We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Topps
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$329
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Malmaison Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lanes Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Blanch House(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$216
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
33
53
15
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
53
15
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsregency squarethe ground floora multi storey car parkair conmy partnerrooms are spacioushotel is situatedtea making facilitiesstreet noiseperfect locationtown centregreat showernice roomcomfy bedweekend breakvisiting brightonsingle room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Nice immaculately clean room - recently updated. some visual flair & good finish.

There were no facilities to speak of however. Quite Spartan. No tea/coffee making facilities, mini fridge or water. There is I believe a tea/coffee machine in the lobby. They don't do food of any description - though there are numerous places to eat within a 5 minute walking distance.

The staff however (Filipino I think) were extraordinarily polite & helpful - marking our map, giving us directions. They always had a smile. This is a great asset to them.

We slept late one day & didn't venture out till lunch time - but the room was still cleaned & the bed was made (where other hotels would not bother)

As I'm 6"2 - I found the bed post/base boards slightly uncomfortable & inconvenient - poorly thought through really.

In short reasonably priced. Happy for what we paid - would definitely recommend if you want a no frills place to stay that is clean & with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanstroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

If you're looking for a room with no tea/coffee making facilities, no wifi with a shower and a TV this would be fine. But if you're looking for a hotel then it patently isn't. There are no communal areas, no bar, no restaurant and no facilities. It is just a building with self contained rooms, with bathrooms but there is not even a kettle in the rooms. It's also noisy.
On the positive front the staff and the owner are very friendly and the rooms themselves are clean but this was too much money for poor facilities and it is misrepresented when it describes itself as a hotel. You'd be better off at a Bed and Breakfast than this, when you will at least get breakfast.

Room Tip: It's noisy so bare that in mind when choosing a room
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We found ourselves at Topp's as a day in Brighton turned into a spontaneous night away in order to get some much-needed rest. We booked on Late Rooms and decided that £120 would ensure us a decent room in a decent hotel. Hmmm. Unfortunately we didn't check on Trip Advisor, relying on the LateRooms rating instead.
The room we were shown into was small but clean and finished nicely enough. The bed was comfy and linen good quality and fragrant. Bathroom was just a shower but also clean and modern.
The problems began, as for many others, when we wanted to get a good night's sleep, but were kept awake by the music of the club across the road.
When, at 12.30am we complained at "reception" (which consisted of a front desk with watchman snoozing in his chair) the owner was woken and came out, only to tell us very rudely that we should have known it was noisy as the room description said "can be noisy at times" - he pulled out a printed copy of our reservation and pointed to it.
I said "noisy at times" to me means other guests coming in late at night or ad hoc noise on the street, not deep-bass notes of a club going until 2am every Saturday night without fail. I said I also thought that £120 should be enough to ensure a decent room, even in Brighton. £50 in a hostel maybe not.
He said, again very rudely, that we must be very light sleepers if we couldn't sleep through it. Errm I think not.
After an uncomfortable stand-off he agreed to move us to another room, which he was at pains to say was an upgrade and then insisted that we pay £20 towards cleaning. I did not agree to this at the time but thought we could discuss it in the morning (by which time we had decided this was outrageous. Fortunately we didn't have to have the discussion as one of the cleaners took our keys on "check-out").
The new room was spacious and again nice and modern and comfortable. The noise problems here started when the next-door neighbours stumbled in at 1.30am and began having a sex marathon - of which we could hear every detail through the wall. Not very pleasant.
Overall, it's a stretch to call Topp's a hotel. It's merely a refurbished building with a series of rooms which look nice but have obviously been cheaply renovated, without the necessary double-glazing on the windows or insulation in the walls.
There is no suggestion of room service, breakfast or indeed any other service, including a friendly welcome. You are paying for just a room - but don't expect to get any sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliacmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

From the front this place looks great. The room is spacious but there is music blaring from the street all night long (it's Friday today) making it impossible for a restful night. It's only worth stating here if you don't mind noise. I do so it's a bad choice for me.

No tea and coffee making in the room and for £95 you should really have this on offer, most other establishents offer this 'in' your room. (There is only a limited vending machine.)

Lack of hangers in room, only a few plastic ones. Small narrow staircases to rooms were tricky to get up for me and others staying here.

It's a shame, the place has potential but the noise and the basic facilities let it down.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geeta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

From the front this place looks great. The room is spacious but there is music blaring from the street all night long (it's Friday today) making it impossible for a restful night. It's only worth stating here if you don't mind noise. I do so it's a bad choice for me.

No tea and coffee making in the room and for £95 you should really have this on offer, most other establishents offer this 'in' your room. (There is only a limited vending machine.)

Lack of hangers in room, only a few plastic ones. Small narrow staircases to rooms were tricky to get up for me and others staying here.

It's a shame, the place has potential but the noise and the basic facilities let it down.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geeta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews