We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired hotel undergoing some restoration”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Midsomer Norton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“tired hotel undergoing some restoration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel we could't work out where the front door was. The building was covered in scaffolding and looked very uninviting.

We were in a top attic room which would be ok but it was very hot and the ceiling height was restricted. The window was rotten right through and hadnt had a coat of paint for years and years but that was probably going to be part of the re-decoration that is going on at the moment.

The landing suffered from squeaky floorboard syndrome which was loud at night.

On the plus side the staff were kind and let us put our push bikes in our room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We always value the commentary of senior Trip Advisor reviewers and really your remarks have hit the nail on the head which is why we are spending perhaps £200k on renovating the hotel, starting with the external aspects. Our attention will then switch to making the interior even better though as the building dates back to the Victorian age there are limits to what we can do and indeed would wish to do

In thanking you for your kind remarks about our staff, please know that we take the matters you have raised very seriously
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    186
    119
    72
    65
See reviews for
62
190
78
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We only stayed the one night last weekend. There was scaffolding over all of the outside and made the view of the sea from the room a lot more less enjoyable which is a shame. The room is definitely in need of updating.
The shower hose leaked and didn't really stay up so had to resort to having a bath.On the plus side the bed felt really fresh and clean, was large and comfy.
Finally, it was a lot of money for just the one night and don't think it was worth that price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
In thanking you for your review, we were sorry you found some challenges with your stay

The scaffolding is a 'necessary evil' in terms of pushing forward with our renovation program and we are working with our builders to see it removed as quickly as possible. We can then turn our attention to making further improvements to the internal aspects of this grand building

Imperial is one of the few hotels to offer one night only accommodation in the City during peak periods and, as with all hotels in the locale, our rates are market driven

I appreciate there are many travel options when visiting the city so thank you for choosing us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We only stayed the one night. There was scaffolding over all of the outside which I can understand is necessary. The room definitely needs updating but it didn't feel very clean. The carpet hadn't been hoovered, the taps in the bathroom were really mucky and there were patches of mould in the shower..it wouldn't take much to clean that up. The shower hose leaked. On the plus side the bed felt really fresh and clean, was large and very comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was very good. Only stayed the night, didn't have breakfast but felt it was too expensive for just that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannejoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
In thanking you for leaving a review I am disheartened you found some challenges with your stay and am sorry you did not feel able to bring your discontent to our notice as we would have done our best to make things better

As you have acknowledged the Imperial is in the throes of a major and positive refurbishment and your comments here are appreciated. Please also know these matters are taken very seriously

Hopefully you will be able to reconsider your decision to stay with us again when you next visit from High Wycombe and please contact our manager, Daina, directly when you are making your travel plans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at this great hotel.

Reception staff were lovely and welcoming.

Room was large with high ceilings. I said "Blimey Doris they've given us a suite!". The room was clean, the sheets were high quality and there was a flower made of towels left on the bed. The ensuite bathroom was large and clean, the bath was large the shower powerful.

TV in room had freeview and had good picture quality and sound quality was decent size.

We went to a concert at the AMEX and found the hotel location a fair walk to the station but along the way there were devent bars which were busy and the atmosphere was great.

Breakfast was great. Sausages spot on, good quality and very tasty. Toast was a bit dried out so not a thumbs up on the toadt im afraid. Bacon also a bit dry but we were on a late sitting and although a bit dry it was of good quality. The scrambled egg was great. Beans, well they were beans but good beans all the same. Coffee machine gave good strong coffee. Staff at breakfast were polite, helpfull and well turned out. Most impressively the breakfast was served until 1030 which was a welcome luxory.

Checking out was simple and staff again were polite and helpful.

We will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
What a stellar review and thank you so much. I suspect the concert at the AMEX Stadium was Mr Rod Stewart and if so what a fun way to celebrate and what a great performer

In thanking you for choosing the Imperial, we truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Having read some negative reviews on here we were a bit dubious. But on arrival we were greeted with a very friendly and helpful reception. In fact all the staff were extremely nice. Room was large, comfortable and clean. Although there was scaffolding there at the time it didn't distract from a sea view. The location was ideal, a 20 minute walk to the pier and in a peaceful location and a two minute walk across hove lawns to the beach. Great value for money and we'll definitely go back.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phillumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
We were humbled to have received such thoughtful and delightful feedback so thank you so very much. There are many travel options when visiting our wonderful City so we greatly appreciate your choosing the Imperial and for such a stellar review

Hopefully we can see you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Three of us stayed here for two days , beds were very comfy ,rooms very clean . The hotel does need work done on it , hence the scaffolding , my bathroom window needed replacing ,and my room door seem to have quite a big gap at the bottom . All in all good value for money .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for visiting from Sufflok and for leaving such a positive review, which is much appreciated

We have exciting plans for the Hotel and are determined to recapture some of her Victorian splendour as she is, after all, the Grande Dame of First Avenue. As an old building the floors are not always level but you make a fair point with the doors which has our attention

The Imperial strives to provide value for money and we are looking forward to seeing you again and meanwhile renewed thanks for your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have just spent a long week-end in Brighton - weather was variable, with blazing sunshine on the Sunday and incessant rain the rest of the time. My wife has been off work in considerable pain for several weeks with a trapped nerve and this was her first expedition out for a while. Arrived to find the hotel surrounded by scaffolding, which seemed to be quite a common state of affairs in the surrounding area. Was obliged, as seems to be normal in these parts, resident permit tickets at the not inconsiderable sum of £7 per day - I had been warned of this in advance and had read a fair bit of literature from locals and visitors to the area condemning the Brighton Council's extortionate charges for parking - as much as £23 a day in some hotels. Having paid for a permit, I then spent the next quarter of an hour trying to find a parking space - not the hotel's fault of course, but this did little to get me into the holiday spirit. The hotel was just over a mile from the nerve centre of Brighton - a reasonable walk had the wife been fully fit, but something of a trial under the circumstances. The room was functional if somewhat tired with the bonus of a very comfortable bed, which afforded the wife her best night's sleep for many weeks, which was certainly a God-send. The television failed to work, although the efficient receptionist quickly arranged for the problem to be rectified. The view from the window was uninspiring, but this is again hardly the hotel's fault. We were roomed on the fourth floor - one very small lift capable of carrying only three people and a somewhat confusing collection of staircases, which often led to dead-ends, rather than access to the ground floor. The bar area was again functional rather than luxurious - no draught beer on offer and prices higher than I would have liked. Breakfast was served in the lounge area, consisting of an impressive hot and cold buffet, and was more than adequate for our needs. We travelled into Brighton itself on both evenings for dinner, this entailing cab fares of around eight pounds a time - again rather more than I would have expected for a one and a half mile trip. High point of the Sunday was being given a parking ticket by some over-zealous jobsworth because the date on the day's permit placed on the dashboard had been slightly obscured by a draught which had caused the other day's permit to blow across it - just about summed up the expensive experience which now passes for Brighton. The hotel was clean and the staff very efficient if not over-happy, and if one is just looking for a base in which to stay while exploring the facilities which Brighton has to offer then I would tentatively recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duc161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We appreciate your detailed comments and critique - parking is usually an emotive issue in the City though we endeavour to make things as painless as possible by providing both the Council accredited street vouchers and our own hard standing, on a first come first served basis

With the extensive works being undertaken at Imperial we are excited about her new look with the scaffolding being one of those weather dependent issues I'm afraid, especially after such a demanding winter

Hopefully when you next visit you will see some big changes. Meanwhile thank you for writing - it is always great to hear from Trip Advisor's senior contributors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Property: Imperial
Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing