We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place but needs a lot of renovation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent place but needs a lot of renovation.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Read a few reviews before stay and all mentioned the outdated decor. Definitely agree with all if them because the furniture is poor old and wooden. In double rooms that we had all 3 had very old old style. Pedestals used as TV stand, when they could easily have arranged rooms to have them wall mounted. The bathrooms were more updated and clean, as were the corridors.
The bar and lounge does have a better feel then the rooms as some effort has been made on trying, but lacks warmth and character.
There is good service in the restaurant, and breakfast on all days was served well, a good selection for everyone including for kids.
The parking lot is very dingy and definitely looks nasty with pipes and wires hanging out low.
Taking into account the location and possibly high bookings in peak the company needs to invest in updating it ASAP.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was pleased to read the comments regarding the restaurant and service, and have shared these with the team.

The hotel will be going through a refurbishment over the next 18 months, as you have quite rightly said the hotel is in need of updating in various areas.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    425
    394
    214
    144
See reviews for
208
535
63
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just stayed one night - managed to get an 'Executive Room' but everything in it was either broken, chipped or marked in some way. In the bathroom, the sink area had stains, the ceiling was damp. In the main room, table surface dented, a water mark on the ceiling, bedside table coming away from the wall. The corridors and rooms make it obvious that the hotel needs a re-fit. If you're used to the Holiday Inn standard (which is what I was expecting), this particularly property is well below par.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was dissapointed to read the comments with your room, and have shared these with the Maintenance Manager. The hotel will be going through a refurbishment over the next 12-18 months, as you have said the rooms are looking a little tired.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The location was great and the staff very friendly and attentive. They have an underground carpark which is great in the centre of Brighton! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only slight downside was that the hotel bar didn't seem to be open for very long. It was closed when we went out for an afternoon drink with friends about 4.30 and when we arrived back at about 10.30 they closed shortly afterwards, but only a small negative in an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froogle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was pleased to read your comments regarding the team here at the hotel, and what a great stay you had with us in Brighton. I have shared your comments with the team, and have made a note of your comment regarding the bar closing, and have spoken with the Bar Supervisor.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a team meeting in one of the many conference suites in the hotel and the service was world class. Great food and continued attention to detail during coffee breaks and afternoon tea.
The room had everything we required, (flip chart/projector etc.) and we wanted for nothing. It was also nice to see the renovation in the restaurant since my last visit. it really makes a significant difference.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Max,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent meeting at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these positive comments with the whole team at the hotel, in particular the food and beverage team.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed one night -arrived at midday initial impressions middling to good. Great location, very pleasant room with plenty of space (poor side street view), comfortable beds and a new bathroom (which was very nice) wifi and tcmf. A good local guide book provided in room but little information about the facilities in the hotel. Corridors a little drab but the restaurant and bar looked good. Breakfast was buffet style quite well presented and good quality with great views of the promenade and sea. The staff in reception and restaurant whilst helpful did not seem motivated/happy and their uniforms left a lot to be desired (badly sized/old/dry cleaned to death) hardly the image one expects from Holiday Inn. Overall a comfortable stay- but lack lustre

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was dissapointed to read the comments regarding the staff here at the hotel, as we take great pride in working for Holiday Inn, and the team here is the one of the main features of the hotel. I have shared these comments with the team here at the hotel, so this can assist with further training.

On the flip side I was pleased with the comments regarding the restaurant, bar and room, and again have shared these comments with the team.

Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After reading the reviews on this website, I was preparing myself for the worst but I have to say I don't know what everyone was complaining about!
The room was very spacious and clean. I was very impressed with the shower as it was much better than what you usually get in hotels.

The only issue I had was the parking facilities. They have underground parking which is very tight and on a hill so I would not advise to park there unless you are a confident driver.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

It is great to recieve such wonderful feedback, and I have shared this with the whole team here at the hotel.

once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back this year.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex england
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on a stormy weekend in January,but really enjoyed it. Lovely room looking out over a wild stormy sea. Comfy bed,nice bathroom and a very good breakfast. Great location.i will agree that some things look in need of some tlc. No complaints.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these positive comments with the whole team here at the hotel, as it is great to share such great feedback.

once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Property: Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing