We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Hotter than the Fires of Mount Doom”
Review of Home Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Home Brighton
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms Hotter than the Fires of Mount Doom”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Urgh. Stayed here a few months back with four friends. What an awful, awful place. First and foremost, the staff seem to get pretty annoyed when you ask them anything at all, and seem to think that you're some freeloader trying to crash on their sofa as opposed to a paying guest. Secondly, do not stay here if you are from a cold country, because the rooms are approx. 1 hundred billion degrees centigrade. Thirdly, I was on the top of a triple bunk, and getting up and down the damn thing was pretty life threatening. The hostel is also in a pretty dodgy end of town- me and my friends were verbally abused at a nearby cashpoint.
Just don't do it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecil_Y12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    16
    13
    43
See reviews for
4
12
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Don't stay here, stayed in a 15 bed corridor with no air conditioning apart from one poorly located fan, the window opened 10 cm MAX and the room was baking especially when filled with 15 people. The beds were stacked 3 high meaning no movement or sitting up. Although some of the beds had lights not all did, so proved difficult when people wanted to sleep. The breakfast was disappointing, with a huge queue for one toaster, and they regually run out of orange juice and provided warm milk,other drinks were not available. The service was poor with rude staff who seemed to be on a power trip and treated us like rubbish, although we were paying guests. The cleaner didn't knock when entering the room which caused major embarrassment when changing, and was frankly quite rude. We also found out when going to collect our deposit back that they had been in our room in the day time and taken pictures of our stuff. DON'T leave your valuables if they are going in and out the room without anyone knowing. There are much better and nicer places to stay and I advise you go there!!! Stay well away.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizziCaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Orpington, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I've stayed over a couple of times, the first time for over a week, now this is a hostel, not a hotel, and on that tune you do get what you pay for! For the amount I paid I have to say that is very good, specially because I felt quite safe, even though I stayed in a dorm with strangers and my bags were among other people belongings. So Journeys if I ever return to Brighton I'll sure stay with you! :)

Room Tip: I stayed in a dorm with other 11 girls and this was no problem to me, but if you're too funny, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gertrudes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here on the jubilee weekend so we knew it would be busy but the hostel is right on the main road so the noise level was ridicous!! The room was a mixed 16 dorm so it was sweltering hot, no storage and one tiny window. The showers and toilets were few and far between and only checked once a day!!! Not recommend for cleanliness but an ideal location for the gay clubs!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Great bar, reasonable shower and toilets. Good service, central location, power points Chang clean bedding, but avoid if the weather is warm. Remember that our its a hostel so you are in the same room as ~15 other people, that is the nature of a hostel.

The bedrooms would be good except there is no flow of air through and they face south, so they get VERY HOT.(~10 degrees higher than outside) Tried to wedge the door open to allow air to go through, but staff remove it (safety I guess). This poor design is the reason I would avoid this place in warm weather.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Journeys in Brighton is a good place to stay if you are on a budget.

The dorms, beds (bunks), bathrooms and communal areas are cleaned to a high standard. Staff are friendly and pleasant. There is securely storage for your valuable and each dorm comes with it's own coded entry. Did I mention the free wifi!?! Another bonus is it is within easy walking distance of the train station and town centre. All in all I can't fault Journeys; I needed somewhere cheap to sleep while I was working in Brighton and Journeys provided that. If you're expecting the Ritz simply don't stay there.

My only worry was the mixed dorms but I needn't have been. It was okay, the guys in our dorms were gentleman (apart from one who brought back some random girl) and by my final night the girls outnumbered the guys. However it would have been nice to have the choice of mixed or single sex dorms.

One negative; my dorm was right next to the communal lounge so I had loud music keeping me awake all night ... and I finished work a 1am!! It was great that they kept the lounge "opened" so late because it kept the parties away from the dorms but not so great if you're sleeping in room 1.

Room Tip: Don't opt for room 1, it's right next to the lounge which can get very noisey during the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwigirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Dear Journeys

Many thanks, it was a great weekend had by all, sorry we missed breakfast

Will defo come back and recommend

Paul

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauly656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.6 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#29 of 44 in Brighton
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#26 of 44 in Brighton
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 25 in Brighton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Brighton

Property: Home Brighton
Address: 33 Richmond Place, Brighton BN2 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Home Brighton 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception hours: Sun - Wed 8am - 2am Thu Fri Sat 24hrs Guests have 24-hour access to their rooms during their stay. We provide stylish backpacker’s accommodation that is centrally located just a short walk from Brighton Bus/Train Stations on the site of the old Richmond Pub which stood for over 150 years, and Pressure Point club, which was well known for hosting bands such as Radiohead, and DJs such as Carl Cox. Our vibrant social area is ideal for meeting like-minded travellers as we only accept genuine backpackers. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge area is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and comfy sofas. Brighton is exciting and vibrant with lots to offer, the beach, Royal Pavilion, North Laines for shopping and the famous Brighton Pier all within walking distance. Also nearby there are a variety of bars and nightclubs, which our staff will be happy to recommend. Skydiving, bungee jumping, beach volleyball, Scuba diving, surfing and sea fishing trips are also readily available. Our dorm beds each come with their own power socket and linen included. We also have lockers and towels available for hire. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double rooms have a large, comfy double bed. Free high speed 200 meg WiFi is provided throughout the whole building Homebackpackers is the only British hostel group to offer free pancakes at breakfast. Breakfast buffet includes: A variety of cereals. Unlimited toast and jams, honey, Nutella Orange juice Pancakes Tea and coffee We only accept bona fide backpackers at Brighton and London Home Backpackers Home Brighton Policies & Conditions: Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be charged in full within two days of booking. Reservations which fall in whole or in part on the dates 30th December, 31st December and 1st January will be non-refundable. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms between 2pm and 11pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home Backpackers however; we do require that a valid photo identification is presented upon check in, Passport, I.D. card or driving license along with a credit or debit card in the same name. We will require a cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. All guests are required to show a valid ID upon check-in, along with the credit card used when booking. Passports, driver's licenses, and national identity cards are accepted as ID. The property will not accept reservations where the credit card does not match or the guest does not have ID. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys and towels back to reception. Late checkout or lost items are subject to charges. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests’ aged between 18 and 35 years. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old traveling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Home Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing