We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break in Brighton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Aldershot
1 review
“Great break in Brighton”
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Have just arrived home after spending 4 days 3 nights at the Holiday Inn Brighton Seafront, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble, we had a sea view room, with balcony, which was spacious and well fitted with Fridge, TV etc. All areas of the hotel were always kept very clean 24/7. Reception staff were very smart and efficient with check in and out taking no time at all. Restaurant staff were very attentive and the food was exceptional at the breakfast buffet, & evening dinner.
All in all a very nice 4 day break and would recommend a stay there, so much so we have already booked up to go back before the end off the summer and booked for Christmas and New year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumof2Aldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
Thank you for your great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    425
    395
    214
    144
See reviews for
208
535
63
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at The Holiday Inn, Brighton – Seafront, UK, for just one night in June this year. It was supposed to be a trip down memory lane for my husband, who had studied in Brighton, 20 years ago. He had booked the Holiday Inn with great expectations. The first thing they hit you with is an additional £15 charge just to park your car in the Hotel's car park for the night. Then the room we were given was not entirely up to the mark - no view at all, extremely cramped, musty and furnishings run-down. Nevertheless after depositing our bags in the room, we were off to explore the city.

Upon our return, my husband spoke to the Duty Manger, Adrian Chappell, and explained that we were used to Air-conditioning as we lived in HK and our current room had really lousy Air-conditioning. He also expressed a desire fro a room with a se-view, since he was back here for only that one night. To Holiday Inn's credit and all Kudos to Adrian Chappell – he gave us a fabulous sea view room with a balcony. The room was very large and comfortable with a King Size bed. The decor was nice and there was a sofa and chairs. The balcony was very large, with a table and chairs where we even sat and enjoyed our dinner that first night. The view of the West Pier was quite dramatic, and the air conditioning worked really well, which was good as the weather was quite warm. Overall, Adrian Chappell saved the day and we left the hotel, feeling we had been well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron007HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
Thank you for your feedback regarding Adrian during your stay.
All standard rooms will state that rooms do not have seaview views and overlook the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We weren't expecting to see the Hanging Gardens of Babylon from our bedroom window but nor did we expect builders trash, rusty railings and crusty underwear. Unfortunately that is exactly what we got once we managed to see past the filth on our 5th floor window. Nor were we impressed by the frayed carpet, broken sink, grimey light switch and very tired paintwork. And this was a room costing us £124 a night in a hotel awarded 4 Stars by the AA. Its high time for the AA to do regular checks or stop dishing out ridiculously misleading ratings. To Holiday Inn's credit though, their Duty Manager did deal with our complaint professionally and moved us to an identical room without any of these faults, all it had was a few curly hairs around the bath which we could have lived without. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster zone, tables left uncleared, nothing properly replenished and generally chaotic - nice bacon though. Total hotel overhaul required.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 5 August 2009
Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry you found these items and assure you that immediately following receiving your feedback where possible immediate action has been taken.

The AA yearly inspect all hotels and issue rating at time. It is a lengthy unannounced visit that can happen at any time of year. I am confident in their rating system and that our 4 star rating is maintained.

The only battle we face daily is the weather which being a coastal location does cause the windows to salt up quickly. As I understand the night prior we had experience terrible storms.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This is quite possibly the worst Hotel I have stayed in. Definitely one for the "Hotel inspector" The first thing they hit you with is an additional £15 charge just to park your car in the Hotel's car park for the night.

The en suite bathroom was in a nutshell falling to pieces and in great need of "updating" . It was also very dirty and the towels were worn out!

On the plus side it did have tripple glazing. A necessity given the late night noise from clubbers and the wind off the sea!

After a meal in Brighton we returned for a drink to find the bar was closing. After this drinks had to be ordered from reception!
The next day someone knocked at my door at 8am (not a great start to the day after a late night) to seee if they could make up the room!

Then down to braekfast where I discoverd that breakfast was not inculded and would cost yet another £15.

All the staff I encountered were foreign and difficult to understand. On checking out I was kept waiting for 15mins!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
I am always surprised when guests do not book inclusive breaks then negatively give feedback about this. I would always strongly advise to all guests that they book breakfast or dinner inclusive if they will be taking these items as our pricing will always make this cheaper. Alternatively perhaps it would be better to read package inclusions on booking stage.

Parking is not bookable in advance but we do not hide that our charges are extra. Being in a city centre and seafront location I still find it odd that guests make assumptions over parking being available and/or free.

The bar is open until licensing hours expire for non-residents. After this time we hand drinks service over to the nights team only when no other residents are in the bar. Maybe you were back so late that no-one else was in the bar.

Do not disturb signs are available in every bedroom which will avoid housekeeping checking rooms are ready to be cleaned.

Being a multi cultural city and multi cultural destination we employ a number of nationalities in order that we can cater for as many guests as possible. Interestingly over half our employees are from the UK and so am surprised that you found all staff to be difficult to understand.

I am proud of the team that we have here in the hotel and the efforts and hard work they put in. From your feedback it seems that you may have expectations beyond belief and maybe best to choose an alternative hotel for future stays within Brighton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Brighton really needs a good hotel. Unfortunatley this isn't it.

There's quite a bit of muck around this hotel and a few dubious habits. The main one is giving 'filtered' water in your room and on conference tables which tastes like the bottles have been filled from the tap. We chose to buy water from the shop down the road.

The bar is one of the most expensive I have ever bought drinks from. £11 for a Gin & Tonic! Perhaps in a mega hotel but in the Holiday Inn? Taking the P... me thinks.

Good bits. Room service burger and conference lunch were great (other than a colleague finding a pubic hair in her peas) and the conference staff although slow were accommodating.

If I was writing a school report I'd say - 'Could do better'.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Star_Service_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Thank you for your feedback. I am unsure what you mean by some of your comments but will where I can respond.

We have moved to filtered water as part of our environmental policy and demands from guests. This policy avoids the use of unnecessary wastage of glass/plastic. If you received this in your bedroom then you must have been in an executive room where this is provided complimentary.

I am unsure as to why you paid £11 for a Gin and tonic – are you sure?

Your colleague was assured and this has been verified since that it was not a hair in their food but a mushroom fibre.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the conference lunch and burger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2009

During recent heatwave-pleasure to find all rooms are air conditioned. This end of Brighton much better away from all the noise at the Pier end. Brilliant seafacing room with balcony overlooking the iconic West Pier, and the newly restored Victorian Bandstand. Very friendly helpful staff. Food good and had no need to venture out to alternative restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historygranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Thank you for your feedback.

All our rooms here are individually air conditioned which not many hotels in Brighton have.

Im pleased you enjoyed the seaview room you stayed in and trust you found the addtional supplement for these rooms well worth the extra.

The band stand has only just been restored and we are delighted that it has now finished as it is a delight to visit.

And yes you are right there is no need to venture out for food as we try to cater for most needs.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebourne
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Just stayed at holiday inn on friday night

firstly from outside looks pretty hideous but theres not a great deal management can do about that i guess, however once you go inside the decor is nice and most importantly all staff from management to cleaners were friendly and helpful

would stay again and for price value is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbarnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHTSF_GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront, responded to this review, 6 July 2009
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to place them here.

In the grand scheme of plans for the building exterior works are planned but in the present climate priority is on ensuring the standards for the interior of the hotel are kept to the four star standard guests are expecting.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront

Property: Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
Address: 137 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for one of the best hotels in Brighton and the best Brighton hotel deals? Look no further than the fully Wi-Fi enabled Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel. Standing from other Brighton hotels, Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront features air conditioning throughout and is in a prime spot on the seafront with wonderful views, making it hugely popular amongst Brighton hotels. Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel features at a glance:• Prime location on the seafront • Air conditioned guestrooms• Restaurant with seafront terrace• Guest car parking • 9 excellent meeting and events room• Priority Club® points for the guest • Business Club® points for the booker. This Brighton hotel captures the essence of this quintessentially British seaside town by combining its relaxing atmosphere with easy access to the cosmopolitan nightlife of Brighton. Plus, to make the most of this Brighton hotel’s seafront setting there is both Standard & Executive rooms with superb sea views available. For Brighton hotels set in a prime location the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel should top your list. The hotel is within touching distance of Brighton’s famous beach and only a stone’s throw from some of top things to see and do in Brighton. A stay in the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront hotel puts you only a short walk away from the Brighton Centre, Brighton Dome, Brighton Pier, the Brighton Royal Pavilion and Brighton Sea Life Centre. When considering Brighton hotels for your next short break, family getaway, business meeting or indeed perhaps a Brighton wedding venue make the Holiday Inn Brighton-Seafront your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront Hotel Brighton
Brighton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing