We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character in abundance and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Andover
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Character in abundance and friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Granville Hotel is situated on the sea front almost opposite the remains of the west pier. It's in easy reach of the Lanes (or Laines!), the railway station, and Preston Street where many restaurants are concentrated. The Prince Regent room was spacious and well equipped with iron, hair dryer, kettle, TV, DVD player, table & chairs, sofa and a spacious wardrobe. The bathroom is small but provides everything you need but was a little tired and in need of some refurbishment. There are good views out over the sea. The breakfast is served in Smokeys restaurant and there is plenty of choice including full English breakfast, eggs benedict and several other imaginative options. The food was generally good. The staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yahoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    235
    65
    39
    23
See reviews for
56
332
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here 12 years ago and liked it then and liked it even more now

Clean and comfortable with friendly attentive staff. We stayed in the West Pier room, it was cosy and warm with fabulous views over the seafront. Ginormous jacuzzi bath that was great fun.

Enormous breakfasts of a very wide menu - portion size was very generous and easily set you up for an energetic day of sightseeing.

We were happy with the price, felt that it was good value for money and very much look forward to returning again, only this time we'll not wait 12 years.

Highly recommended for the traveller that wants a non corporate type hotel

Room Tip: West Pier room has good views over the seafront and, er, the West Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a quirky boutique hotel which really makes you feel as if you are staying on the brighton seafront. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are all individual, very spacious, with tea and coffee making facilities and large bathroom, mine had a jacquzzi. 5 mins walk from the brighton conference centre. Free wifi throughout hotel and very ample breakfast in the smokey's restaurant downstairs. I would definately stay here again. There is a dvd player in the room but I was too tired to use it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanchia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for the conference centre, sea front and city's tourist quarters generally.
The welcome was warm, the room clean and the bed very comfortable. I originally had the Downs room but, as it was situated over central heating pipes, it was just too hot for me. I was offered another room as soon as I mentioned it with the poor housekeeper even packing up my very untidy affairs as I had to get to work!
The second room was airier and the bed even more comfortable than the first.
The staff in the hotel and Smokey's restaurant were patient, friendly and accommodating. If the the food, which was ok, has been just a little better I would have awarded the Granville the whole five stars. Thank you for making a hectic weekend relaxing.

Room Tip: If you don't like a warm bedroom let booking staff know as one area of the property is always ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed two nights over the weekend in Febuary.

The staff were lovely and friendly on arrival and all throughout the visit. We stayed in the Beardsley room, which was lovely and big with a king sized bed, lovely walk in shower, big bath, sofa, wardrobe with hangers, coffee and tea making facilities, and a tv with a dvd player.
The hotel provides a decent selection of dvds that you can borrow for free as well, which i thought was a nice touch.
Room was clean, serviced in the morning.
The tv could have done with being a bit bigger, and the windows rattled a lot during the night due to the windy conditions, but that is what you get for going to Brighton in February!
The restaurant downstairs offers a lovely breakfast that can be added onto your stay. The eggs Benedict are worth the stay alone!

Overall, was a lovely stay and i would recommend for couples.

Room Tip: Add breakfast to your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTigerlilly101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

stayed in the hotel the weekend we got engaged so maybe I m loving it too much.
great room, amazing bathroom.Our room was something like 1950`s style that I loved. Great breakfast in a very nice dining area. All the best. Hope to go back ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaCro_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

the place is very clean, the staff is very helpful and the breakfast is good. There are minor downsides (e.g. a small leak in the toilet, not annoying, and the room is nice but quite average-looking), but to be honest given also the price this is an excellent deal for quality/cost. My stay was extremely pleasant and I strongly recommend it. The WiFi works really well and it is free.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank free-spirit2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Property: The Granville Hotel
Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing