We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Courtlands Hotel
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location but could be better”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Courtlands Hotel is based in large old Victorian houses linked together, so the rooms are all very different. We stayed here for two nights in July for our son’s wedding because the hotel was convenient for both the wedding ceremony and the reception. The attraction for us was the hotel’s car park which is very useful for a place like Brighton where parking is always difficult and expensive.
Our room on the second floor was just big enough; it had a well equipped bathroom but was let down by cracked floor tiles. Unfortunately it was facing the sun and was too hot and poorly ventilated. It was also over the car park and in the early morning we were disturbed by noise from people walking past.
The lounge and public rooms are quite well furnished and comfortable and give a better impression than our bedroom.
It seemed expensive but cheaper than most hotels in Brighton. We were asked for payment on arrival which is unusual.
Breakfast was good but the service was poor on Sunday morning (but was OK on Saturday).

Room Tip: Our room at the south end of the hotel was a long way from reception and too hot in July. Rooms at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your candid remarks - we always welcome the thoughts of Top TripAdvisor contributors. Hopefully you son's wedding was a great success and we were very pleased the Courtlands could play its part

Our ongoing maintenance and improvement program is very much a labour of love and we are making solid progress but, with a Victorian building, there is always more to be done

Your feedback on the breakfast service is appreciated too and we will look to fine tune this further

Renewed thanks for your custom and commentary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    136
    115
    75
    81
See reviews for
76
190
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodford Halse, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Nice place to stop great staff very helpful breakfast is nice had a twin room nice size peaceful at the back nice walk in to town lots of places to eat out when this way again will sure stay again the room was clean and every thing you could ask for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Stellar review! Thank you so very much

We have had some absolutely delightful guests over the last few weeks and the staff cannot wait to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere which was close enough to the sea front and good value so booked one of the family ooms.

It was great.

The room was very big (actually it was two adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom) which was perfect for us. It was very clean (my wife works for Holiday Inns so can spot when short cuts have been taken) and a beautiful
chandelier on the ceiling of the main bedroom made you feel you were staying in somewhere very grand indeed.
Free car parking was a bonus although on two evenings it was full but we were able to park on the main road and move the car into the car park in the morning (you need to do this before 9)

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were friendly and courteous and we would definitely book again when next in town.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
What a super review and thank you so much for visiting from Gloucestershire which is an unquestionably beautiful part of the country

We are really looking forward to see you again and thank you for highlighting the various positive aspects of your stay. The team at Courtlands try hard and while we may not always get things right first time in terms of our guests' expectations we will always do our best to make sure their stay is enjoyable

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great location, just 6 minutes walk from Hove seafront. We stayed here for two nights. We had a pleasant stay at the Courtlands. The room was very clean. The beds were comfortable and the usual tea,coffee making facilities with a small TV, hairdryer. The food here is absolutely fantastic. In general it is a bit expensive hotel for what it offers. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I appreciate there are many travel options for visiting the City so thank you for choosing the Courtlands and for your great review. Needless to say Chef Gregory is delighted by your kind feedback

Hopefully we can see you back, from across the border in Kent, very soon

Renewed thanks meanwhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here as part of a Hen gathering a few weeks back. Weather was glorious, and we enjoyed being in Hove, and walking in to Brighton. The location of the hotel is good, Hove is more upmarket, so at this hotel you pay for the location to bars and restaurants, with late licences and daytime peace and quiet. Car park is ok, it seemed to be big enough for quite a few cars. The hotel is very tired in all common parts with carpets lifting up, paintwork peeling etc. When I left home, I was really worried due to the TA reviews, but found the room clean and welcoming. The bar/reception staff were pleasant, but the hotel is lacking in many areas. I would choose to stay somewhere else next time. I'm scoring it an 'average' as the location is why you would pay £125 per night, for a room excluding breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RescuedVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We always like to hear from top Trip Advisor contributors and appreciate your feedback. As you say the Courtlands is perfectly located for the amenities of Hove while not being that far from Brighton's vibrant city centre. A winning combination

We have exciting plans for the Courtlands which include further improvements to the rooms and 'common parts' as well as completing the extension to the rear of the building. So plenty to keep us busy, in a good way, while at the same time undertaking all the usual maintenance issues that one encounters with a Victorian building of some standing

Hopefully you will be able to reconsider your decision to visit us again. Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I like this hotel as the rooms have real character so much better than stopping in a chain hotel with zero character when you could be in any city. Its not perfect but it is enjoyable. For me the free parking in Brighton is a bonus and I have not had trouble parking on the three times I have stopped here although other reviews say there have been issues. The last time I stopped here the service at Breakfast was chaotic. This time it was well organised and the service good. I used a comparison site to find the best room price with free parking which compared well to a room and then extra costs of parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAnne253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
This was a really kind and thoughtful review and has delighted our new management team who have been working hard on a number of aspects, including the breakfast service

It is also kind of you to mention the importance of the free parking and that the Courtlands retains much character, rather like a Victorian lady of some standing

The continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn so we are very much looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

They state car park available ....it's tiny and gets full quickly, you will have to pay to park on street. Poor customer service - Stood at reception for over 5 minutes while receptionist took a reservation over the phone, no eye contract or 'I won't keep you a minute.' Then the receptionist was so softly spoken I could hardly understand her. Why put a shy person with no interpersonal skills on reception?
Photo of Tony Blair in reception saying that he visited 14 years ago ...looks like it hasn't been decorated since.
Room 117 was so hot, no air con or fan so had to leave window open. Noise from traffic, seagulls and refuse collection disturbed sleep. Bed v uncomfortable, towels shabby and at night both taps ran hot water!
More over a subcontractors stop over than a nice B&B.
Good location, excellent waiting staff at breakfast, but those are the only 2 positive things. Felt like I was staying at Fawlty Towers, but without the humour.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Something of a mixed review and disheartening as a result. We have never made any bones about the car park being available on a first come, first served basis and it has a much larger capacity than is suggested in your comments, more so given our central Hove location

I think we all would agree the extreme heat of recent days was something of a mixed blessing and we were sorry to hear this impacted on the enjoyment of your stay

We always appreciate hearing from senior TripAdvisor contributors and thank you for choosing the Courtlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 43 in Brighton
572 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 43 in Brighton
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
599 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#23 of 43 in Brighton
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Courtlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Property: The Courtlands Hotel
Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing