We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+ Service - very good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    223
    61
    37
    23
See reviews for
54
315
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel over the jubilee weekend, and it was simply a perfect choice of hotel.

It is in a great location on the sea front, far enough away from the main bars/clubs so you get a peaceful night’s sleep, yet close enough to soak up the great Brighton atmosphere and really convenient for shopping, sightseeing and exploring all the hidden gems Brighton has to offer.
Upon arrival we were really well looked after by Ed, who was incredibly helpful, accommodating and friendly, nothing was too much of an ask. Our room was not yet ready, totally our fault as we arrived way before check in time, this was not an issue at all and we left our bags safely and went off exploring the surrounding area, based on a few recommendations from the hotel staff. The location is also great if you are a keen runner, as the front is on your doorstep, turn right and you have a great run to Hove, turn left and you have a great run to the marina, both direction provide you with great sights and there are loads of others out exercising too.
Upon our return we were really happy with our room on the ground floor (noise outside was not an issue at all), the water pressure was amazing, the bath huge and filled up in record time, the downpour shower was also incredibly powerful and could have stolen you away for days.
The hotel restaurant was beautiful, and no expense was spared at Breakfast, everything and anything was available and the quality of the food was great. Again the service was perfect and our coffee cups were continuously topped up.
We were lucky enough to see most of the room whilst we were in the hotel, as we checked out late and had a look around, you would not be disappointed with any of the rooms, they are all beautiful and unique in their own way. The rooms with Jacuzzi baths are all incredibly impressive and great attention to detail and care has been taken in their planning and layout.

If you are travelling by car there is an NCP car park in Regency Square – it is no more than a 2 min walk to the hotel and incredibly reasonably priced for a seaside front location, for 3 full days we paid under £35, which is astonishing, especially as the car park was safe and secure.

This hotel is a wonderful find and we will most certainly be back, we are already looking at dates. You will not be disappointed if you choose to spend your prefect break here.

Room Tip: All rooms looked great (and we did have a good nose around - with the owners permission of course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Late last Summer my partner and I had the chance to get away to our favourite seaside town of Brighton, so I booked us into The Granville for a couple of nights. Although it was a bit more than I would liked to have paid, and the place is looking a little tired round the edges, we weren't worried, because the bed was soft and cumfy, with crisp white sheets, and fluffy white towels. Also, being further up the road than a few of the hotels, you don't get so much "people noise" late at night. Just the traffic, of course.
The staff are lovely, as is the food, and if I could get us a deal about £50 cheaper than we paid, we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveBrighton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I had a great stay and the rooms are very comfortable and quiet considering the hotel's position. What made it for me were the staff though. Stupidly I left my phone charging in reception and only remembered when I was at Gatwick on my way home. The staff were really helpful over the phone and had it posted out to me the very next morning. Top marks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDeGruchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have nothing to complain about apart from the weather. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the breakfast was varied and tasty and the bedrooms had everything you needed. We got a very good price so I would definitely stay then again but not sure whether I would stay there at their standard rate

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were quite excited about staying here but were a little disappointed when we walked on to the Noel Coward room. It looked very sparse and rather dated. Our biggest disappointment, however, came when we sat on the bed. It was as if the mattress hadn't been changed since the hotel first opened. It was possibly the least comfy, sagging bed I have encountered.

I know Brighton has some of the most overpriced hotels in the uk, and I am happy to pay this when the quality matches the claims, but at over £150 I certainly will not be going back to, or recommending, the Grandville to any friends.

Also, and this goes for anywhere on the sea front, if you want a good nights sleep make sure you have decent double glazing. The Grandville certainly does not. Three windows, one with secondary glazing, one with secondary glazing that doesn't close and one that is just single glazed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyLorelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hi just on the train home after a two night fun stay at the Granville. I agree with many of the reviews that the decor is in places 'tired' but the quirkiness more than makes up for it. The Black Rock does have overtones of a bordello but the huge bath is amazing!! Breakfast is very subtancial and better quality than expected. I had Eggs Bendict with smoked salmon this moring! Staff very friendly and hotel welcoming with sea views that are amazing. Ten minutes walk from the pier and the lanes. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you opt for a seaview as amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyinglifeWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Property: The Granville Hotel
Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing