We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Character stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I like this hotel as the rooms have real character so much better than stopping in a chain hotel with zero character when you could be in any city. Its not perfect but it is enjoyable. For me the free parking in Brighton is a bonus and I have not had trouble parking on the three times I have stopped here although other reviews say there have been issues. The last time I stopped here the service at Breakfast was chaotic. This time it was well organised and the service good. I used a comparison site to find the best room price with free parking which compared well to a room and then extra costs of parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAnne253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
This was a really kind and thoughtful review and has delighted our new management team who have been working hard on a number of aspects, including the breakfast service

It is also kind of you to mention the importance of the free parking and that the Courtlands retains much character, rather like a Victorian lady of some standing

The continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn so we are very much looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    135
    115
    75
    80
See reviews for
76
189
29
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

They state car park available ....it's tiny and gets full quickly, you will have to pay to park on street. Poor customer service - Stood at reception for over 5 minutes while receptionist took a reservation over the phone, no eye contract or 'I won't keep you a minute.' Then the receptionist was so softly spoken I could hardly understand her. Why put a shy person with no interpersonal skills on reception?
Photo of Tony Blair in reception saying that he visited 14 years ago ...looks like it hasn't been decorated since.
Room 117 was so hot, no air con or fan so had to leave window open. Noise from traffic, seagulls and refuse collection disturbed sleep. Bed v uncomfortable, towels shabby and at night both taps ran hot water!
More over a subcontractors stop over than a nice B&B.
Good location, excellent waiting staff at breakfast, but those are the only 2 positive things. Felt like I was staying at Fawlty Towers, but without the humour.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Something of a mixed review and disheartening as a result. We have never made any bones about the car park being available on a first come, first served basis and it has a much larger capacity than is suggested in your comments, more so given our central Hove location

I think we all would agree the extreme heat of recent days was something of a mixed blessing and we were sorry to hear this impacted on the enjoyment of your stay

We always appreciate hearing from senior TripAdvisor contributors and thank you for choosing the Courtlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Greeted well and was really impressed with the two beds in an adjoining room for the boys.
Then it all changed, moved the sofa so the boys could watch the 14 inch TV. Mistake, I was sent downstairs by my wife to arrange a further clean. After an evening meal we got back to the room and two of the four side lamps were not working, a further trip downstairs to get two replacement bulbs. Reception did not have any so had to get some from an empty room. All good very helpful.
One of the boys woke up at 6am to use the toilet, not something to write about, apart from when I tried to turn a light on. No lights, all tripped out. Another contact with reception, I did not expect so early on! Breakfast, ablution then checkout. Breakfast great.
This is the reason I am actually writing anything as we did choose a budget hotel. However I do actually expect to be able to have a shower. Not in room 116 you cannot. Wrong shower fittings meant that I ended up offering to stand on the toilet so my wife could wash her hair. Now upset as the one thing you look forward too is a slightly better bath experience than home, we left the room no cleaner than before.
We did complain at the time but I guess you have little bargening power as we had to pay before we got the room key. We did get a sorry.
Just I will check everything as soon as I get in my room next time, but it will not be here.

Room Tip: Just check when you get in, I am sure that they will fix it if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
This is a disappointing overall score for it would appear there were a number of positive aspects to this guests stay in one of our family rooms. We would naturally reiterate the apologies made at the time for what were a number of niggling issues

The Courtlands is the subject of ongoing maintenance to further enhance our customers experience and is excellently located along the Drive, arguably Hove's best address. We can only think the customer was perhaps looking for a hotel nearer to the centre of Brighton and its many attractions, particularly with a family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our third visit within 8 months and we had another flawless experience. Room was clean, spacious an thankfully shaded from the sun for good part of the day. Maid service was impeccable and comparable to major budget chains. Thanks again and see you soon.

Room Tip: Contact hotel with your preferences and you could be lucky, as with all hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
What a stellar review and we love your no-nonsense approach. The continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn so please accept our heartfelt thanks

Hopefully trip four, from the West Country, will beckon shortly

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a last minute booking at what can only be described as a budget Hotel. The place was clean and the staff excellent, the hotel could do with a lot of TLC and a coat of paint would make a huge difference. Location was good away from all the noise and bustle, yet close enough to restaurants, bars etc;

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We appreciate your choosing Courtlands on your trip away from the West Country

Equally we are truly appreciative of your candid and no nonsense review, especially from such a prolific and thoughtful TripAdvisor contributor

We are under no allusions about the opportunity the hotel presents and, as well as the ongoing maintenance works, we now have a clear 'route-map' to complete the extension and further enhance the hotel. Meanwhile, and by way of example, we continue to invest with the current month seeing a massive effort in renewing mattresses and headboards - really important aspects of a comfortable stay

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

After reading some of the awful reviews on this site we were a little worried about what we would find but can honestly say that we were very satisfied with the hotel. We had room 303 (which has been mentioned by others unfavourably) and were perfectly happy with it. It was large with plenty of storage space. As for the seagulls we always find there are lots at the seaside!!!! The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and the breakfasts of a high standard. Being able to park the car in the hotel car park was one of the main reasons we booked the hotel. We would certainly go back again and have already recommended it to friends of ours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front obviously have a nicer view over the street but after all most people only use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We were truly humbled to read this review and thank you so much for your thoughtful and kind remarks. Nik and his team are ecstatic too

We are in no way complacent about making further improvements to the hotel and value more than anything genuine guest feedback, such as yours

Hopefully we can see you back from Wales before too long for the continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I booked the Courtlands Hotel for my parents for a two night stay to come and visit me. I booked the closest hotel, which was the Courtlands. First of all which I thought was a bit odd, they took a 15pound deposit from me to secure the room. I have never had this happen to me before in any hotel I have stayed at. Then when I when back to cancel the room as my parents couldn’t make it. I was told, they will take my 15 pounds but also have to charge me 70pounds on top of my 15 pounds to cancel the room. This was annoying, but ok If it there policy but the customer service I received was shocking. One receptionist Jullian, has he was explaining this policy to me was laughing whilst doing so. Also The other receptionist which I didn’t manage to get her name. (Slim with dark hair) didn’t say anything just grunted at me. She processed my card from the slip from the 15 pounds despot but she didn’t ask whether I wanted to use that card still, Nothing! they got handed a bit of paper that she had written cancelled onto it! Really not happy with the level of customer care. I will not be ever using this hotel in the future for family stays as I would not want to put my family in a place where they will not be looked after. My suggestion to anyone if your thinking about the Courtlands would be just Don’t. There are plenty of Hotels in Brighton and Hove. That you would be looked after properly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
The hotel's cancellation policy is clear and while we are very sorry this dear lady's parents were unable to visit, at all times the hotel behaved professionally and properly. Taking a deposit is standard practice in the industry and had the booking been cancelled 48 hours before arrival no further cost would have been incurred

While we can understand why this customer might be upset with her family's travel plans changing last minute, equally she did not stay. Our earnest wish is that we can host her parents at some point so that they can provide genuine feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing