We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Granville Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Newhaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Have stayed many times over the past nine years. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Over the years we have stayed in a number of the roomies ranging from the West Pier, Marina & Noel Coward with sea views to Mrs Fitzherbert, the Beardsley family room and the Preston room at the rear. We have found them all to be comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. We have recommended this hotel to many of our friends. We have also eaten in the restaurant - Smokeys - on numerous occasions, including work functions and every time have enjoyed the food and service. We came across the Granville by chance and as we have said we have returned every year since -at least two or three times a year for long weekend breaks.

Room Tip: Review their site on Facebook or Twitter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    235
    65
    38
    23
See reviews for
55
332
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Me and my husband spent a lovely week end staying in Brighton at The Granville Hotel in the Marina room. It was all we could have asked for a nice room with a beautiful sea view, friendly helpful staff and a gorgeous breakfast to set us up for our day. When my husband was originally looking for a hotel to stay at for the weekend he kept coming back to The Granville as it ticked all of the boxes for what we wanted. The sea view, central location, very good price for what it offered and the fact there was a jacuzzi which he liked the idea of relaxing in. I must admit I had a few reservations due to some of the reviews but left it to my husband to decide as he was arranging it all. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and when we got in the room I was really pleased with his choice. We felt relaxed straight away and sat in the comfy seats looking at our sea view, what more could you want. After a good nights sleep we went down for breakfast which was the best vegetarian breakfast i've ever had, my husband enjoyed his meaty one too, there was a great selection. We asked one of the waiters where the nearest supermarket was and he gave us clear directions then a minute later he came over with a map of Brighton town centre and showed us on this and gave us the map which was thoughtful of him. We stayed for two nights and would stay here again and highly recommend it to others. Thanks Granville for a week end of relaxation and escapism.

Room Tip: The Granville hotel has rooms to suit everyones taste. Some rooms are more quirky, the Marina room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyhopper82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel stayed in the Noel coward stunning bay fronted room on the seafront with a jacuzzi bath bliss, but the staff really make this hotel everyone of them was friendly and helpful would defiantly return and you must try smokeys the restaurant below lovely food and again fantastic staff

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Granville Hotel is situated on the sea front almost opposite the remains of the west pier. It's in easy reach of the Lanes (or Laines!), the railway station, and Preston Street where many restaurants are concentrated. The Prince Regent room was spacious and well equipped with iron, hair dryer, kettle, TV, DVD player, table & chairs, sofa and a spacious wardrobe. The bathroom is small but provides everything you need but was a little tired and in need of some refurbishment. There are good views out over the sea. The breakfast is served in Smokeys restaurant and there is plenty of choice including full English breakfast, eggs benedict and several other imaginative options. The food was generally good. The staff are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yahoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here 12 years ago and liked it then and liked it even more now

Clean and comfortable with friendly attentive staff. We stayed in the West Pier room, it was cosy and warm with fabulous views over the seafront. Ginormous jacuzzi bath that was great fun.

Enormous breakfasts of a very wide menu - portion size was very generous and easily set you up for an energetic day of sightseeing.

We were happy with the price, felt that it was good value for money and very much look forward to returning again, only this time we'll not wait 12 years.

Highly recommended for the traveller that wants a non corporate type hotel

Room Tip: West Pier room has good views over the seafront and, er, the West Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a quirky boutique hotel which really makes you feel as if you are staying on the brighton seafront. Staff very friendly and helpful. Bedrooms are all individual, very spacious, with tea and coffee making facilities and large bathroom, mine had a jacquzzi. 5 mins walk from the brighton conference centre. Free wifi throughout hotel and very ample breakfast in the smokey's restaurant downstairs. I would definately stay here again. There is a dvd player in the room but I was too tired to use it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanchia46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for the conference centre, sea front and city's tourist quarters generally.
The welcome was warm, the room clean and the bed very comfortable. I originally had the Downs room but, as it was situated over central heating pipes, it was just too hot for me. I was offered another room as soon as I mentioned it with the poor housekeeper even packing up my very untidy affairs as I had to get to work!
The second room was airier and the bed even more comfortable than the first.
The staff in the hotel and Smokey's restaurant were patient, friendly and accommodating. If the the food, which was ok, has been just a little better I would have awarded the Granville the whole five stars. Thank you for making a hectic weekend relaxing.

Room Tip: If you don't like a warm bedroom let booking staff know as one area of the property is always ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigSavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
801 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granville Hotel

Property: The Granville Hotel
Address: 124 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2FA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brighton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Granville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront opposite Brighton's historic West Pier, The Granville is a boutique hotel with 24 eclectic bespoke rooms, individually themed from Minimalist to Art Deco, Japanese and Gothic.The Granville Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from shops, restaurants and on the doorstep of many clubs. The rooms have a luxurious bathroom, some with a spa bath or corner bath. Many of the bedrooms have a superb view across the coastline.All of the rooms are furnished with a TV and DVD/CD player. Complimentary broadband wireless internet access is available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Granville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granville Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing