We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic but functional”
Review of Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imperial
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean, basic but functional”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights over the weekend. The hotel is well located for Hove and the sea front, though a good walk from Brighton centre, the pier and The Lanes. The room was clean and tidy, if a little small. Rooms are in urgent need of modernisation. The shower was very poor, with very low water pressure. Price was expensive for what you get, though about average for Brighton. In general, dated rooms, overpriced for the quality, though clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Hall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We appreciate your visiting from Preston. As you say the Imperial enjoys a super location and in the context of the Brighton & Hove market offers value for money

Equally we are anxious to further improve what the Imperial can offer and have in place a program to achieve this aim over the coming months

Renewed thanks for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    200
    128
    74
    67
See reviews for
68
198
84
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Imperial is cheaper than nearby hotels, but it has a lift. My single en-suite room was big enough and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast at £7.95 was not notably cheap but, if you ordered freshly-cooked eggs (including Eggs Benedict), it was well up to standard. I enjoyed the orange segments.
The staff were mainly foreign but spoke reasonable English and were friendly and helpful.
Parking is a bit of a lottery, but I found a disabled parking space across the road from the hotel.
I found it a bit odd that there were so few other guests around (less than a dozen at breakfast with me). However, I would have booked another couple of nights in September except that the hotel is full on the nights I wanted.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ArbiterOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
A great review and many thanks. A shame we were booked in September but hopefully we can see you again before too long

You were a delightful guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were recently in Brighton for a friend's wedding, and stayed at the Imperial on his recommendation. Although the rooms are a little old fashioned, they are very comfortable with everything you need. The hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren, and room numbers are not always well signed, but the service was good. We had four rooms in the hotel, and one couple had low water pressure in the shower, but the others were all fine. The price was very reasonable, especially for Brighton, and it's in a great location near the beach. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
A great review and many thanks for taking the time to write and for your helpful comments

Hopefully the wedding was excellent and you had a good journey back to West Yorkshire

We will look forward to seeing you again before too long by which time you will see some further improvements. Meanwhile, renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I booked the Imperial for one night last minute since it was the only hotel with space offering a reasonable rate.

I was very happy with it, was perfectly adequate given the cost and what I was expecting. It was clean, and not too hot despite being a fairly warm day (having a reasonably sized window that opened fully helped - no child lock like you find on some hotels meaning you can only open the window a few centimetres). You could also just about see the sea front although it was a room on the side towards the back of the hotel.

I found the room quiet although I was out until 11pm and up early the next morning. I did notice however the doors do tend to bang closed rather loudly, even if you try to be careful, and the hallways floors also seem to creek a bit when you walk on them.

Staff were always friendly and helpful.

In terms of downsides, if I was being picky I might mention (as do other reviewers and the hotel has responded they are working on it) that although the room was clean, it was showing its age in term of a little peeling wallpaper and rotting window frame. Not sure if its too difficult on the upper floors but a tip I would give the hotel for improvement would be to clean the windows (although you do not really see out with the netting anyway). The shower was the type connected to bath taps and was fine but not as powerful as some others I have seen. The TV did seem a bit unreliable with "no signal" randomly popping up on certain channels although with the hills I would suspect it might be a widespread issue in Brighton.

Overall however I was happy with it since I was not there to critique the decor, or watch TV. May come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nstech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
This was a well balanced review thank you and is much appreciated as a result. We definitely want to see you again and will take to heart your suggestions. Keeping the windows clean on the upper floors, especially, is something of a mission so close to the sea but we will have a chat with our longstanding window cleaner

Renewed thanks for your custom and kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I am so pleased I decided to stay at the imperial this time round . It's in Hove which is beautiful , chilled and clean . Like the hotel , a very nice place to stay . The service was spot on , the rooms very clean and the ambience perfect . You are greeted with a personal smile from the receptionist . Dilyana was very very cheerful , chatty and helpful . When I read bad reviews about hotels I believe that it's usually a personal thing so guess the hotels bare the brunt. If you stay in hove stay at the imperial . Close to the sea and heartland of tranquility .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faithless13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
This really was a top notch review and thank you so much, more so coming from a senior reviewer. Dilyana is over the moon and so is the Imperial

We know there is always scope to do even better but it is thoughtful and kind words like this that raises the bar for our staff in a good way

Hopefully we can see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Imperial is in fact in Hove rather than Brighton but this makes no practical difference. It is 5 to 10 minutes from Brighton station by cab, 20 - 25 minutes walk from attractions in the centre of Brighton and about 15 mins walk from the Hove Museum and Art Gallery. Church Road, a block to the North straight up First Avenue (where the hotel is located) contains numerous restaurants and shops, including a Tesco (supermarket) Superstore within 15 mins walk. The beach is less than 5 minutes walk to the South.

The furniture and decor are not modern and the passageways idiosyncratic but these features didn't bother us. We stayed in a twin room. The bedroom area was spacious but the bathroom was quite cramped. In addition to a toilet and basin, this contained a bath with shower attachment, i.e. there was no shower cubicle, characteristic of older hotels. Water temperature and pressure were good.

The beds were comfortable but the soundproofing of the ceiling was poor and so unfortunately we were disturbed late at night by guests returning to their room on the floor above.

Our room was not air-conditioned but this did not appear to be an issue, despite the outside temperature being particularly warm.

The English Breakfast was what one would expect. The coffee was particularly good.

We found the staff helpful and reasonably friendly.

We did not have an opportunity to spend much time comparing prices but what we paid did not seem unreasonable.

All in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG_7_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
A really thoughtful, well balanced review which has gone down very well with our staff so many thanks

Hopefully you can join us from London again before too long

Renewed thanks for your kindness and valued custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, I got what I paid for and needed,
The room was clean, it had all the things you need in a hotel, After I went out I came back to the clean room, fresh towels, freshly made bed, I really liked it, The ladies on Reception were always friendly.
The beach is 2 minutes away, Brighton is a mile walk away, but who cares, it's a beautiful walk along the seafront, I love Hove, it's relaxing, the beach area is quieter. I personally would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci_0570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
A top quality review which has lit up the hotel as good as any summer day so heartfelt thanks. The staff are delighted too and are looking forward to seeing you back from Berkshire before very long

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Property: Imperial
Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing