We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pints after work”
Review of The Park View

The Park View
Ranked #690 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Brighton pub you'll never be bored of.Just a stone's throw from Preston Park, you'll find a pub that's cosmopolitan Brighton at its best. Alongside our impressive range of speciality drinks and pub food at The Park View, you'll find a line-up of interesting activities throughout the week, such as Tai Chi Mat and the odd live band too, with the Peruvian nose flute making an occasional appearance.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pints after work”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Has the potential to be a great pub but the beer is always bad. 4 out of 5 times you will need to return your pint as it'll be flat or eggy. They really need to ensure they clean the lines regularly because it's clearly not done often. My boyfriend and I pop in here very regularly as it's on our way home from work so will go for a beer on the way hoping that this time we'll get a good beer - but we never do. It's also very expensive so a crap beer is unforgivable for the price you're paying. The staff are very hit and miss, there are a couple of really nice ones but more that are rude and unwelcoming. It's such a shame because it's our local but every time we go there it's unfriendly with crap beer.. The food however looks good but as the pub is a bit grubby we've never eaten here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bambam1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    31
    26
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Steam cleaning needed”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

First time I'd been here and boy, this place needs a thorough steam cleaning everything is sticky, the floor, the tables, the bar, it's just rancid. The wildly overpriced beer was off as well, tasted like the pipes haven't been cleaned for ages. It's a pity cause it's a great sized pub in a great location, but the landlord and staff need a severe kick up the fundament...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomovicky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Rude Staff”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visited here on Sunday. The portion sizes & quality of food do not warrant the price.
Went to the bar to order & was told to sit back down as food is done by table service, waited 10 mins before going back to the bar to ask for someone to take our order.
Service was very slow & when we asked how long our food might be (after a 45 min wait) was just told 'were busy'.
This place has an excellent location & could be a real gem however they really need to train their staff including chefs to get them up to standard.
Also the four men assuming they are regulars stood at the standing table near the bar just constantly staring at the women on the table was very off putting.

Helpful?
Thank thomovicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Potential but average”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Great space!! Greeted by a very welcoming bartender when we arrived. Very good wine selection for a drink. So we went back the next weekend to have a meal with the family as thinking of moving to the area. Average service. Average food. Some badly behaved kids in there so really ruined our dining experience. I understand it is family friendly and we like that but the child behind us used a block to bang in the table for almost an hour. The other tables had kids running around. So possibly our experience was ruined on this occasion. Looking forward to giving the pub another chance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaleinHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

First I need to say that the food was tasty and my friend and I enjoyed it. However, the food was not entirely what we expected. My friend ordered a burger and an extra pulled pork. For the extra pulled pork they put a very thin layer of pork in the burger.... Really? For 3 pounds 10g, if that much, of a meat? We asked for more and they kindly served more. I ordered a goat cheese tart.... Just a very thin layer of a goat cheese on the top, this is how my food arrived. The tart was supposed to be with the asparagus but was stuffed with a squash(asparagus was not dominating). Overall, I felt the value was really poor for the money. Drinks are too expensive, restaurant prices. The tables were sticky and not clean. I think the pub has great potential but needs a good clean up and better deals. May go again , not a total disaster.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LINA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Park View also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Park View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing