We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here with my husband last Sunday. It is a lovely small privately run hotel in a good location away from the crowds but near enough to everything, nice spacious quiet room (at the back 4th floor) all staff very cheerful and helpful. Also had the best hotel breakfast in a long time.....no buffet in sight!!!






Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Easy to walk to the boardwalk and in to the shopping/ restaurant area. Good service. They were very helpful with our bags and telling us where to go. The breakfast was good! The room was a tad small but that was normal for England. If you are a light sleeper it might bother you a bit beause the hotel is old so the floors are a bit creeky.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for a long weekend over the late May bank holiday, so we knew anywhere wouldn't be cheap. But having chose our hotel with TripAdvisor's help, the best price we could find across all the cheap web sites was the same price as that of the hotel's site, plus you get to choose your specific room from the hotel's website. We stayed on the 4th floor in the Prince Regent room, very comfortable and roomy. The main guy on reception was cheerful and helpful all weekend, apologising for the awful tv reception they get, as the transmitter is located behind the towering hotels and tower blocks behind the hotel. Thus they have an extensive dvd collection, which we were grateful for one evening having walked miles along the undercliff foot path to Rottingdean and beyond and all we wanted to do was collapse and relax in our room.
Overall, we would stay here again, but would hopefully pay less than £130 per night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerryps80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed at The Granville for 2 nights on a leisure trip. Nice location, along the seafront, just across from the West Pier. Stayed in "Prinny's Room", a double on floor 3 at the back of the hotel. The room was comfortable, although it could use a bit of extra care. Needs a deep cleaning (nothing's really nasty, but it needs some attention). The bed was entertaining; just about had to jump up to get into it, as it's on a high base of glass tile that lights up when you turn the room lights on. The room had a nice bay-type window, but I was only able to open one of the panes. The ensuite bathroom also has a window, which was nice for ventilation. Features both a tub and separate shower. The tub was a bit pitted and stained, which didn't look inviting. The shower was fine. Room was mostly quiet, although I could sometimes hear the footsteps of the people in the room above me and on the stairwell next to the room. Front desk staff were very friendly and a delight to deal with. Enjoyed dinner at Smokey's, the BBQ restaurant downstairs; tasty food and friendly staff. Hotel is an easy walk to the pleasure pier, shopping and Royal Palace. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedwayCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at The Granville Hotel for 2 nights in July 2012, a romantic getaway. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The dining staff were so attentive and had exceptional customer service and were very polite and their willingness to help seemed very genuine.
We had a room at the back of the hotel so we didn't have a sea view and the room was quite small but very clean and all we needed as we was out and about all day and night. If you decide to stay at the hotel there is a small bar downstairs and also a service where you can borrow a movie from reception to watch in your room, free of charge!
Everything was close by and within walking distance, apart from the Marina which is a good 30-40 minute walk which we done but also got a taxi, which was very reasonable. Although we was close to everything there was no noise at night and was completely silent.
All in all we would recommend to family and friends and would love to revisit. Thank you to everyone at The Granville!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomsimo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Ok. Lets get one thing out the way right now. This hotel is an old building so it creaks and groans. If you are looking for a modern boring room with NO style then book into the Travel Lodge.
I loved this hotel. Interesting, old and full of personality. We stayed in The Brunswick Suite. It was fabulous. A light, airy sitting room and a double sofa bed my son swears "was the best ever". Our bedroom was lovely. A little ragged round the edges but this actually added to the charm. The bathroom was superior with a full on jacuzzi bath which was awesome. The view onto the seafront was beautiful and we got no noise from the busy road which surprised us!! Topped off by 2 huge televisions we were content and impressed. Reception was friendly and the breakfast was to die for!!! The hotel has a restaurant in the basement called Smokeys. Believe me when I say I have never eaten anywhere better and I have dined at many places. Excellent service and excellent food. I recommend the apple cobbler !
The hotel is located right in the middle of things so everything is 10 minutes walk away.
All in all a fantastic little hotel which for me shone as the jewel in Brighton's crown.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had an unplanned trip to brighton and found this place right on the sea front, they only had one room left which was a little small but to be fair we hadn't booked in advance so this was fine, it was light and airy, fresh and spotless, the staff were very attentive, polite and respectful, it was reasonably priced £79.00 for a double room with breakfast, it was lovely and quiet in the night, had a great sleep and the best english breakfast i've ever eaten - outside on the terrace in the sun, we were really impressed and intend to return in july for our 1 year anniversary. Thankyou to all staff at the Granville for making it a pleasure to stay. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,259 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#20 of 43 in Brighton
2,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £56 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing