We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at good location!”
Review of Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stay at good location!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel just one night but we found it very good. The bar and reception staff were really nice and helpful. Our room was like a small studio flat with sofa and chairs. It was really spacious, clean and comfortable. Enough mirrors and utilities. Bathroom was nice and clean. We stayed in first floor double room next to the lift and stairs but it didn't affect to our sleep quality.
Only downside was the early check out at 11 and the breakfast finishing 10:30. We ended up having a lovely breakfast on the beach :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eeyore32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
What a super review and many thanks for visiting us. Many hotels have a check out time of 10am so we have tried to be fair by aiming at 11am. Even so a late breakfast on the beach sounds delightful

The Imperial strives to provide value for money and we appreciate your kind words

Hopefully we can see you back from Beds before too long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    195
    124
    74
    67
See reviews for
66
195
82
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Imperial over Easter week 2014. Room was fine, breakfast buffet was fine, and we found the staff helpful and easy to talk to.

Our only gripe, was that there was scaffolding all over the front of the hotel that blocked our sea view. We weren't offered any sort of discount, but then again we never asked. As the room was pre paid, I suppose it would have been difficult.

Other than that, all was good. Parking was 7 quid a day on the front of the hotel which is fairly cheap for Brighton. The best thing about the place is its location for eating out. You are quite literally 5 minutes walk from a selection of at least 10 different restaurants all on the same street. Chinese, Indian, Mexican, Thai, Persian. You name it, its there in Hove.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michaeljcox24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
We always relish hearing from senior reviewers so thank you for writing and for your kind remarks

As you rightly say, the front of the hotel is scaffolded as we renovate the entire exterior before moving inside to make further enhancements. This represents a substantial investment in the Hotel which is great news for our patrons. Unfortunately, there is never a good time to do this type of work which does really have to be in warmer weather

The Imperial has a great deal to offer and thank you for highlighting a number of her good points

Hopefully we can see you again soon and great you enjoyed Easter so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just thought I'd drop a line to let you know that a room at this Hotel was secured for us by a third party.
We found it very pleasant and most of all peaceful and surprisingly quiet even though it's proximity to the main town.
Margarita on the front desk was the first point of contact and was extremely helpful/knowledgable especially with regards to on street parking and also with dining out in the area.
I am happy to recommend this Hotel to anyone and we will definitely revisit.
Mark

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for such a warm review. Needless to say Margarita is over the moon and really appreciates your kind words

The Imperial has a great deal to offer in terms of its location and providing value for money and hopefully we can see you back before too long. You should notice some really big improvements when you next visit given our exciting plans for the property in 2014 and the work already in train

Renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

if you looked closely you can see things are neglected and on the cheap, bed was so uncomfortable and did wake up scratching with some bites on me, breakfast was ok (except for the expired cereal) - if you on a budget maybe it will do, I wouldn't revisit this establishment

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
This is a disappointing review and to be crystal clear we do not have any food or other hygiene related issues here at Imperial. We enjoy a 5/5 Food Standards Rating and take our responsibilities very seriously and have a superb Housekeeping team

Imperial does however provide value for money - we offer fibre fast guest WIFI which is complimentary and are now in the midst of an extensive refurbishment program that has caught the imagination of the many of our guests, our staff and the local community
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was working in Hove and found a single room here at a very cheap rate. I was expecting much but was very pleasantly surprised. The place could do with a little spruce up but that didn't matter at all. It was clean and comfy, my room was more than adequate with a good shower. It was perfectly located five minutes walk from my office and a stone's throw to the sea front. It was an excellent spot to explore the area and I found some very nice pubs and cafes. It was a decent place to stay and I wouldn't hesitate to come back again.

Room Tip: Single room for lone traveller did the job nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowy_ajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
What a super, well-balanced review and thank you so much for visiting us from Bristol

The Imperial aims to provide value for money and we are investing heavily in the fabric of the building to improve further our guests' enjoyment

As the Grande Dame of First Avenue the Imperial has much to offer and hopefully we can see you back before too long. Renewed thank menawhile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We popped in at about 11am but were unable to check in but the reception did take our bag for us until we were able to go back later on. We arrived back approx 8.30pm and sent to room 410. Small room with a small bathroom. Stray hairs on bathroom floor and a few in bath. And no hot water in the sink? Bedroom only had one bedside table (probably due to room size). The very dated wallpaper had had a few touch ups around the room but with blue paint? I was going to go down to reception to request a room change but the Husband was already in bed! The mattress was extremely worn or cheap and I suffered with my back the next day. I cannot understand how this hotel can charge £115 per night (without breakfast may I add) for this type of accommodation. It should have been charged at half the price at most. Left feeling extremely disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boonsbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We were sorry to learn your stay was not without some challenges and if you had mentioned the matter we would have tried to find another room for you, though we were heavily booked

The room is a compact double but enjoys a great location on our top floor and is very light as a result. Sadly the second bedside cabinet suffered damage recently and hence this was away being repaired. Please accept our apologies this was not highlighted when you checked in

Our Housekeeping staff take their responsibilities seriously and all rooms are quality checked before new arrivals

The Imperial strives to provide value for money and as you may have seen is undergoing extensive external refurbishment as part of our ongoing program. We also offer a super-fast complimentary guest WIFI for our guests to enjoy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We chose the Imperial predominantly for it's price - We stayed on a Friday evening and it was half the price of the hotels closer to the pier and local amenities but with the beach just over the road. If you are looking for value for money and willing to be a little walk (or short taxi ride) from the main attractions this is a good hotel for you.

We stayed on the top floor and thankfully were away from the lift. When making a reservation I would recommend requesting a room away from the lift as we could tell these would be disturbing by foot traffic and the lift noise. The floorboards do creak a bit and the walls are thin HOWEVER this is an old building so be realistic in your expectations!

The room was well appointed with all the facilities you would need/expect. The bed was very comfortable and we slept wonderfully. The bathroom was clean and the shower was amazing! Great water pressure! We had some issues with the TV which was disappointing (we wanted to have the news in the background whilst getting ready to go out and before bed), it kept jumping/freezing and appeared to be an issue with the TV and not signal. There were also a few cracked tiles in the bathroom, the wallpaper looked dingy and on the windowsill the paint was flaky. None of these impacted our stay but I highlight them in the interest of providing a balanced review.

I also disagree with previous reviews about being misinformed about parking. We arrived at 5 in the evening and the receptionist was very helpful recommending we instead park in a pay and display bay and pay for 3 hours parking (£1 per hour) rather than purchase the permit (£6) as after 8pm (when the pay and display expires) the parking is free until 9am the following morning. She also explained what to do if we wanted a permit for the following day and where we could/couldn't park and there was a sign on the check in desk that also detailed this.

We didn't eat or drink here so cannot comment on that but the most important question is: Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 412. As it was on the top floor it was free from disturbance from upper floors bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We loved reading this review and thank you so much for your kind remarks and for visiting from Coventry, which is also a great city

Thanks too for your mentioning the TV which we'll look at. The entire outside of the building it to be decorated this year which will make a huge difference and we are excited about the direction the Imperial is moving in

Hopefully we can welcome you back before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
801 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
1,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Property: Imperial
Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing