We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable and friendly”
Review of Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stay in this hotel regularly when I work in Brighton. The staff are always helpful and accommodating and it is a safe, quiet place to stay close enough to the centre to walk from the station (30 minutes walk). Towels, bedding and room are always clean and the price is amazing for a single room in Brighton. The hotel is looking a bit worn around the edges but the service is excellent and I have always been well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

The continued return of a loyal guest is the highest honour we can earn so many thanks for both your kind words and your continued custom

Once the external works are complete we can turn our attention to the bedrooms which will lift the Imperial further

Meanwhile, renewed thanks for your support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
There are newer reviews for Imperial
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just spent 4 nights here. The location is excellent, next to the seafront.
Staff is very friendly, kind and helpful. Buses to many places stop nearby, also plenty of places to eat.
Rooms were very clean and spacious. Breakfast was lovely.
Although scaffolding outside (didn't bother at all) we had a nice stay and definitely will be back to enjoy all the improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VGaroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Daina and her team truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests and we are really looking forward to your next visit, from Spain, for you were a delight to host

We have some great plans for the Imperial and hearing that our customers appreciate what we are doing is really important and encourages us to go further

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although I award an average rating at the moment, there is a drive to give this place a facelift and much improvement can be expected. Yes, there was scaffolding outside but to me, this was a positive sign of improvement in the making, and did not detract in anyway from the quality of my weekend break. Could not be much closer to the beach than this, and the quality/standard of staff and food were most acceptable. I know that I, and my son left with a feel good factor, both from the friendliness of the hotel staff and the proximity of the venue to the sea. Would I make another visit? Yes, certainly. Loved it. Thank you Dilyana and the team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

We endeavour t provide an unmatched individualised service and I am thrilled Dilyana achieved this standard. She thought you were a delightful guest and we are very much looking forward to your return from Woking

Your balanced assessment means a great deal too - the scaffolding is there for the specific purpose of enhancing the hotel for the benefit of all our stakeholders and we have every intention of staying the course here. Both the Imperial and our guests deserve nothing less

Renewed thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked a 2 night stay at this hotel, big mistake!! room was tiny, dirty, the amount of builders dust on the dressing table due to the building work going on was unbelievable, when the room was cleaned it was still there, I'm not hard to please but it was so bad I left after the first night, I did try to complain at the reception desk as I left, but the unhappy looking lady behind the reception desk had trouble understanding what I was saying!!

£103 per night, what a joke, refund please?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We cannot identify with these comments and how, one wonders, are we meant to reach out and help if a guest will not articulate the challenges they have encountered?

Our housekeeping staff are working closely with the builders to maintain service and are naturally saddened by such feedback. Our receptionist, who speaks excellent English, is similarly upset and with very good reason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This property looked nothing like its website, we received no notification that they had scaffolding up, the language barrier was a bit difficult. The room was very tired, dampen one of the corners and also in the bathroom, you couldn't move the shower door as it would have banged on the sink and could have shattered (A big H&S issue, I didn't believe the room door was very score, the TV was the size of an average PC so not really able to sit and watch in comfort. The breakfast was ok but you were ushered out at the earliest opportunity once 9.30am had arrived, the bar was no manned, the lift was very slow and only 3 people can fit in. If you attempt to use the stairs the fun is trying to find the right ones as many of them link to rooms and are dead ends (so in a case of a fire lives could be lost) myself and my colleague actually left a day earlier and we weren't even questioned why. I intend to write a letter to the owners and look for compensation. My advice is seek alternative accommodation where possible.

Room Tip: No Comment
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

While we were sorry to read this guest experienced a number of challenges with their stay, we must make it clear we are fully compliant will all regulatory aspects of our business and enjoy a positive relationship with both the Council and Fire Authority - as such the signage in the hotel is fit for purpose and all systems properly maintained. The safety of our guests is paramount

Regrettably the concerns now being expressed by this guest were not articulated during their stay and as such our manager,Daina, was denied the opportunity of reaching out to them which is disheartening

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel clad to be on the Brighton sea front when in fact it's down a side street in Hove. The front of the hotel had scaffolding across all floors. There had been no attempt to clean the dust from this. You couldn't open the windows because of this. The rooms where covered in dust. The room wasn't fit for occupation, there was mould on the walls, wallpaper was torn and stained and the skirting boards dusty. The bathroom was mouldy in places and the shower inadequate. The breakfast was nice and plentiful.
The best feature where the staff who where pleasant,friendly and very helpful.
I would not consider using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spitfire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

I think it is fair to say we would all like to be without the scaffolding but it remains a necessary evil and weather dependent if we are to push through with our substantial refurbishment plans for the building

Feedback from guests is always valued and the opportunity it gives us to learn. Our housekeeping teams remain diligent and we have reminded our builders of the need to keep the scaffolding as clean as possible. The aim is to complete the works quickly

First Avenue is not a side Street and as its name suggests is one of four substantial avenues linking the main thoroughfare, Church Road, to the promenade. Indeed the Imperial commands a great location at the seaward end

While we appreciate your visiting from Scotland, naturally we are disheartened by your overall assessment, more so as our rates are market driven with the Imperial striving to provide value for money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was booked into the imperial for a week due to conference at the brighton centre so on business not pleasure. I reiterate the comments about the scaffolding outside. The whole building is completely clad so you are unable to see the brick or stonework from outside very disappointing and unsightly to be honest. I would have thought that the management team would have emailed their prospective residents prior to their stay to at least warn this work is being undertaken. Even though I had emailed ahead requesting a sea view I wasn't advised that it would be replaced by a steel view. I couldn't really view the sea as the hotel is in a side road in any case so be warned. The scaffolding which clads the hotel caused issues when you opened your window as the dust from the scaffold boards were thick with dusty brick which flew inside to the room. Now I understand that work needs to be completed on these old buildings but come on management complete this type of work in the winter season not at the height of the summer one. The scaffolding does not appear to leaving anytime soon so be aware.
The hotel is very old and tired unfortunately and truely needs refurbishment inside all areas to bring it up to the standard that most travellers expect these days.
Breakfast I think is overpriced for the selection and the quality of food.
Bar prices are expensive also and they close the bar at 10am even when the World Cup is on! The staff are friendly enough but the waiting staff are a bit slow collecting the used plates of food. Bedroom adequate for what I needed for the week but decor dreadful and no window in bathroom so dull and not pleasant also tight space so not much room. Nice white fluffy towels though. Bring own toiletries because the ones supplied are cheap and nasty. All in all done the job for me because I was on business but if I'd come with my husband I'd have been very agitated indeed and would have complained profusely and quite legitimately.
To keep up with the standard that most travellers expect when staying away the imperial will need to do some serious investment in this hotel.
Location is in hove not brighton so a 1.4 mile walk to brighton centre, fabulous walk on a fine day but not so pleasant if it was raining or cold.
So sorry the imperial not so good review do some work and bring this old girl back to the standard she and her residents deserve

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh C, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

While we appreciate your writing in such detailed terms and were saddened to learn you found certain aspects of your stay challenging, we cannot, I'm afraid, agree unreservedly with your remarks. Bunzl, a national name and treasure to many, are saddened by your comments [which we have of course passed on to them] about their toiletries which are complimentary and usually very well received. From what you are saying, you perhaps were not minded to use these in any event as you bought your own supplies. Many guests do this and all we are seeking to do is provide them with a decent choice

Enough has been said here about the scaffolding - we are reliant on the weather and Winter works are not an option given the scale of the program with an overall budget of £0.2m. In other words, we have to get the works right. Once the external aspects have been refurbished we will then move inside and of course we are in constant dialogue with our builders about keeping the boards as clean as possible and showing our guests respect. Contrary to your remarks we remain on target with the program which will allow the scaffolding to be dropped progressively

This is a disheartening review. I think I owe it to our friends and neighbours in First Avenue to take issue with your assessment that we are in a 'side street' which is simply not the case

Please reassured we have a very clear plan for the hotel and intend this grand Victorian lady to recapture at least some of the beauty of her youth

We trust the Unison Conference was a success

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hove
507 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 43 in Brighton
2,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 43 in Brighton
1,617 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 43 in Brighton
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £44 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing