have done our level best to find you alternative accommodation

As with all hotels in the City, given the scale of the competition we face, our rates are driven by and reflect the market
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a mini break and concert at the brighton center. Lovely quirky hotel in a good location, a nice 20 min stroll along to the center. The room was reasonably priced for the Friday night (although the prices for the Saturday night were much higher but this seemed the same for all hotels we looked at in the area) room was spacious, clean and warm beds were comfy and en suite with bath and shower was also excellent. Only gripe was the miniature towels but this is common at most hotels I have stayed! The staff were friendly and helpful and we had free parking the night we stayed and we're able to purchase a reasonably priced permit for the next day to save moving the car into the town. Will definitely go back here and reccomend for a reasonably priced room in convenient for brighton center

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kimshads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for leaving such a positive review and highlighting the Courtlands attractions - while we still have work to do in terms of our ongoing refurbishment program and the extension to finish, equally the hotel is ideally located and as you say benefits from complimentary parking and a super-fast guest WIFI

Renewed thanks for your kind words and hopefully we can see you back from Wiltshire before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights whilst my husband underwent major surgery at a nearby hospital. A period property in a central but quiet location. Within walking distance of the seafront, shops, bars, and restaurants. Spacious ensuite room with ensuite marble and tile bathroom with period fittings.
The bed was comortable and the room was clean and well equiped. Breakfast was well prepared and plentifull. The staff were polite, helpfull and friendly. As an older female staying alone in an hotel I felt comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We were so touched by this review, more so given the reason for your visit. Suffice it to say we hope your husband makes a swift and full recovery

Hopefully we can welcome you both back under happier circumstances before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks and good wishes from everyone at Courtlands

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A group of friends and I arrived at the Courtlands for a one night getaway, having been impressed with it's location and availability at short notice (particularly as it was a bank holiday weekend). We were shown to the bar whilst we waited to check in; all the lights turned off, the hotel manager sat in the corner doing his books, with a single television showing Ben Hur. We sat and sipped our £3.20 glasses of coke, a little bewildered.

Me and 3 others were then shown to our room. 4 of us, sharing a room, for £280. It was in a basement of an adjoining building. With a distinct damp smell upon entering, the wallpaper was ripped in places and the beds made a lovely creaking sound.

After a great night out in Brighton, we came back to our expensive basement and slept. I was awoken by creaking floorboards from the people above us shuffling around. Then, at 6am, a fire alarm went off. I understand this isn't the fault of the hotel per se, but what followed was unbelievable.

As we approached the desk the next morning feeling slightly worse for wear and deprived of a good nights sleep, we found out that on top of the extortionate price, we were being charged a £50 fine for setting off the fire alarm. We, a group of friends who don't smoke and were sound asleep, were being fined for somehow setting off the fire alarm. Now, we'd had some pretty potent food that night, but I'm pretty sure methane does not set these alarms off.

We were first told that it was our room. They were insistent. The manager slapped his hand down and said he should have called the police. Then they changed it and said it was in our corridor. Ah! Then they said the night porter saw us smoking outside.

We left and didn't look back.

Brighton was great, the hotel was not. If you want to watch Ben Hur (or Dambusters which came on after), sip a £3.20 coke, sleep in a damp room and get threatened the next morning, this place should be top of your list. If not, save your money and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jwleggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We take our regulatory responsibilities seriously and especially were fire risks are concerned. All non-routine incidents of the alarm being sounded have to be investigated fully and appropriate action then taken

While the reviewer is right to highlight the hotel's great location, regrettably we cannot identify with the rest of their comments other than to say if £70 per head was the cost of a suite with its own street entrance on a busy bank holiday weekend, then this sounds like value for money
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the property for one night whilst in Brighton / Hove with friends. Firstly, bar and restaurant downstairs was a nice place to have a drink with classic leather button-back comfy sofas. Deco in the hotel lobby is from another generation but probably in keeping with the era of the property.

However, for the price,(circa £140 - Room Only), our room was certainly not value for money. It was situated towards the back of the property and, although relatively clean, was woefully tired looking. Walls were an industrial white colour, none of the very dated (and falling-apart) windows closed properly (meaning big gaps and lots of noise from outside). Additionally, there was scaffolding blocking one of the windows (which also didn't close/lock) meaning we didn't feel the room was particularly secure. Fixtures and fittings felt like they were from the 1970s - including the bed, (which was uncomfortable and noisy). Walls seemed very thin as we could hear all the conversations from the rooms around us. Re the bathroom, the toilet didn't feel like it was mounted properly to the floor / wall properly and the shower was very weak. There were also signs of damp in places.

Beside the rooms, one other thing to note was the car-park access is quite narrow (not a fault of the hotel - just a design restriction due to buildings on both side being quite close together). Once in the gravel car park (although free) there was limited space available so you might need to arrive early to guarantee a space. We did not use the WiFi so were unable to comment on this (although it was free).

Location wise, the hotel seems quite well-placed with some small shops, restaurants and cafes nearby, the beach a 5 minute stroll and the main Brighton streets are 5 minutes away in a taxi.

In conclusion, whilst it is appreciated that Brighton / Hove are not particularly cheap places to stay, from experience, there are much better establishments in the locality. If we had paid half of the room-rate we had paid, there would be less of an issue, especially with consideration to the condition of our specific room. (Maybe others were better - but it's impossible to know).

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M_Owen_UKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We were sorry to learn you found certain aspects of your stay challenging

We have not made any bones about the ongoing refurbishment works at Courtlands which, when complete, will ensure we can offer our customers even more for as you say the Hotel is ideally located for all the local amenities, the County Cricket Ground and only a short walk from the famous Hove Lawns. Central Brighton is nearby too and the Downs to the North

In a highly competitive marketplace, our rates are driven by that market and we strive to provide value for money
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#30 of 44 in Brighton
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
1,273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,573 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#35 of 44 in Brighton
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing