We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent property close to beach & pier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Greenacres,Fl
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Decent property close to beach & pier”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Holiday Inn Seafront in Brighton is a normal Holiday Inn with decent rooms, seaside views of the Brighton beach and close to both the pier & Brighton Centre (about 3 blocks from the venue), where I recently saw the mighty Status Quo..it's not the Grand, which is probably the most famous & nicest hotel in Brighton ( and $$), but for one night, it was fine. Staff was very helpful, and in fact, one gal directed us to a pub called the Lion & Lobster, which I have just reviewed, and it was outstanding...we got the buffet at the hotal for 9 pounds, which in the UK is a steal ( most are 13-18 pounds), and it was hot, with plenty of choices including yummy British sausages, eggs, potatoes, ham, bacon, all the greasy typical British breakfast which I love, I must admit ( hey, for ONE morning, its's OK,lol..) ..there is a bar with several draft beers, and I used my Holiday Inn points + cash to stay...would recommend this place, as long as you realize it's a 3 star hotel ( maybe 3.5), not 5 or even 4...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statusone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Statusone,
Thankyou for taking the time to review the hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us.
I hope you come and visit us again when you are in Brighton.
Regards
Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    439
    399
    225
    149
See reviews for
220
547
63
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gran Canaria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The standard of the rooms have improved every time we visited. The breakfast which we love is now even tastier thanks to a quicker replenishment of the food and thanks to the attentive staff and is now the best around. The welcome is one of the best anywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear ChrisTim,
Thank you for posting your comments and I am please that you enjoyed your stay here.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Regards
Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed here end of November with 3 friends. Arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were booked in quickly with no trouble. We were also given complimentary wifi which was quite a nice touch!

The room was very clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. Everything worked well, the shower the tv etc and I can't see why so many people moan about the hotel on here, you're not going for a night at The Ritz and at £98 for a double room I don't think you can really complain...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljjb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Joecull1
Thankyou for taking the to review the hotel and I am glad you were able to check in quickly and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon,
Regards,
Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel is not one I will stay in again. The "executive suite" I paid for with King size bed, was certainly not King size!! My bedding and pillows were awful, the lighting in the room is awful. My nites sleep was awful due to noisy guests in corridors, and if I didn't say before really god awful rubbish bed!!!!! The space of the room is good. The shower was good. The customer service of the desk was good but when we needed help with directions we were told "i only live down the road so get a bus from the front - just so you know there are NO buses that run along the front, they run from the town!! Not even a Bus stop on the front!!
I have stayed other Holiday inns and this by far is the worst and I def won't be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Julie n,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am sorry some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and i will be talking to the team to make sure that they are able to give better directional advice,
we are in the process of making many enhancements to the hotel so i do hope if you re vist Brighton you choose to give us another try,
regards
Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Last weekend I took 148 people to a Ball that we held at the Holiday Inn and it was absolutely brilliant! The food was lovely, the room was decorated beautifully and the staff were fantastic - we really couldn't ask for more. We held our event in aid of a local charity and the Holiday Inn offered us a lot more for our money than other venues/hotels.
I will definitely be booking the Holiday Inn on Brighton Seafront again for our Ball next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chazeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Chazeroo,
thank you for taking the time to post your comments it was our pleasure to hold your party here at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back next year or sooner.
Have a very Merry Christmas
Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Despite some poor reviews i took the plunge and booked a reward night here for myself an my partner, i have visted Brighton on many occasions and love the city, this was the first time i have stayed at the HI Brighton seafront, i wont be staying again.

Things started ok, the hotel is easy to find on the seafront, car parking is limted but i was fortunate enough to find a space, as an IHG Rewards Gold Member i received a discount on the advertised rate.

Check in was quick and pleasant, the receptionist acknowledged i was an IHG Gold member and as a thank you gave me a voucher for a free drink from the hotel bar, as well as complimentary wifi access, along with the discounted parking these were nice touches.

Onto the room, 134, on the first floor on the side of the hotel, whilst overlooking some bins (more about those later) we also had a partial seaview, the room was ok, nothing special and as other reviews have mentioned it was rather dated, its certainly not worth the advertised rate of £100+, the complimentary free wifi did not work, it appeared the room was out of range of the wifi, this was disappointing but as we were not planning on spending too much time in the room this was not a major issue.

So far so good (ish), after a lovely day and evening out and about around Brighton we returned back to the hotel at around 11.00pm, the reception area and outside area were busy and there were a clearly a couple of weddings being celebrated in the hotel, after enjoying our complimentary drinks we returned to room at around 11.30pm to settle donw for the evening.

Unfortunately a relaxing nights sleep wasnt going to be possible, room 134 is situated on the first floor and directly above one of the function rooms, there was a party in full swing with a DJ playing extremely loud music, forlornly we hoped that the music would finish at midnight, unfortunately it didnt, in fact it seemed to become louder, we spoke to the duty manager (named BK) who was next to useless, he apologised but said nothing could be done, we couldnt be moved he could not get the music to be turned down, he seemed surprised we had complained.. had nobody had a similar experience in that room? I fail to believe that, we actually invited him to come up to the room to hear just how bad the noise was, he declined our offer but said he would note our complaint, thanks for all your help BK!

Eventually the music stopped at 1am, but our hopes of a good nights sleep were further dashed throughout the night by noisy revellers returning to their rooms (shouting, singing, running up and down the coridoors) , i realise some of this may be beyond the hotels control, its still extremely annoying, from around 4am we had relative quiet and a chance to finally get some sleep... our respite was short lived, those bins under our room we very noisely emptied at 7am, again maybe not in the hotels control, but surely the hotel have recived similar complaints in the past?

We didnt have breakfast so cant comment on the food in the hotel.

On checking out it seems that BK hadnt made any note of our complaints from the earlier in the morning, or if he had the receptionist checking us out decided to ignore them, i had to ask to speak to the duty manager about our stay.

The duty manager was a man called Adrian Chapple, he listened to our complaints and agreed they were unacceptable, but it appears functions take precendence over guests, amazingly we were one of the first to complain about the noise from the function room below? Maybe people usually get back to the hotel after 1am? I dont know. In the first instance Adrian dealt with the complaint superbly, he immediately offered a refund, waived the charge for car parking and gave me his details asking me to email later in the week to arrange a refund of the 30000 priority club points that had been used on the stay..it all seemed so simple, we were happy (but very tired) and i thought this was a happy ending of sorts.....

If only things were that easy! Maybe it was "out of sight, out of mind" but extracting my 30000 points back out of the grasp of the hotel was a long and excrutiating process that took nearly 7 weeks, numerous emails (which Adrian and the hotel continually ignored) and eventually having to take to Twitter and contacting the @IHGCare account to get the complaint resolved.

In every instance where i contacted the hotel my initial email would not illicit a response, it would take a second email asking why i had received no response from my initial query for the hotel to bother to reply, every time i was promised either a phone call or an email from the hotel with an update, none was forthcoming, as mentioned earlier, i had to resort to contacting @IHGCare via Twitter to get any repsonse from the hotel, our stay was on the 5th October, we were promised a FULL refund of our 30000 points on checkout on 6th October, after a month of being ignored by the hotel we were finally told via @ IHGCare that the hotel has "offered" a 20000 point refund on 10.11.13, why not the full refund? I have absolutely no idea, no one at the hotel got in touch with me to explain why, i was even assured the hotel owner would contact me... again, silence.

Full praise to @IHGCare for resolving this, i explained to them that i was told i would receive 30000 points, they immediatley credited my account with the 10000 points shortfall....i thought that would be the end of the matter....sadly not!

As of 27.11.13 i had still not received the 20000 points the hotel had promised on 10.11.13 would be credited with 10 days, so alas further emails to @IHGCare ensued, again full marks to them as my missing 20000 points were immediately credited to my account.

So a happy ending of sorts, Brighton is still a great place to visit, just a shame the same cant be said for the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear ColinBirmingham,
Thankyou for taking the time to review the hotel.I can only apologise for the confusion that occured after your stay and this is for sure not the norm.
I have shared all your comments with the staff here at the hotel and they will be used as a training tool.
You mentioned that you enjoyed Brighton and if you do decide to come and stay here again I would ask that you contact me directly.
Regards
Wayne Manasfield.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Located at sea front and walking distance to centre hotel is reasonable if you get a good price. Rooms could do with a refurb' as looking tired and worn.Buffet breakfast reasonable but not somewhere I would take my partner! business trip hotel only!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Johnny W,
thank you for the review I am pleased over all you had a good stay,I have noted your comments and am pleased to say that we are in the process of several enhancements to the hotel and in the New year have plans for several more.
I do hope you come back and visit us as you won't be dissapointed,
regards
Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Property: Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, IHG, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing