We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

We ( my wife and I) stayed here recently for 3 nights.I stayed in a standard room,it was spacious enough.
We found it fairly clean also.
The rooms have very poor sound insulation and we heard everything that went on in the adjacent rooms (conversations,T.Vs,toilet flushing etc..)which was very annoying when your trying to get to sleep or would like to sleep late.
The bed was also quite uncomfortable, very uneven and old mattress which wasn't conducive to a good nights sleep at all.
We didn't have breakfast as we though 13-14 pounds was a bit overpriced!
We ate at Wetherspoons pub/bar behind the Odeon cinema for 3pounds 50 or so,much better deal and delicious too!
To sum it up this hotel needs reurbishment and some new mattresses!Also proper sound proofing throughout!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyboyJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 27 February 2009
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us here.

I would appreciate if you could contact me direct in order that I can investigate them further. We have a continual service improvement programme within the hotel and where possible immediate action is taken to resolve any guest issues.

Breakfast can be pre-purchased either by an inclusive rate or at reception on check-in which does offer you a discount if you sign up for your stay. We know that you can get cheaper breakfast within Brighton but am confident that our breakfast both in quality and size cannot be beaten. Plus you get an unlimited offering.

We have recently completed our £3.5m refurbishment programme and am disappointed you feel one is required.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    411
    390
    212
    140
See reviews for
203
527
59
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

I've had the misfortune to stay at this hotel for over 2 weeks now. After 24hrs I contacted my employer to request a move to a more suitable hotel. I've moved rooms over four times, so I've really got to know the hotel quite well.

The hotel has problems relating to the following:

Noise levels in the bedrooms - paper thin walls.
Food hygene - regular issues relating to unclean dishes, cups etc in both bar and restaurant (sent cups/bowls/plates back on 3 separate occasions/different days).
Damp/smell in bedroom.
Blocked drains resulting in 'standing water' during showering.
Broken pipe in main bar - resulting in water cascading down the front window.
Rude/poorly trained staff.
Unservicable air con.
Poor wifi

There is no gym to critisise - but I'm sure it would be sweaty, mouldy and poorly equipped.

This moring I was greeted at 0515, by a youth drinking from a bottle of vodka in the hotel lobby.

I am at a complete loss with respect to how this place can fill it's rooms. Do your self a favour and check out either the My Hotel or the Hilton as good alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gdavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 2 March 2009
It is has been very upsetting for all our team to hear and now read your comments.

I know myself and all the staff have continuously tried to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I really hope that you are much happier at another property away from your colleagues who are still very happy staying with us at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Brighton
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights whilst we had builders working on our house - which is actually only 2 miles further down the coast! Our room was spacious, clean, tidy & well maintained. Our daughter slept on the bed settee - fine but the mattress seemed rather thin.
We found the staff friendly & helpful.
We enjoyed the cooked breakfasts & would have eat the buffet evening meal if an offer had been available however we did eat their buffet one sunday evening a few weeks ago and were very disappointed by the poor choice, cold food & that they had ran out of some dishes even though they were very quiet & we eat at 7.30pm - we got the feeling they did not really want to be open on a sunday evening but were providing a seven day a week service.
During our stay our daughter played in the very limited children's area - great that such an area exists but some of the equipment seemed well used & limited.
The hotel allowed our small dog to stay in our room for a small fee on top of the £55 per night we paid which was a superb offer.
Car parking is a pain & the hotel should reduce it's prices - the 4 days would have cost £60.
The reception area appeared very cold with some strange shaped seating area situated in the middle - needs updating & to look more homely.
Overall we enjoyed our stay & our dog enjoyed his walks along the seafront.
ps. The building work went really well & it was great to be away whilst they knocked down walls & doors.

  • Liked — Superb value at £55 B&B for a family of 3
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikedixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 22 January 2009
Thank you for your feedback and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay

The Sofa Beds are metal action sofa beds and are mainly designed for children in mind. It was great to see your feedback about our breakfast and assure you your feedback regarding dinner will be used as part of our continual service improvement programme which we use for all comments, both good and bad.

We keep our parking prices in line with other hotels and continually review our pricing. Parking at the nearby NCP would have cost approx £65-80 depending on length of time. As a city centre and seafront location parking is not free of charge.

Your feedback regarding the children’s area will be used and new items will be purchased in due course.

I am disappointed that you found the furniture in the lobby dated. It is actually an Italian designed feature seat that was made for us here at the hotel during our lobby refurbishment 18 months ago. I am particularly saddened as it was in fact me that chose it but am aware now that it is not to all tastes.

Thank you for your feedback and glad you building work went well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

Managed to get a large room with side view for £80. Not much of a view unless you like looking at the main road from windows that are dirty on the outside.
The room was fine, bed comfy and room quite large.
The bathroom was clean, but looked as if it had been patched up with repairs since the seventies. Very bad silicon sealant around the bath made the bathroom look very shoddy. Shower was very poor.
Friendly staff. Expensive parking.
OK if you get a cheap rate. If you pay the full rate it's no way near worth it.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — shoddy bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank davidgeorge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 19 January 2009
Thank you for your comments

We clean our exterior windows monthly at the hotel and as part of our environmental policy will not increase this. During winter months following bad weather we know that sometimes the windows salt up but most guests seem to understand this.

Parking at the hotel is reasonable compared to other hotels within Brighton and I assure you that we constantly review this. What guests commonly assume is that as they are hotel residents that parking should be included but in a seaside and city centre location this is not possible. Most bathrooms within the hotel were fully refurbished within the hotel within the last 24 months so am unsure as to your exact room number. But if you contact me directly I will look into further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

As accessible goes, the Holiday Inn on Brighton's seafront could do worse... but as a big chain hotel with an American parent company, it could also do a lot better, learning from the US experiences.

Signage on arrival is confusing: we followed a dead end street thinking the wheelchair-access signs were guiding us to parking that avoided the monster steps at the main entrance. They were actually to guide a pedestrian to a rather hidden ramp on the left side of the hotel, gaining access to the front doors (which are touch-switch operated). Parking is under the hotel proper, charged at £15/day.

The handicapped accessible room was large, with a new king bed and wall-mounted nightstands, but the service attention to detail didn't match the hardware. The desk lamp was unplugged and the floor lamp was switched off at the plug, leaving my spouse in the dark until I arrived and climbed over furniture to turn it on. Ditto the curtains, unreachable to a person in a wheelchair behind the occasional table and chairs; the central heating/air-conditioning controls mounted at eye-level for a 6' person; and the shower head at the top of its pole within a 6"-high raised shower cubicle. (A failing not unique here. Chambermaids of the world, understand who will use the room: an able-bodied person can raise the showerhead, but a wheelchair user can't drag the head down the pole from 6' up.) The shower chair fit in the shower cube, but if you can't step up to it, it's only workable with assistance.

Wi-fi is £10 a day (£5/hr, £7/4 hrs). Reception in the first-floor accessible guest room (miles from the lift) was erratic -- it worked well in the bar.

Mediocre wine in the bar is £5 a glass; breakfast in the (pleasant-appearing) Garden Court Restaurant £14.95. A better idea is to book room-only and go a block or two away to the Regency Seafood restaurant, which does a full cooked breakfast for under £5 -- with coffee and tea, breakfast for two was £11.50 or so.

Location is its best feature: right on the front, opposite the old ruined pier and about 10-15 minutes' walk from the Pavilion and the old Lanes.

  • Liked — Central seafront location
  • Disliked — Flawed shower not accessible and erratic pay-to-use wi-fi in the room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Catzeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 19 January 2009
Thank you for your comments

It is the 1st time I have been aware that guests have used the accessible signs to direct them for parking and any time I have had negative feedback about the access. We have a continual service improvement programme within the hotel and this feedback, as with all feedback will be used.

Your comments regarding the lighting will be passed onto my housekeeper to ensure this does not affect any future guests. Your comments regarding the curtains and air conditioning control will also be looked at as part of our service improvement programme. There is a light switch at the entrance to the room which operates a main light in the lobby.

Unfortunately due to the construction of the building we are unable to fit a roll-in shower to our accessible bedrooms. Via all our information web channels we clearly state the description of the shower and where possible we always contact all guests in advance if we have a contact telephone number.

As a WiFi radio point is directly outside the accessible bedrooms I am unsure as to why you experienced erratic WiFi and will get this looked into.

The accessible rooms were deliberately placed in the rooms they are as a) they provide more space for a wheelchair used and b) they allow us to quickly and more easily evacuate a wheelchair user as they are located closer to a fire exit.

Pre-purchased breakfast is available on check-in for a discounted amount and whilst we cannot price as per the regency restaurant I am confident that our breakfast is better with a lot more unlimited offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

We pre booked and paid for two nights in an executive sea view room between christmas and new year. The room was top class and appeared to be newly decorated and spotless it was very large. The reception area was very pleasant. Although the bar drinks were well over priced the ambience was good.

Unfortunatly the restaurant in the evening is not up to standard. The breakfast was excellent, cooked food was hot and plenty with a good variety of cold items.

The dinner is totally the opposite, first of all we were told we could not eat in the restaurant as we had not booked? after explaining that we had paid for our dinner we were eventually shown to a table, not a good start but worse was to come. It was buffet only with a choose of only three main items, the starters had gone apart from salad as had the sweets apart from some cheese without biscuits This was only 8.00pm when we first sat down. The cod in batter was chunks of batter with minimal cod and the two other dishes were different cuts of pig both cold and not edible. The following day was just the same although we did manage to get a sweet as we sat down earlier. What was interesting was that as we were leaving that first evening a couple came in from the street un booked and were shown to a table immediatly, double standards, hate to think what they found to eat.

We were asked by the head waitress regards our left dinners and she is aware of our concern.

Overall we would use the hotel again but without the dinner. The hotel needs to get a good chef like the one in the morning who was continually topping up.

  • Liked — Sea view executive room
  • Disliked — Evening Dinner
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeros7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 12 January 2009
Thank you for placing your comments

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your room and breakfast at the hotel. Our bar prices are regularly reviewed against other hotels within Brighton to ensure we are not overpriced but unfortunately we are unable to compete with local pubs.

It was disappointing to read your comments regarding your dinner experience. All guests should be advised to pre-book a table regardless of whether they are dinner inclusive to ensure they get the time they prefer. I am currently using your feedback with my head chef to ensure that your comments regarding food quality not repeated.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Brighton for two nights just after Christmas - only paid £99 including one dinner and two breakfasts so a very good deal. For that kind of price the hotel was just fine - good location and room was very comfortable and a good size for three of us. Dinner was pretty awful - starter and dessert good but main course of buffet was just terrible, cannot believe that they would serve food of that quality in this day and age! Service unfortunately was very bad too but still breakfast was an improvement and the bar area was very nice - lots of big comfy leather sofas. If you manage to get a cheap deal here and aren't looking for the luxury of some of the other hotels along the seafront then this is a good budget option, however if I had paid the full rack rate I would have been very disappointed.

  • Liked — it was in brighton
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morris1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 12 January 2009
Thank you for your feedback

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your dinner and assure you I am using your feedback with my head chef to ensure that your comments regarding food quality not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Property: Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing