We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay and great customer service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I regularly travel to Brighton & Hove for business and during my last visit, I had a pleasant stay at the Courtlands. I unfortunately left my expensive watch in the room (which was an anniversary gift from my partner) and it wasnt until I was half way home, I realised it was missing from my wrist. After some initial panic, I called the hotel who confirmed they had the watch under safe keeping - they then arranged to send this via a courier (free of charge) to my work address the following day. Amazing service here, over and above what you'd expect from an independent hotel establishment. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andykickit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

The continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn and thank you so very much for both your patronage and these kind words

I was thrilled to read how our team were able to go that extra mile and provide the reassurance you needed after being parted from what is clearly a treasured possession

It goes without saying we are very much looking forward to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Met up with my girlfriends for my mate Chantelle's hen do in the City. Great night and so pleased I made the decision to stop over. The Courtlands was a good choice and the staff friendly. Room clean and airy and so what if it was a little gentrified - it worked for me

Breakfast was just what the doc ordered to compensate for the night before and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We really appreciated this review and what a fun way to spend your time in the City!

Courtlands has a certain charm and we were delighted we could help - hopefully the first of many trips. Sindo, our breakfast chef, completed 30 years service this Spring with the hotel and nothing makes him happier then a guest enjoying his hard work

Great to hear from you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Was lucky enough to be able to attend, last minute, to a mates house-warming here in Hove and again Courtlands was there for me and a great stay, as usual, which means comfy sleeping, nice parking for my motor and the same friendly if understated service by Nik and his team

I have previously stayed here when visiting Albion for their home games and great to visit in a slightly different context. A great weekend in the city with lots going on including the folks taking part in the annual World Naked Bike Ride event..........maybe next time

Thanks Courtlands for another good one

Room Tip: Having been here a few times there are a good range of rooms some modern, some traditional and of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We really enjoyed having you back and appreciate your kind words which have given the staff a much needed boost. Longstanding and loyal customers are the cornerstone of our business and we greatly appreciate your support and that of our other patrons

Hopefully we can see you visit again before the start of the next football season and here's to England and great success in the World Cup meanwhile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Very poor value for money. Location seemed ok at first but soon discovered it is a long walk away from all the Brighton attractions, bars and restaurants.

I still have a bad back (a couple of days later) from the extremely uncomfortable nights sleep....on a mattress I wouldn't expect in a cheap hostel, let alone a supposedly £100+ per night hotel. Even the curtains were so thin they couldn't keep any sunlight out and so was woken by 6am! Surely these are simple things that a professional establishment can sort out very quickly....though looking at these reviews it seems they aren't in a great hurry to resolve them.

Would of expected an apology or even some gesture of goodwill for the inconvenience when I complained in the morning, however I was just greeted by a rude and uninterested receptionist who palmed me off with a "we have a 24/7 service where all problems would have been resolved"......though looking at the prior reviews I seriously doubt it!!!

I strongly recommend any potential future visitors to AVOID this place if at all possible. Stay somewhere else because there's plenty of other nice hotels in Brighton from the looks of it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

This is linked to the previous 'review'. Both are disingenuous and it is a great shame that in the absence of a refund [for which they were never entitled] these so called "guests" have sought to record such nonsense. They came in from 'off the street' and if they were as unhappy as they suggest they could and should have left immediately. We would have been entirely accepting of such an outcome

Happily the vast majority of our customers are loyal, delightful guests who make it all worthwhile

The Courtlands may not always get things right first time, but our staff are hardworking and committed as are our plans to further enhance the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would actually say this is the worst place I've stayed in, especially considering the price.

Looked this hotel up before we went and seemed to be an average price (£95- think we got this price because we turned up on the day and they weren't full, and after staying there it's clear why they weren't!!!!) and we wanted off street parking. When we checked in the room was bland and dated with broken furniture but we thought it was ok. Have to say there is not much space for parking and we were lucky to get the last spot. Yes the hotel is fairly close to the seafront, but then at least 30 minutes to the centre which was a real nuisance. We got back late to the room and started to realise it was worse that just looking old. As another review stated (wish I'd read that one before we went!!) the bed was so old all the springs had gone and we actually resorted to sleeping on the floor. There was a constant droning of some sort of AC unit or something outside the window which was muted by shutting the window but then made the room unbearably hot so either way we couldn't win. Once on the floor we finally got a couple of hours of sleep, until 6 am when the thin and unlined curtains (what sort of hotel does not have thick/dark/lined curtains!?) let in all the light and the room was as bright with the curtains open as it was without! We were so exhausted and aware of our drive home later and so tried to get a bit more sleep on the floor with our hands over our eyes.

When I complained to reception it was simply shrugged off that if we'd said during the night we would have been moved. No apology or compensation was offered at all, and what's more shocking is after reading more reviews it does not seem that this is a one off complaint about the hotel, so they must be aware of the issue and just leaving it for the next unsuspecting customer rather than fixing the problem- a very poor way to approach business.

The comments that the management has left on other reviews are laughable, and they sound ridiculous! The negatives certainly out weight any positives..or rather positive, which is just the car park and nothing else. I would go as far as to describe this place as a scam as I paid a lot of money in return for the very basics a hotel should provide- a decent night sleep, and this was not delivered on. What's more is this is clearly happening time and time again, and they're just fobbing off current customers and waiting for the next customer to come and be taken in.

From their website "We offer comfortable accommodation with style (this is certainly a lie! It was neither comfortable nor stylish!! Even my gran would not decorate her house like the courtlands!); each of our sixty-six en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture,(and I suppose that explains away the broken beds and furniture hah!) some contemporary with chic and minimal style"

Another thing to say is there is parking for 24 hours for around £24, which is worth considering as you can get a cheaper hotel (the courtlands really isn't even £50 a night though they charge at least double) of the same standard (at least you would get what you'd paid for, probably better on how shocking the courtlands is) and just park in a carpark, or pay a bit more and get a decent hotel, closer to the centre with on site parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 139Bev99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

These so called 'guests' were under no obligation to stay and if they were as unhappy as they are now suggesting then all they needed to do was say so and we would have made alternative arrangements

It always saddens us when a genuine guest has challenges during their stay and we will do our best to help in those cases

Regrettably the review is likely to give rise to further action as our promotional material gives a balanced view of the hotel and we play an active part in our local tourist community. Indeed, the title of their review [in capital letters] says far more about the author and their own situation than the Courtlands. It does them great dis-service as a result

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A 1 night stay cost £180 in a room which was worse than many student accommodation left us very unhappy.

Room was basic and the furniture was poor.

The mattress on the bed was so bad when we moved in the night the springs pinged.

Both of us had to take pain killers in the morning as our backs were so painfull.

I do not usually do reviews but am so unhappy and don't want another customer to make the mistake of thinking paying £180 would secure a rather nice room.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before booking or checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We were sorry to learn your stay was not without some challenges. However, we were not aware of a request to change your room. Had this been made, we would have done our level best to find you alternative accommodation

As with all hotels in the City, given the scale of the competition we face, our rates are driven by and reflect the market

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night for a mini break and concert at the brighton center. Lovely quirky hotel in a good location, a nice 20 min stroll along to the center. The room was reasonably priced for the Friday night (although the prices for the Saturday night were much higher but this seemed the same for all hotels we looked at in the area) room was spacious, clean and warm beds were comfy and en suite with bath and shower was also excellent. Only gripe was the miniature towels but this is common at most hotels I have stayed! The staff were friendly and helpful and we had free parking the night we stayed and we're able to purchase a reasonably priced permit for the next day to save moving the car into the town. Will definitely go back here and reccomend for a reasonably priced room in convenient for brighton center

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank kimshads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for leaving such a positive review and highlighting the Courtlands attractions - while we still have work to do in terms of our ongoing refurbishment program and the extension to finish, equally the hotel is ideally located and as you say benefits from complimentary parking and a super-fast guest WIFI

Renewed thanks for your kind words and hopefully we can see you back from Wiltshire before too long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 43 in Brighton
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £53 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing