We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Granville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed here and it was the first time I had come to brighton staff so friendly the view from the room was amazing (would of sat on the balcony all night if its wasnt freezing lol) but will be back again nxt week and every week after that my bf does gigs down there and this is the only hotel i will stay in better to be safe than sorry lovely place <3

Room Tip: fitness centre and pool only got terrible because they dont have one but who cares
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    221
    61
    37
    23
See reviews for
54
313
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Warm friendly staff good size room, housekeeping needs to be looked at, hairs on bedding, under bed not cleaned, stain on curtains and grout in bathroom needs a deep clean or replacing. Lovely fluffy towels loads of hot water jacuzzi bath was a treat the bed was so comfortable and we had a great night sleep. Breakfast was amazing!!!! Fantastic choice and delicious

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarej79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Checked in for a one night stop when visiting Brighton to see Leonard Cohen in concert. Have no complaints whatsoever as this boutique hotel exceeds expectations. The staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful. Our room was 'unusual', but in a good way. The bed base was made of glass bricks and illuminated from beneath. Slept very well as the room was quiet and the mattress very comfortable. Big plus was the clean and large ensuite bathroom.

The breakfast was probably one of the best being served in Brighton. Enough choice to suit all tastes.

The manager (also a Cohen fan) shared our quirky sense of humour and really made us feel at home right from the start.

Can't praise this little gem enough. Great value and a memorable stay. WELL DONE The Granville!

Chris and Pam. Leigh on Sea, Essex.

Room Tip: Explain your quirks and fancies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dagenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights in West Pier room. Really lovely room in a good location with great sea views. Most comfy bed ever in and brilliant jacuzzi bath, really good choice for breakfast as well. Had dinner in the restaurant and again really really good. friendly staff too, in fact can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: definitely get a room with a sea view well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samtracy8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just come back from a weekend in Brighton staying in the Lace room at Granville hotel. Lovely bright & spacious room with first row sea view. Great jacuzzi bath & comfy double bed.. Huge choice for breakfast. Can't fault it.Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you research the themed romos as they do vary. Lace room was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill07193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The plus points for The Granville is the location, the friendly and helpful staff and the splendid breakfasts. In addition the bed was comfy and clean and we had a nice view (Lace Room). But like others have mentioned it didn't quite justify the price in our opinion. The negatives, although minor, are perhaps something the Granville needs to work on for it to become worth the money.

We appreciate that an old, sea-fronted establishment is no doubt difficult to maintain but a few tweaks here and there would make all the difference. Purely on a personal viewpoint I didn't like the laminate flooring as it made the room feel cold but it was clean enough. However, the two armchairs had worn and frayed arm-rests, the curtains were also a little frayed, the rather cheap TV had a nest of untidy wiring dangling underneath it and the remote did not work very well besides being noticeably grubby. Generally the place was clean but there were one or two areas that could do with a bit more attention such as the light-pull in the bathroom which was noticeably stained towards the bottom - an outside wall switch would be far better - and the taps were a little water marked.

Like we have said they are not major gripes but things that we think need addressing to justify the price of the rooms. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the Granville was an excellent base for our trip and we would indeed use it again as the positives outweigh the negatives - especially the lovely breakfasts.

Room Tip: Nice views of the bustling sea-front in the front rooms. Some might find it noisy but we liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fruitykipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just returned from staying in the Pavilion room which has a great sea view. But found three nights at £90 per night rather expensive for the room in a B and B. Also when we telephoned en route the reception staff were unable to direct us to reasonably priced car park and we ended up asking a local guy who directed us to Trafalger street car park at £15 for 24hours. Breakfast was a welcome treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diswix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Property: The Granville Hotel
Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing