We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice room in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Topps

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topps
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Very nice room in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights in top floor 'superior double' room, which was small but very tastefully decorated. Nice bathroom too. Location was great, a minute from the beach, and near loads of restaurants and bars. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room but there are downstairs. Hotel is very clean and well presented, overall very pleased. Staff were v friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjtp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    51
    15
    14
    7
See reviews for
8
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We never actually got to stay here as on a day trip to Brighton we decided to stay the night, using LateRooms.com we found this hotel and so I called to book it, I was advised that for 3 adults it would be £100, I specifically asked if there were any extra costs involved and was told no that would be the cost of our stay and was sent a confirmation number. After struggling to find somewhere to park and twenty angry minutes later we walked to the hotel and was confronted with some steep steps, which being disabled I struggled with, again I had asked if there were any mobility problems and was told no (yes I will be leaving a review on LateRooms). When we finally went to check in I was told the bill would be £125 which doesn't sound much more but I didn't have the funds for that, I argued that I had confirmation of the price but was told if I looked at the confirmation email then I would se the extra £25 for the third person, they wouldn't accept that I was told this wasn't so but were told to pay or leave so we left. With 2 stroppy tired teenageers I had to drive home, arriving at 1am. After checking the Laterooms email it seems I was right, it should've been £100, so if I'd had the funds I would've paid as it would've been preferable to driving home. So double check the prices you are given.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Not cheap... but in Brighton so thats to be expected I guess
Room 72 (I think) 2nd on right as you go in.
Very nice reception. Room was gorgeous. Not big but very tasteful and classy.
Shower was a 'mist' type shower... hardly feel the water... not my favourtie type.
Didn't understand why it made a point of saying 'no air conditioning' on the booking page. Now I understand. Room fan had to stay on most of night as it was incredibly hot. No air circulation and if you opened the window it opened on to another facing window (few feet away).
When reservation confirmation said it is sometimes noisy, I assumed it meant with party goers etc. as the room was near the front door. However the problem was, as it no doubt has partition/stud walls, that they are paper thin! Noise from other rooms, the fan when it was on and also the reception night staff (who had a cough!) kept me awake just about all night. probably the worst night sleep I've ever had (or not had).
Perhaps if you have another room with real walls, then it would be okay.
Extremely convenient for car park opposite (though cost us £12) and the square is on the sea front.... It was just the thin walls that ruined it all. Beware.

Room Tip: ask for an original room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah040860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here last weekend parked in the car park in the square which is £12.50 for 24 hours. Reception area is clean and modern. Room was on the 3rd floor big room nice wooden floor and furniture. Bathroom was modern and clean loads of hot water. Price is about right for a room only hotel overall very impressed. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Deluxe doubles are all refurbished pick these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Came to this hotel with my boyfriend for the weekend. The room was very nice, nice and spacious and was even better than in the photos. Bed was comfy, we didn't find it noisey and slept well. we were able to leave our bags after we checked out, and had no problems.only bad point - shower was pretty rubbish. I would stay here again,location was perfect for everything, however I felt the price at £120 per night was a bit high, although we did stay over a bank holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had a nice weekend at Topps in Brighton. We booked a basic room and had no problems. The service was great, we even overslept and didn't leave til after noon and our room was still cleaned. Nice location in regency square about 10 minute walk from the lanes and the pier. Had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigBolton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

beware .... valuables go missing from your room beware

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littleminx1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToppsBrighton, Manager at Topps, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
This is an insurance scum. The writer tried but failed to get insurance for item allegedly lost whilst staying at Topps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topps

Property: Topps
Address: 17 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Topps is situated in the heart of Regency Square in three beautifully restored Regency period listed-buildings, ideally located within a short walking distance of Brighton Pier, Churchill Square Shopping Centre, Brighton Conference Centre, the Lanes and all that Brighton has to offer. The beach is less than 100 yards away and there is a multi-storey underground car park at our door-step. Regency Square is one of the oldest squares in Brighton directly opposite the old West Pier, soon to be home to the i360, a 600 foot tall observation tower.Topps has recently undergone extensive refurbishment. We have carefully restored the exterior of our buildings to their former glory. Most of our generously sized en-suite guestrooms have been renovated to a very high modern standard. Features include real wood flooring, flatscreen TVs with Freeview, comfortable new beds and well appointed bathrooms. A number of our guestrooms overlook Regency Square and have views of the sea. Some of our Executive Rooms are air-conditioned and we are working to extend this feature to all the rooms.Nearby Preston Street is home to many bars, clubs, discos and restaurants. The newly restored Victorian Bandstand is close-by where weddings and dancing fans take the center stage most weekends. If you are keen to try "Slacklining", the latest craze, you will find plenty of enthusiasts practising or showing off their skills on the beach in front of the old West Pier.Our aim is to provide our guests with modern, clean and comfortable accommodation. Based on feedbacks, our room-only rates are excellent value for money in Central Brighton for the high quality accommodation we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Topps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topps Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing