We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this dump at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Avoid this dump at all costs!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As an IHG Platinum card holder, I have stayed in their hotels all over the world and without any shadow of a doubt the Holiday Inn Brighton Seafront is their very worst in my experience; you would honestly be much better off staying at a budget £35 a night Travelodge than stay here.

I had a King Sea-view room, you could not see out of the windows given they were so dirty, there was strategically placed gaffer tape to hide the obvious ill fitting windows that were letting in water all over a badly stained carpet; the bed was in need of the local rubbish dump, stains all over the small settee and even the walls. The bathroom had cracked wall and floor tiles, a cracked sink and a leaking shower cubicle - power shower was excellent though - the only thing that was.

The car park is like something from middle earth with pigeons living in between cars, pigeon muck everywhere and my partner said if she had visited alone for business she would have refused to park there given the dim lighting and dozens of hidden corners; no CCTV that I could see of, anything could happen down there and nobody would know; they even have the bare faced cheek to charge you for the privilege.

Hotel reception know quite well the place is laden with issues and stare at you blankly, the GM to be fair offered me a free night when the refurb is complete but given the current state of the place they should know better - telling you a remodel is due soon helps you zero when you are staying there right now.

Avoid, avoid, avoid at all costs and I will be telling IHG exactly that right after I post this!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Travelling_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these comments with the team here and also with the senior team. As mentioned the hotel will be going through a refurbishment over the next 12-18 months which will bring the hotel up to the standards expected from a Holiday Inn Hotel.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    425
    394
    214
    144
See reviews for
208
535
63
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

An ugly 60's tower block right on the front, and rooms which were of the same era. However clean, and the usual good space in the room . No water however. Friendly staff, perhaps the front desk was a little overbearing. Breakfast adequate if predictable.
Time for some investment , I think

Room Tip: ask for a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared your comments with the team here at the hotel, in particular reception. The hotel will be going through a refurbishment over the next 12-18 months, which as you have mentioned is much needed.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Staff superbly friendly but room was disappointing (to say the least). We reported the bad sink drainage and the fact the toilet wouldnt flush properly around half hour after we arrived. Noone came to investigate. The general room condition was something to be desired but the secure parking was good especially aa you can leave your car there after youve checked out! Probably wont stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chubbs92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these with the team here at Brighton, in particular the friendliness of the staff. The hotel will be having a refurbishment over the next 12-18 months, as you have mentioned the room quality, and this will give the room a much needed lift.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in January. Reception staff friendly. Got upgraded to a partial sea view, which I thought was nice. That's was the good bits.
The upgraded room was next to the lift on the 2nd floor. There was a sea view, but the windows were dirty. Room was OK, dated, but clean. Bed was uncomfortable.
Did not really sleep because the hotel was noisy. People coming back late were shouting and slamming doors. You constantly heard the lift all the time. Then there was the plumbing. The sound of water going through the pipes seemed to go on forever. Did not know that breakfast was on offer!
Not up to the usual Holiday Inn Standards

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Couplepartnered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared these with the team here in Brighton, and have spoken with Maintenance regarding the noise levels.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Brighton is well known as being a little on the camp side, the 3 gents on the reception were certainly stereotype. Very nice and efficient although I am sure one had sprinkles of rainbow dust trailing behind him as he skipped to the next person :-) Love places with staff that are attentive and friendly so extra points there.

The room sadly was not great, the bathroom had broken tiles and dirty shower curtain and someone had written on the mirror so when misted up from the shower I saw that someone just had to say "I love Birmingham" - obviously lost or confused!

The wardrobe looked old and smelt gross I would not hang anything in there. In all fairness the bed was lush and I slept very well, which is ultimately why I stayed there.

Room Tip: Book VERY early, I paid £60 for a double, if we had booked a week before it went up to £127
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBusinessDGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I have shared your comments with the rest of the team here at the hotel, we will be going through a refurbishment over the next 12-18 months, as we all appreciate the hotel is in need of a refresh.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Read a few reviews before stay and all mentioned the outdated decor. Definitely agree with all if them because the furniture is poor old and wooden. In double rooms that we had all 3 had very old old style. Pedestals used as TV stand, when they could easily have arranged rooms to have them wall mounted. The bathrooms were more updated and clean, as were the corridors.
The bar and lounge does have a better feel then the rooms as some effort has been made on trying, but lacks warmth and character.
There is good service in the restaurant, and breakfast on all days was served well, a good selection for everyone including for kids.
The parking lot is very dingy and definitely looks nasty with pipes and wires hanging out low.
Taking into account the location and possibly high bookings in peak the company needs to invest in updating it ASAP.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was pleased to read the comments regarding the restaurant and service, and have shared these with the team.

The hotel will be going through a refurbishment over the next 18 months, as you have quite rightly said the hotel is in need of updating in various areas.

Once again thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just stayed one night - managed to get an 'Executive Room' but everything in it was either broken, chipped or marked in some way. In the bathroom, the sink area had stains, the ceiling was damp. In the main room, table surface dented, a water mark on the ceiling, bedside table coming away from the wall. The corridors and rooms make it obvious that the hotel needs a re-fit. If you're used to the Holiday Inn standard (which is what I was expecting), this particularly property is well below par.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront.

I was dissapointed to read the comments with your room, and have shared these with the Maintenance Manager. The hotel will be going through a refurbishment over the next 12-18 months, as you have said the rooms are looking a little tired.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Wayne Mansfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Property: Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing